We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Vallejo, United States
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Whenever my family and I visit Long Beach, Hotel Maya is always the place to stay. Not only is the staff friendly and professional, the rooms are impeccable. This hotel does a good job in providing a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the great comments...we are happy to be your home away from home anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    276
    109
    62
    31
See reviews for
204
260
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has its Maya theme as the name says.
Welcomed with unlimited fresh warm cookies.
I really enjoyed the stay with spacious room and such a beautiful veranda.
The interior of the room was so beautifully decorated.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A unique experience with great views and scrumptious food. The variety and quality of breakfast was particularly impressive. Staff were routinely helpful in all arenas. Easy to walk to some great AAA GEM attractions. I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about the hotel and Fuego. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Maya and Long beach and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Decided to use my Hilton hotel points to get a waterview room. The first night I was in a room with no balcony but pretty view of the Queen Mary. I upgraded $20 to a room with a balcony and was glad I did that on the 2nd night. Very relaxing to sit out on the balcony watching the boats go by. The room was nicely appointed with free Wi-Fi, fridge, safe and a Keurig Coffee Maker. A good cup of coffee makes the start of the day so much better. :) The bathrooms were small and not much space for your personal items, but there was a little shelf you can use in the corner. The hotel was far from restaurants except for a steakhouse within walking distance. However, the hotel restaurant and outside bar area looked very nice, but I didn't go there. Room service food was good. There is a Passport shuttle bus at the end of the hotel's property that comes by every 15-30 minutes that goes downtown (across the bridge) and has numerous stops (free). Very easy to use. If you enjoy walking or jogging, there's a pretty area between the hotel and Queen Mary on the waterfront. Also there's a sandy area with some lounge chairs, tables, and fire pits that are lit at night. Nice ambiance.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony. Views of Queen Mary is very nice,especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. I am glad you upgraded to a balcony room as it makes a huge difference to enjoy the view and peacefulness of the water. You will have to try our signature restaurant Fuego next visit on the waterfront as it is spectacular both in food and views. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My last two experiences with a DoubleTree have been less than stellar. This stay broke that streak. This is a great pre-cruise hotel (if you're sailing on Carnival, the port is super close, but we sailed on Princess - the port is about 7 miles away) as it sets the the mood since the hotel is on the water.

The rooms are quite large and well decorated. I had a room that was on the ground floor and had it's own patio with chairs and a table. The reservation was secured on Hotwire for around $90. As in the other DT hotels I've stayed in, the room smelled of mildew. Must be a Hilton standard.

I found that Housekeeping was quite noisy in the morning. Lot's of talking and yelling beginning at 8am. There was also some concrete drilling that began at around 8am. It didn't bother me as I was already awake but it seems that the management could easily fix this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please email me at kristi.allen@hilton.com with your room number or name so that I may follow up on the mildew smell which is definitely not our standard and i certainly apologize if that was in fact the case in your room. We hope your crusie travels bring you back to Hotel Maya for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Looking for a spot in Long Beach that has access to just about everything? The Hotel Maya is near the Queen Mary, close to downtown and a short jaunt to the USS Iowa. The rooms are roomy with free Wi-Fi to keep in touch and a balcony to relax on. The Keurig coffeemaker made the start-up in the morning easy. Staff was very pleasant and the restaurant was good. The only negative is the fee for parking overnight. Even with that, if you are planning a trip to the Long Beach area, give this place some serious consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the harbor. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review...we agree that we are prefectly located int he heart of everything but just a little out of the way of the hustle and bustle. Glad you discovered us and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martensville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was dissapointed with my stay here. The first impression is good; nice lobby and outdoor spaces, it's the apartment-style buildings the rooms are housed in show their age and are unattractive in my personal opinion. I found the elevator and stairwells frightening (in a dark and dingy sort of way) when I was by myself.
The room itself is just okay, not near the caliber of other hotels I stayed in during my 2 wks in the California area. I booked through Booking.com and had a confirmed rate and tax amount outlined in my confirmation, but was overcharged on both the nightly rate and the tax amount and am still awaiting a refund. I have now put it in the hands of Booking.com to resolve with them. Not at all worth almost $300 for a one night stay. The room was water-facing and we listened to old boats rubbing up against the dock all night as well as other random loud noises making for a terrible nights' sleep. I wish I hadn't paid extra to book a water view room, I probably would have had a better stay in a cheaper room with less noise. The parking charge ($19) is high considering you're in the middle of no-where - talk about gouging! There are no on-street parking options... so if you have a car be prepared to pay. Keeping in mind you pretty much have to have a vehicle to stay here as there is nothing around. This hotel was the most outdated and least enjoyable of our vacation, yet somehow but the most expensive. I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As you booked through booking.com and not through the hotel, all of your rate, payment and stay info comes through them so we really arent able to make any adjsutments to your bill, only they are. It is wise to get them to fix it if there was an error between what you agreed on and what they told us. I always recommend booking through the hotel directly to avoid such issues. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to respond and will review your experience with our team to see if we can address your issues with the stairways. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.