We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 57 hotels in Long Beach
Ridgecrest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Maya for a night on our way to Catalina Island. It was fabulous! The staff was extremely nice and helpful, always there to accomodate your needs. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Our room was big and roomy. Love the decor of the hotel! Lots of little comfortable sitting areas to relax and people watch. The grounds were beautiful and the views were awesome! Ate at the bar.....delicious food and wonderful margaritas!!! Walking distance to the downtown area and the Queen Mary. Will definitely be going back for a weekend!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the Excellent review. We are so happy you lovd the hotel and Fuego. Our Margaritas are known to be the best around! Come back for more....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    241
    94
    47
    26
See reviews for
164
212
32
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly, very accommodating staff and awesome skinny margaritas at the restaurant. This was an overnight trip with hubby. We were not happy with our room at first, but the staff showed us 2 other rooms and we found one that was quiet and relaxing for us. Restaurant was really great. Food was awesome as were the margaritas. The view from where we were was just amazing as the sunset.
A bit noisy later at night as a couple of events were going on, but nothing unusual. The grounds are beautiful and made for a very relaxing trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the good review. I am so happy you found a room you loved. Every room is different from a view type because of the way the hotel is laid out so people often pick the view they want and then we find the room. I am also glad you loved Fuego our signature restaurant as it is a perfect place for a margarita and a snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Maya hotel in Long Beach is beautiful and all rooms weather you choose an ocean view or a garden view are excellent, Very clean and comfortable, but the osean view rooms are my favorate because there is a beautiful view of the ocean, the Queen Mary and the cruise ships that come and go from Long Beach. If you are going on a cruise this hotel is wonderful because they will take you to the cruise treminal and pick you up when you return. This is the best hotel in Long Beach to my opinion.

Room Tip: If you want to have a beautiful view, choose one of their ocean view rooms close to the pool, If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your great cooments and we are glad you enjoyed the hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quiet. Great view from the balcony of the ocean. Easy to use public transportation. Easy walk to the Queen Mary and Scorpion Submarine.
Quick walk to bus stop to use downtown area for restaurants and entertainment.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the brief but nice comments. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of my cruise departing from the terminal a few hundred meters away from the hotel.
Overall a great hotel, Very friendly and professional staff in my opinion. Quickly checked inn, with a warm cookie in hand from reception, a great room with comfortable beds were awaiting after a 13.5 hour flight.
Room was nicely laid out, and very clean. My room was in building 4, which means closest to the road. It was possible to hear some distant traffic with window open, but this is no problem

I liked this hotel a lot and would stay again. Nice restaurant and bars on the sea-side, overlooking Long Beach.

Only slightly negative point was, as commented by other visitors, the air-condition units.
They made quite a lot of noise, but after flying for so many hours, I slept well anyway.

Big comfortable towels, nice bathrobes, and many other small details taken care of made the stay memorable.
In room coffee machine +

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments and glad you were able to sleep and relax here after your long travels and before your cruise. Come stay with us again longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Two friends from high school and I had a mini reunion and Hotel Maya was a perfect venue. We took the courtesy bus into town for an awesome dinner at a crepe place (don't know name but it is worth finding), We lounged and talked for hours in perfect comfort. Tiki lamps lit up the night on the sandy fire pit areas. Breakfast at the Hotel was delicious with a spectacular view of the Queen Mary and harbor. The staff was more than accommodating with our every request. So friendly and quick service throughout our stay. Even received warm "Goodbye Cookies" :)

Room Tip: Even the garden room was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Wonderful! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and your mini-reunion with your friends here. I bet the restuarant was La creperie, one of my favorites as well! Hope to see you guys back with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It's like a hidden little gem, nestled in a very cozy area adjacent to the Queen Mary and not far from the Long Beach night scene. Perfect location. The restaurant was exceptional - though not cheap. The pool and grounds were well appointed and nicely designed. The interior decor was appealing. The room itself was merely adequate, but I will say the bed and bedding were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was attractive and clean. The balcony ocean view was partially obstructed, but still acceptable. The service staff were all attentive, gracious, friendly and professional.

My only gripe about the place is the parking situation. $17 a day! For what? The parking gate was never once lowered that I was aware. So people could come and go at ease - and not pay. So I was made to feel like a real chump that I had disclosed I would be parking and had the fee attached to my bill at the end. Either make parking complimentary - WHICH YOU SHOULD - or at least keep the gate down so people who HAVE paid, feel like they're actually paying for something. But again - the solution? Complimentary parking.

Don't ruin a lovely experience by knickel and diming your guests.

This is NOT the first time I've read this comment from your guests, so it would really be in your best interests to listen to them and act accordingly. I'll be looking for this change on my next visit and will report it at length if the situation is not addressed and corrected. Other than that, I may have given you 5 stars just because it's a charming facility that I thoroughly enjoyed. Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a balcony/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled you liked the hotel so much. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the parking charges however the parking is limited by the hotel and the charge goes to cover the upkeep of the lot and gates. If we didnt charge, all of the Queen mary visitors, reef staff and boaters nearby woud all park there. You would not believe how many people drive right through the gate in an effort not to pay. A few always ruin it for the rest. Every hotel in Long Beach charges for parking so it is not unusual in our market however if it is a concern of yours, we have several packages on our website that include parking. I suggest those on your next visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.