We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - close to cruise terminal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice - close to cruise terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of my cruise departing from the terminal a few hundred meters away from the hotel.
Overall a great hotel, Very friendly and professional staff in my opinion. Quickly checked inn, with a warm cookie in hand from reception, a great room with comfortable beds were awaiting after a 13.5 hour flight.
Room was nicely laid out, and very clean. My room was in building 4, which means closest to the road. It was possible to hear some distant traffic with window open, but this is no problem

I liked this hotel a lot and would stay again. Nice restaurant and bars on the sea-side, overlooking Long Beach.

Only slightly negative point was, as commented by other visitors, the air-condition units.
They made quite a lot of noise, but after flying for so many hours, I slept well anyway.

Big comfortable towels, nice bathrobes, and many other small details taken care of made the stay memorable.
In room coffee machine +

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments and glad you were able to sleep and relax here after your long travels and before your cruise. Come stay with us again longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    309
    120
    67
    35
See reviews for
220
280
39
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Two friends from high school and I had a mini reunion and Hotel Maya was a perfect venue. We took the courtesy bus into town for an awesome dinner at a crepe place (don't know name but it is worth finding), We lounged and talked for hours in perfect comfort. Tiki lamps lit up the night on the sandy fire pit areas. Breakfast at the Hotel was delicious with a spectacular view of the Queen Mary and harbor. The staff was more than accommodating with our every request. So friendly and quick service throughout our stay. Even received warm "Goodbye Cookies" :)

Room Tip: Even the garden room was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Wonderful! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and your mini-reunion with your friends here. I bet the restuarant was La creperie, one of my favorites as well! Hope to see you guys back with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It's like a hidden little gem, nestled in a very cozy area adjacent to the Queen Mary and not far from the Long Beach night scene. Perfect location. The restaurant was exceptional - though not cheap. The pool and grounds were well appointed and nicely designed. The interior decor was appealing. The room itself was merely adequate, but I will say the bed and bedding were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was attractive and clean. The balcony ocean view was partially obstructed, but still acceptable. The service staff were all attentive, gracious, friendly and professional.

My only gripe about the place is the parking situation. $17 a day! For what? The parking gate was never once lowered that I was aware. So people could come and go at ease - and not pay. So I was made to feel like a real chump that I had disclosed I would be parking and had the fee attached to my bill at the end. Either make parking complimentary - WHICH YOU SHOULD - or at least keep the gate down so people who HAVE paid, feel like they're actually paying for something. But again - the solution? Complimentary parking.

Don't ruin a lovely experience by knickel and diming your guests.

This is NOT the first time I've read this comment from your guests, so it would really be in your best interests to listen to them and act accordingly. I'll be looking for this change on my next visit and will report it at length if the situation is not addressed and corrected. Other than that, I may have given you 5 stars just because it's a charming facility that I thoroughly enjoyed. Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a balcony/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled you liked the hotel so much. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the parking charges however the parking is limited by the hotel and the charge goes to cover the upkeep of the lot and gates. If we didnt charge, all of the Queen mary visitors, reef staff and boaters nearby woud all park there. You would not believe how many people drive right through the gate in an effort not to pay. A few always ruin it for the rest. Every hotel in Long Beach charges for parking so it is not unusual in our market however if it is a concern of yours, we have several packages on our website that include parking. I suggest those on your next visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, co
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was dirty, but grounds were beautiful. Definitely over-priced. Staff was very pleasant. Pool area was nice. Kids enjoyed swimming and the hot tub. Nice bar by the pool. Restaurant was good and offered upper scale dining. We enjoyed hanging out by the fire pits at night. Beautiful location, especially at night. Rooms and buildings could use some updating. The exterior of the Motel is a bit of an eyesore and just looks really dirty compared to the gorgeous surroundings. Our room was filthy. My sons socks turned black after only a few minutes of being shoeless. The bathroom had visible stains on the wall paper. This "hotel" caters to a younger crowd so take a nap because you probably won't get much sleep due to all the loud partying that goes on all night. We were unable to call the front desk to complain because the phone was dead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the grounds, pool and Fuego restaurant. I am very concerned however about your phone not working as we check them everyday as part of our procedures. Please email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I can determine what room you were in and see if there is an issue with the phone and also with the carpet cleanliness. In regards to the buildings looking like a motel, the hotel was originally built in 1974 so it does have older architecture and is laid out more resort style with several buildings on 14 acres instead of a high rise . Our designers thought the original buildings looked like Mayan Pyramids and thus the $26 million dollar renovation to Hotel Maya. In 2009 we won several design awards for this hotel but everyone has their own style. If you are looking for a high rise, this may not be for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Recognize in advance that it's a Doubletree not the Ritz Carlton and you won't be disappointed. Our room was very large and on the fifth floor had a large vaulted ceiling. It was very spacious. Definitely a boutique hotel themed quite nicely. Beautiful grounds wonderful pool pool bar and service all the way around. Hallways are open air atriums in the center of the building. Located across the river from downtown Long Beach it's a nice healthy walk to the attractions and restaurants downtown or the city provides complimentary transportation about every 10 minutes. The restaurant is fantastic we ate breakfast lunch and dinner in the place and it was just terrific great service and great food in a Myan themed atmosphere.

Complimentary in room coffee great television service and connections for iPhones and other media players.

Bathroom floor and tub surround were marble and very clean.

If I really had to find something to complain about the carpet in the room was a little dirty and the through the wall air-conditioners are a little old and rattle but other than that I couldn't find much to complain about. I'd recommend this hotel highly when visiting Long Beach.

Very convenient to the Long Beach cruise terminal and the hotel provides complementary transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed and accurate review of our hotel. The AC ais an issueswe are working on. The AC units are wall units due to older design of hotel and though they all work, tend to be noisier than what most are used to. Changing these units require basically a total redesign of properrty amd rooms so still trying to figure a solution. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel, location and Fuego our signature restaurant. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this an interesting Hotel in a beautiful location as we were about to board a cruise ship.
Lovely views across the water to Long Beach and a short walk to the beautiful old Queen Mary now a hotel and restaurant. The rooms are large and comfortable although not lavish. I think you need to choose your room ...with view and balcony or what suits you.. and insist that will be the room you will get. AC is very noisy but works well. Staff and restaurant were excellent.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel has wonderful views and balconies. Be sure to choose and insist on the room you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review. we are so happy you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very modern but has a somewhat confusing layout. The hallways are open to the air, no ice machine on each level. If you check in at night, it is a bit of a hunt to find it. The rooms are very clean, the views wonderful, beds comfortable. The AC is very loud, but works well.
If you have a lot of toiletries, make sure to have them in a travel bag that hangs on a hook, there is no room around the sink for personal items, and the light in bathroom makes for interesting makeup. There are many wonderful areas off of the lobby to lounge. The bar is pretty, but on a week night the others there were primarily after hours employees, and the bartender not especially welcoming. We would definitely stay there again. Not your typical hotel. Check dates for events in the area, the parking lot the eve of the Long Beach Marathon was full, we circled for 20 minutes one night to find a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I am glad you still liked it despite being here on one of the busiest weekends of the year in Long beach, Marathon weekend. Our resort style properrty is a bit spread out and hidden on the South Waterfront in Long Beach, far away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to get there when you want. It is a bit difficult to find but once you do, worth the effort. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.