We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spot near a spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A spot near a spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Looking for a spot in Long Beach that has access to just about everything? The Hotel Maya is near the Queen Mary, close to downtown and a short jaunt to the USS Iowa. The rooms are roomy with free Wi-Fi to keep in touch and a balcony to relax on. The Keurig coffeemaker made the start-up in the morning easy. Staff was very pleasant and the restaurant was good. The only negative is the fee for parking overnight. Even with that, if you are planning a trip to the Long Beach area, give this place some serious consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the harbor. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review...we agree that we are prefectly located int he heart of everything but just a little out of the way of the hustle and bustle. Glad you discovered us and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    276
    109
    62
    31
See reviews for
204
260
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martensville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was dissapointed with my stay here. The first impression is good; nice lobby and outdoor spaces, it's the apartment-style buildings the rooms are housed in show their age and are unattractive in my personal opinion. I found the elevator and stairwells frightening (in a dark and dingy sort of way) when I was by myself.
The room itself is just okay, not near the caliber of other hotels I stayed in during my 2 wks in the California area. I booked through Booking.com and had a confirmed rate and tax amount outlined in my confirmation, but was overcharged on both the nightly rate and the tax amount and am still awaiting a refund. I have now put it in the hands of Booking.com to resolve with them. Not at all worth almost $300 for a one night stay. The room was water-facing and we listened to old boats rubbing up against the dock all night as well as other random loud noises making for a terrible nights' sleep. I wish I hadn't paid extra to book a water view room, I probably would have had a better stay in a cheaper room with less noise. The parking charge ($19) is high considering you're in the middle of no-where - talk about gouging! There are no on-street parking options... so if you have a car be prepared to pay. Keeping in mind you pretty much have to have a vehicle to stay here as there is nothing around. This hotel was the most outdated and least enjoyable of our vacation, yet somehow but the most expensive. I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As you booked through booking.com and not through the hotel, all of your rate, payment and stay info comes through them so we really arent able to make any adjsutments to your bill, only they are. It is wise to get them to fix it if there was an error between what you agreed on and what they told us. I always recommend booking through the hotel directly to avoid such issues. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to respond and will review your experience with our team to see if we can address your issues with the stairways. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Attended a conference and made reservation within the time limit to get a discounted rate. Nevertheless, a different discounted rate (less favorable) was offered and accepted. At check out, the second discounted rate was not reflected and I had to prove the hotel (chain's) promise to have the better rate honored. Hotel staff was great, but seemed constrained by rigid corporate policies. It would have been better to honor the originally offered conference rate with a reservation made within the time limits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for any confusion over your reservation. Please email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may look into what happened and correct it for future reservations. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms a little small. Private balconies/patios are very nice. Tiki torches and fire pits are so romantic! Walking distance to the Queen Mary.
The decorations are very interesting, open air is refreshing.
I would stay again.
Free wireless Internet is a bonus!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Glad you liked it and enjoyed a romantic weekend. come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Gladly surprised , mega size rooms, excellent food with generous portion, free breakfast! A1 customer service overall. Walking distance to the Queen Mary, amazing views . Will definitely be back if in the area, got much more than expected.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback and we loved your review as well. Our rooms are a good size and if you got a fourth or fifth floor room you had teh high ceilings as well which make the rooms seem huge. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in Long Beach. Make sure you hire a car as its not close to anything in particular, but not too far from anything either. Very quiet overlooking the water. A real joy to come back to after the hustle of LA. excellent food and you can walk to the Queen Mary (if that's your thing).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to fill out the review. We are glad your family enjoyed it after the hustle of LA. We are as you described not in the heart of anything but close to everything. Many tourist stay here as we are centrally located to LA, Anaheim and orange county tourist attractions and don't forget next door to the Queen Mary and aquarium of the pacific, Long Beach's two biggest attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After carefully reviewing my folio from a recent stay (5 nights) on a business trip, I realized I had been charged a daily $20 "upgrade fee" that I never agreed to. I never signed anything, never was told about an increase to my room rate, and never would have accepted same. When I phoned the hotel to dispute the charge (after having spent a great deal of money eating and entertaining clients in the hotel restaurant each day, not to mention daily parking charges) the manager I spoke to, Fernando Chavez, was not only rude, accusatory, and unapologetic, but also suggested he was going to check surveillance cameras and audio to verify that I agreed to a rate I knew absolutely nothing about. As if I had committed some kind of criminal offense.
This is not customer service. This is a rude and disrespectful attitude to customers. I would now never recommend this hotel and am going to think twice about staying at Hilton properties in the future if this is how they train their employees and treat their guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the billing error you've experienced and the level of service with which this was handled. As you are aware we credited the upgrade fee last week as soon as I was notified of it. We certainly strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations and apologize that we failed to do so in this case.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.