We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Retro Decor with Outstanding Amenties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Cool Retro Decor with Outstanding Amenties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Right on the water and convenient to downtown as well as the boat to Catalina, which is why I discovered the Maya. The Maya is fun and very well done with multiple private seating areas inside and out...fire pits, waterfalls, curtained pool side cabanas, large balconies off the rooms, etc. The staff was friendly and efficient and the gym was impressive. Outdoor dining on the water side under a huge canopy was relaxing and delicious. In the evening, we strolled along the water through the park and dipped into the Queen Mary (at one time the worlds largest luxury passenge liner) which was really interesting. Our water side room was very quiet at night...only the sound of gently rocking boats in the marina. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Waterside...the back side faces a road that seemed to be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Sounds like you really explored Long Beach and got to enjoy the hotel and amenities as well. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    346
    132
    73
    37
See reviews for
248
322
42
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Maya for a night on our way to Catalina Island. It was fabulous! The staff was extremely nice and helpful, always there to accomodate your needs. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Our room was big and roomy. Love the decor of the hotel! Lots of little comfortable sitting areas to relax and people watch. The grounds were beautiful and the views were awesome! Ate at the bar.....delicious food and wonderful margaritas!!! Walking distance to the downtown area and the Queen Mary. Will definitely be going back for a weekend!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the Excellent review. We are so happy you lovd the hotel and Fuego. Our Margaritas are known to be the best around! Come back for more....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly, very accommodating staff and awesome skinny margaritas at the restaurant. This was an overnight trip with hubby. We were not happy with our room at first, but the staff showed us 2 other rooms and we found one that was quiet and relaxing for us. Restaurant was really great. Food was awesome as were the margaritas. The view from where we were was just amazing as the sunset.
A bit noisy later at night as a couple of events were going on, but nothing unusual. The grounds are beautiful and made for a very relaxing trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the good review. I am so happy you found a room you loved. Every room is different from a view type because of the way the hotel is laid out so people often pick the view they want and then we find the room. I am also glad you loved Fuego our signature restaurant as it is a perfect place for a margarita and a snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Maya hotel in Long Beach is beautiful and all rooms weather you choose an ocean view or a garden view are excellent, Very clean and comfortable, but the osean view rooms are my favorate because there is a beautiful view of the ocean, the Queen Mary and the cruise ships that come and go from Long Beach. If you are going on a cruise this hotel is wonderful because they will take you to the cruise treminal and pick you up when you return. This is the best hotel in Long Beach to my opinion.

Room Tip: If you want to have a beautiful view, choose one of their ocean view rooms close to the pool, If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your great cooments and we are glad you enjoyed the hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quiet. Great view from the balcony of the ocean. Easy to use public transportation. Easy walk to the Queen Mary and Scorpion Submarine.
Quick walk to bus stop to use downtown area for restaurants and entertainment.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the brief but nice comments. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of my cruise departing from the terminal a few hundred meters away from the hotel.
Overall a great hotel, Very friendly and professional staff in my opinion. Quickly checked inn, with a warm cookie in hand from reception, a great room with comfortable beds were awaiting after a 13.5 hour flight.
Room was nicely laid out, and very clean. My room was in building 4, which means closest to the road. It was possible to hear some distant traffic with window open, but this is no problem

I liked this hotel a lot and would stay again. Nice restaurant and bars on the sea-side, overlooking Long Beach.

Only slightly negative point was, as commented by other visitors, the air-condition units.
They made quite a lot of noise, but after flying for so many hours, I slept well anyway.

Big comfortable towels, nice bathrobes, and many other small details taken care of made the stay memorable.
In room coffee machine +

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments and glad you were able to sleep and relax here after your long travels and before your cruise. Come stay with us again longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Two friends from high school and I had a mini reunion and Hotel Maya was a perfect venue. We took the courtesy bus into town for an awesome dinner at a crepe place (don't know name but it is worth finding), We lounged and talked for hours in perfect comfort. Tiki lamps lit up the night on the sandy fire pit areas. Breakfast at the Hotel was delicious with a spectacular view of the Queen Mary and harbor. The staff was more than accommodating with our every request. So friendly and quick service throughout our stay. Even received warm "Goodbye Cookies" :)

Room Tip: Even the garden room was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Wonderful! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and your mini-reunion with your friends here. I bet the restuarant was La creperie, one of my favorites as well! Hope to see you guys back with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
#5 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#22 of 58 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.