We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Access to Long Beach Sites! Great Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easy Access to Long Beach Sites! Great Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

You can trust the online photos. Great, bright modern lobby. Nice, spacious, clean guest rooms- many with impressive water views from private patio or balcony. The bathrooms are on the small side and don't have a lot of counter space. I recommend requesting a room with a view of the Queen Mary (building 2). Small private beach on the property, nice pool area with a great harbor view. My husband and I attended a wedding at the hotel, enabling us to take advantage of a group deal at $189/night. We do agree that any rate over $250/night is overpriced. The hotel boasts a super convenient shuttle boat ($1 per trip) that loops around the harbor, making several stops, including the Acquarium and The Queen Mary. With easy access to several Long Beach sites, you don't ever have to get behind the wheel of your car while you're staying at The Hotel Maya.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for the good review and feedback. We do have great access to Downtown and the boat ride is super fun. Hotel rates like airlines fluctuate with demand so I won't comment on the cost but am glad you attended one of the numerous weddings we have in this beautiful lwaterefront setting. Coome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    261
    104
    53
    29
See reviews for
180
235
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I don't like to give bad reviews but I have to be honest about my recent stay about the Hotel Maya. My husband and I went for an anniversary get-away but we should have picked a place a little more quiet and updated. I paid extra for a room with a balcony which was never used because it faced the restaurant and it seemed strange staring at people while they were eating (not very private). At night we had to keep the drapes shut (for privacy) and the door closed because the restaurant was so loud. It would have been nice to have left the door open and enjoyed the breeze but instead we shut the door and turned on the air conditioner that sounded like a freight train. The hotel reminded me of a renovated Navy Lodge.

On the brighter side, the bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. This would have been a great place to come for a party with friends but not for a quiet get a way. It was a little quirky for a Double Tree Hotel.
Pros:
Comfortable Beds
Clean
Nice toiletries
Beautiful view

Cons:
Far from everything
Noise from the restaurant/bar
Noise from the air conditioner
Small bathroom
Small pool area
Old building
Over priced

Room Tip: Building 4 is furthest from the noise and closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the comments about the beautiful views and upside though I apologize that you did not feel that it was worth the money. As I have mentioned before, hotel rates like airlines fluctuate based on demand. It appears that you also came last weekend with the two parties I mentioned two reviews above. This is not our normal experience so we would love you to give us another chance and come back to stay with us again. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 3 years ago on our honeymoon and we were so happy to come back. The view is amazing, along with the restaurant and bar.The gentleman (Andrew) that checked us in was so awesome and accommodating. We will be back ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Welcome back and happy third anniversary! We are so glad you came back to spend it here. I will pass your comments on to Andrew as well. We hope to see you back here every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great experience overall, hotel located right on the water and within walking distance or short bus ride of many Long Beach attractions. Although it is 60s architecture, which can have it's own unique charm, the hotel has done an excellent job of updating the furnishings and decor to make it feel like a modern hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the comments...we are glad you like thw hotel design as we are an older hotel though completely renovated in 2009 and re-themed the hotel, Hotel Maya. We won several design awards. Come back and visit again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location on the waterfront. This wonderful hotel has so much to offer. The rooms are very spacious with the choice of two queen size or one king size bed. I’ve stay in both with the balcony waterfront view. We ate breakfast at the fuego restaurant at the hotel. The food was awesome…I had the build your own omelet and the boyfriend had huevos rancheros and of course…coffee too! My next getaway will include the king with the loft room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and we are glad you keep coming back. My favorite room is the waterview deluxe king...even more than the loft. Next time stay in one that opens onto the beach....they are awesome. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moreno valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

this hotel was a very beautiful hotel the staff was amazing!!! andrew and Francisco were very courteous and helpful thank you for having me!! the hotel lobby had a beautiful decor. the check in process went smoothly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Glad you loved it and had a beautiful experience. I will pass the comments on to the team. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I loved staying at the Maya, it is beautiful and clean and the pool was great. So many places to lounge around, just relax and the Restaurant Fuego is really great, The view is so beautiful and relaxing. All and all really enjoyed it, will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for the great comments!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.