We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Hidden Fees and No Customer Service. Shame on Hilton.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of Hidden Fees and No Customer Service. Shame on Hilton.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After carefully reviewing my folio from a recent stay (5 nights) on a business trip, I realized I had been charged a daily $20 "upgrade fee" that I never agreed to. I never signed anything, never was told about an increase to my room rate, and never would have accepted same. When I phoned the hotel to dispute the charge (after having spent a great deal of money eating and entertaining clients in the hotel restaurant each day, not to mention daily parking charges) the manager I spoke to, Fernando Chavez, was not only rude, accusatory, and unapologetic, but also suggested he was going to check surveillance cameras and audio to verify that I agreed to a rate I knew absolutely nothing about. As if I had committed some kind of criminal offense.
This is not customer service. This is a rude and disrespectful attitude to customers. I would now never recommend this hotel and am going to think twice about staying at Hilton properties in the future if this is how they train their employees and treat their guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the billing error you've experienced and the level of service with which this was handled. As you are aware we credited the upgrade fee last week as soon as I was notified of it. We certainly strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations and apologize that we failed to do so in this case.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    307
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
219
276
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Maya on a business trip, had I know the location was out by the cruise terminals I wouldn't have stayed here. The location is pretty, close to the QE2 retired cruise ship (now used as hotel & restaurants) with nice view of ocean and boat docks. The problem is getting to the location, right now there is road construction going on and the turn off is almost impossible to find. Once you miss the exit you are forced to go into the QE2 gated area, get a ticket and drive straight over to the exit. It must be a regular thing because there are big signs that say free for the first 20 or 30 minutes.
Hotel is a little old, but it seems like it has been updated. Rooms are nice, mine was upgraded so it was larger with a nice view. The amenities were very nice as well, they had a man made beach area below my room with a big gas fire pit that had people sitting around it with cocktails. I only ate breakfast here and it was decent, typical buffet type food, luke warm, not hot but it was good. Service was slow but friendly.
Would I stay here again? Most likely not, besides the difficulty in getting to the hotel it's just not in an area you can walk to many restaurants like the downtown area is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. There is quite a bit of road construction going in Long Beach on on the way to our hotel but if you follow the directions on our website you should be fine and get here quickly and easily. Our directions don't take you all the way in on the 710 as it appears you did. Just make sure next time you print them out or follow sings tot he south waterfront hotels which is what we are considered. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar Vista, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cool ambiance, treasured locale, sumptuous menus, peaceful locale, and vibrant Mayan energy! Be sure to take time to stroll throughout the idyllic grounds, share a delightful mixed cocktail at the Fuego bar and the Pool bar with a side of chips and their amazing guacamole! If you're lucky enough to stay during the performances of the Ancient Music & Dance of Mexico - do so -- as it's certainly an entertaining and welcome journey back in time to indigenous cultural delights! One of my favorite places to stay, rest, play and create joyful memories. Thank you, Hotel Maya for your warm hospitality ~

Room Tip: Of course, rooms overlooking the boats, beach, pool & city skyline is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review and description...you definitely "get" the Maya. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Cali
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Decided on a "stay-cation" close to home..and found our new little paradise 30 mins from home! What a cool "boutique style" hotel this was....Very reminiscent of the DR with Bali beds by the pool...fire pits along the bay front....a "beach" with fab lounges and couches...fabric draped recluses. What I noticed was TEXTURE used to enhance the decor everywhere in this hotel.Iron, fire, flowing fabric, cinderblock walls, calf hair and flocked wallpaper on the reception counter...all very unusual and visual...totally impressive using some common and not so common elements. At night, changing lights on the building sides give an ethereal feel...tiki torches and fire pits had a tropical feel.

Staff was excellent...with a shout out to Fuego staff members Linda (bartender) ..who personally showed us a better spot (at the rail) to have our lunch that afternoon and then took us on as our personal server...lovely and funny. Also a big thank you to Alipio, at Fuego, that asked the chef to make us breakfast even though we had missed it. Those 2 experiences with these people made us LOVE this hotel. All staff was very helpful and nice. Our room was excellent! Again, unusual touches that made us feel like we were a million miles away...not 5 minutes from downtown Long Beach.

Dog friendly...but...we would like to see a designated area for guests to eat that would allow dogs to accompany. We didn't bring our dogs this time, but would like to in the future...without having to actually get in the car and leave to go elsewhere to be able to eat or have to order room service. I would say that was the only thing lacking that we asked about.

The pool wasn't huge and it was perfect and deserted when we were there....we were able to use one of the "floating" Bali lounges and that was superb. You can walk to The Queen Mary...and there is another restaurant across the way "Reeds" that we tried for a drink and appetizers. Rooms are built around an atrium so sounds are a bit loud...but not too bad. You will need a car or better yet...use The Passport, a local FREE bus that comes by every 15 minutes and takes you into downtown Long Beach with many stops depending on where you are going. the Pike, the Aquarium of the Pacific, and more. Runs till midnight.

We loved our 2 night stay and plan to return...many times!

Room Tip: Building 1 is away from the action while building 4 overlooks the pool and could be noisier. During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I think I love your review as much as you love our hotel...Thanks! You captured all of the elements that make the Maya so special. We may even have to hire you to do our marketing. :) I will pass along your comments to Linda and Alipio who are great members of our team. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing, from the front desk being so understanding about check in and the warm cookies all the way to the beautiful rooms and views. You can get anywhere in long beach with a short cab ride OR you can ride the free bus to town just a few feet walking distance from the hotel. I wish I had a chance to hang out by the pool but it was all business when I was there. Will DEFINITELY stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the great comments...you have to come back and try the pool or beach when you get a chance...they are my favorite places other than Fuego in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Long Beach isn't exactly a restful, quiet ocean side city. When you find a quiet secluded place in an otherwise industrial area - you appreciate it. I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Maya very much. Professional staff. Good restaurant. Great bar. Excellent daily breakfast. Given that I was in Long Beach for business, access to downtown Long Beach was easy. Finding the hotel in all of the construction is a bit of a challenge but once you get your bearings its no problem.

My room was alot more than I expected for a Doubletree. Very high ceilings. Very nice balcony seating area. My only concern was that the rooms open to the outside. Given that the Maya is somewhat remote - security hopefully isn't a concern. It wasn't during my stay. My only real complaint about the room was that the bathroom counter space is essentially zero. There's a small glass shelf for placing items but it's very small.

Otherwise, I would be much happier staying at the Hotel Maya if it was priced more in line with its age. This is not a new hotel. The heating/cooling system in the rooms is very old - the floor units having the push button and dial system that most hotels transitioned away from a decade ago or more. Everything outside your room is painted concrete. The elevators are tiny and slow.

Several of my points here aren't easily resolvable by the Hotel Maya and as I noted, I enjoyed my room and my stay very much. If the Hotel Maya was priced competitively to the Hilton Long Beach - I'd stay at the Hotel Maya every time. Unfortunately, the Hotel Maya is generally priced well above the Hilton Long Beach with the Hotel Maya commanding a premium price. That a Doubletree 1 mile away from a full service Hilton is priced 10-20% higher than the Hilton doesn't make sense.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and prefer Hotel Maya. We are the only waterfront hotel in Long Beach and the only resort style hotel and thus the difference in pricing with the hotels located across the bridge in the business district of Long Beach. Location is everything they say. I do recommend signing up though for our Hotel Maya newsletter on our hotelmayalongbeach.com website as we offer specials often through that channel. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Perhaps we didn't start off in the best frame of mind after an 11 hour flight from the UK, baggage collection, car pick-up & then set off to Long Beach. It was dark before we arrived. Without our GPS I don't know if we would have ever found the hotel! It's very close to the docks & rather daunting at first.I liked the decoration in the rooms, but they could have been cleaner. The restaurant was very quiet & not particularly welcoming. We were in the garden room for one night & then marina side for a night a few days later. the free shuttle bus to downtown was good & it was also easy to walk over the bridge to Shoreline Village, but I would only have walked it in day light. car parking was $17 per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I wish you had stayed here on the second day of your trip and not the first. :) I m glad you found it though after your long travels from the UK. Being remote or across the bridge from the rest of Downtown is exactly what makes us so special and resort like. We are an oasis in the heart of downtown Long beach, within walking distance of downtown but far enough away to feel like you are away from the urban hustle of it all. The rest of the city looks back at us and the port while we have an amazing view of the water and city skyline. We also have the city's complimentary bus that runs every 15 minutes from our hotel throughout the downtown area. I truly hope you make it back to enjoy a lengthy and more restful stay with us. I am sure you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.