We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis is a hidden gem and worth another visit soon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Orange, California
1 review
“THis is a hidden gem and worth another visit soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent property with full ocean and city views. Queen Mary is walking distance and easy shuttle to town. It's a very romantic setting that makes you feel like your in Hawaii. We will definitely make this a regular visit for weekend get aways. We can't wait to schedule our next romantic weekend.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks! It is a perfect romantic getaway which makes you feel worlds away. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    260
    103
    53
    29
See reviews for
177
233
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very pretty grounds. Staying on this side of the harbor allows you to get the very pretty views of the busy side, and it is a very short free shuttle ride or boat ride (boat summer only) to get to the aquarium and such. If they just fixed a few minor things this would be like a 5 star resort. The grounds are really pretty! The hut tub was really hot and had very strong jets - better then my hot tub at home! I have never been to a hotel with the spa kept so hot and it was fantastic. The rooms are large (top floor has cathederal ceilings), but small bathrooms, which doesn't matter to me. Almost a Ritz Carlton.... almost ;) For the money it is a fantastic and I would say a 4 star. NOTE: this, as is most hotels in the area, is a HARBOR hotel. There is no sandy beach or swimming area. They have a man made sandy beach, but it is not on the water, although my 8 year old still had fun bulding sand castles in the sand while I sat in very comfy resort furniture in front of the fire pit enjoying the wonderful night light view.

Room Tip: Building 3 or 4, upper floor. Spring for the FULL waterview - it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and for saying we are almost a Ritz Carlton. :) I too love the higher floor rooms as you do get the high ceilings though I also love the first floor rooms on the beach as you can walk out of your patio onto the sand. I am glad your 8 year old enjoyed it! Come back again in the summer so you can take the $1 boat ride around the harbor and lay by the pool all day. kids love the floating cabanas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is our second time at the Maya in two months and we've decided that this is our favorite place to stay in Southern California. We love the Maya because you fell like you are on an island. They do have a small "beach area" with sand and chase lounges. The pool has floating cabanas, and all of this with a view of the water and downtown long beach, which is beautiful when it lights up at night.
Most of the rooms at the Maya are Ocean view. To me everything at the Maya says relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Perfect!!!! You are enjoying the Maya exactly the way we want people to enjoy it...relaxing by the pool, on the beach, on their patios or on our waterfront restaurant patio with a margarita in hand. Come back whenever you are are in the need for some R&R! We will leave the lights on. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not your average big city hotel. This is a unique little hotel that is also a Doubletree (big chain amenities, small hotel feel). The hotel backs to the water (no beach). It has nice size rooms. Comfortable beds. The grounds are immaculate and have comfortable seating areas with fire pits along the water. Great pool. Short walk to the Queen Mary and the Russian submarine. Perfect place for a romantic getaway or with the family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Our designer who is famous in LA will love the Stylish oasis label. You hit what he was aiming for...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and i stayed here for Valentine's day we gota room with a harbor view and it was beautiful. The view the room the balcony were all I could have hoped for. Very romantic, we were above alil waterfall they have in the garden and it made it all the more peaceful. Could fall asleep to that sound. Very happy and we will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy Valentine's day! It sounds like you stayed in Buiilding one as you were able to enjoy the waterfall...Next time try building 3 or 4 to enjoy our even more romantic beach and fire pits. The Hookah lounge is really romantic as well and fun when you try the Hookah with our resident Hookah expert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Maya a few times now and we love, love, love it! Great location, great rooms and always a great price! They have added a new area since we last visited that is like a sandy beach with outdoor seating and fire pits! So nice to sit out there at night and enjoy the Long Beach weather! Or even order room service and enjoy your breakfast! This hotel is perfect if you are cruising one of the Carnival ships that sail from Long Beach, the cruise terminal is within walking distance, but no need to walk, they have a great shuttle service that will take you there and pick you up when you return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We love, love, love that you loved it. Come back again soon and relax and play at the Maya....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel was a little bit hard to find, but well worth the confusion of finding the place. I pulled in and the lobby area was beautiful. The whole decor was stunning, I felt as though they paid some bit of money to have a professional designer come in and set the lobby area. Of course the complimentary cookies are a nice touch atop the wonderful customer service. All of the staff was helpful and kind, to the degree it made me feel as though I was in Hawaii. Which brings me to the pool... AMAZING, looking right over the water and with full service, quite nice. The room was of course up to standard with the rest of the hotel. However the restaurant was beyond my expectations, and they were already high! Will definitely be coming back! KEEP IT UP MAYA!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and I am so happy you loved it. The Maya is such a unique style hotel with it's boutique design and resort style layout...you either love it or you hate it. We are not a generic big box hotel ike the rest in town which often throws off those looking for a typical highrise with cream colored walls. It sounds like you got to enjoy the beautiful waterfront pool and our waterfront restuarant Fuego. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.