We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms C, Service B, Gym B” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 5%
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rooms C, Service B, Gym B”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. The rooms are quite hot and stuffy with no ventilation. The air conditioner is beyond noisy and ineffective. Restaurants are fine, the gym has treadmills but only one recumbent bike (would be nice to have a normal bike). Reception is slow and could use some training.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback though it is certainly not the type we strive to receive from our guests. We just built a brand new beautiful fitness center and thus have heard very few negatives about it but defintely something to consider. We do have real bikes on property for guests to ride along the water though. Please email me at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may get more info in regards to your room front desk experience so we may work to improve in that area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

When you pay a extra to stay overnight with an ocean view you would expect a that the room would be clean - well, actually, I always expect that the room should be clean...But in this case, I expected near perfection. Not the case here. Seemed like the room was used for a massive party the night before and perhaps the maid service was in to big of a rush to do a thorough cleaning. I say that because we found a beer bottle behind one of the chairs in the corner and stains all over the walls. Just Gross! The bathroom was beautifully decorated and although the rooms were not as nice - they still had a modern feel to them. However, despite the upgraded decor I couldn't get the idea out of my head that if the walls were not scrubbed down - and with trash left behind...that perhaps the sheets weren't cleaned also. Anyway, needless to say as much as I enjoyed the view - we spent as much time outside of the room as we could and were happy to leave the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you felt the hotel was beautiful despite the horribly dirty room you had. I reviewed your pictures and this is totally unacceptable and you never should have been checked into this room. I would appreciate it if you could email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may discover the details of room number and date to identify housekeeper and put through retraining imemdaitely. We really appreciate your time in contacting us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arranged stay through hotel.com...what a bargain. Regardless, it was a great hotel - the Queen Mary about a 1/4 mile away, a view of L.B. Harbor from our room, and close to our sons who live in L.B. We didn't take advantage of any amenities, as we were busy with our sons. But, the bed was very comfortable and everything about the room was outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
This is a great hotel at any price. :) Thanks for the feedback and hope you return and spend more time on property with your sons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOUNTAIN VALLEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Familiar with this brand but this particular property is distinguished above others. It is close to major entertainment venues, shops, restaurants of all kinds -- all within easy walking distance. The walking areas are all well lighted, easy access. The rooms are spacious and well laid out, good views in most, and the staff was wonderful. Highly recommend if you're going to be in that area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so glad you loved everything from the pool to the fire pits to the waterfront restaurant. We hope to see you again soon and truly appreciate your feedback. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated, modern/contemporary design, though not welcoming if you were hoping for easy walking access to downtown/shops, etc. There is apparently a shuttle that operates within 2 miles but you are not necessarily told this when you arrive, and there is a free city shuttle that you are also not informed of that drops you off nearby. Overall, way over-priced given that few amenities are included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are in process of restocking the complimentary passport shuttle schedules in our front rack and have retrained the front desk agents on mentioning the shuttle. It is also mentioned in our guest room compendiums in every room. The water taxi from our dock also goes back and forth the downtown for a dollar. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The design of the courtyards in the middle of the rooms caused all noise to be amplified. Not a problem had the rooms been sound proofed to shield them from the noise. But no, they did not. A really big mistake. This could have been a really nice hotel, but if you can't sleep, you wake up with a bad attitude that causes you to check out early!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We have heard the noise complaint before but not so much in the last year since we sound proofed all of the doors with stoppers and started testing sound proofing carpets in the exteriors. Some weekends are definitely louder than others but we will continue to work on sound proofing the buildings better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a unique property almost a boutique style hotel. The views of the bay and back to Long Beach are great! It is a little difficult to get to, requiring a few U turns, but worth the effort. Once you are there though, plan on staying. It is not the easiest access back to the other attractions locally.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and insight...Directions are always a bit difficult so we suggest people print them out from our website. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#12 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing