We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Will Return. Make Parking Complimentary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel. Will Return. Make Parking Complimentary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It's like a hidden little gem, nestled in a very cozy area adjacent to the Queen Mary and not far from the Long Beach night scene. Perfect location. The restaurant was exceptional - though not cheap. The pool and grounds were well appointed and nicely designed. The interior decor was appealing. The room itself was merely adequate, but I will say the bed and bedding were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was attractive and clean. The balcony ocean view was partially obstructed, but still acceptable. The service staff were all attentive, gracious, friendly and professional.

My only gripe about the place is the parking situation. $17 a day! For what? The parking gate was never once lowered that I was aware. So people could come and go at ease - and not pay. So I was made to feel like a real chump that I had disclosed I would be parking and had the fee attached to my bill at the end. Either make parking complimentary - WHICH YOU SHOULD - or at least keep the gate down so people who HAVE paid, feel like they're actually paying for something. But again - the solution? Complimentary parking.

Don't ruin a lovely experience by knickel and diming your guests.

This is NOT the first time I've read this comment from your guests, so it would really be in your best interests to listen to them and act accordingly. I'll be looking for this change on my next visit and will report it at length if the situation is not addressed and corrected. Other than that, I may have given you 5 stars just because it's a charming facility that I thoroughly enjoyed. Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a balcony/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled you liked the hotel so much. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the parking charges however the parking is limited by the hotel and the charge goes to cover the upkeep of the lot and gates. If we didnt charge, all of the Queen mary visitors, reef staff and boaters nearby woud all park there. You would not believe how many people drive right through the gate in an effort not to pay. A few always ruin it for the rest. Every hotel in Long Beach charges for parking so it is not unusual in our market however if it is a concern of yours, we have several packages on our website that include parking. I suggest those on your next visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    262
    104
    53
    29
See reviews for
181
235
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, co
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was dirty, but grounds were beautiful. Definitely over-priced. Staff was very pleasant. Pool area was nice. Kids enjoyed swimming and the hot tub. Nice bar by the pool. Restaurant was good and offered upper scale dining. We enjoyed hanging out by the fire pits at night. Beautiful location, especially at night. Rooms and buildings could use some updating. The exterior of the Motel is a bit of an eyesore and just looks really dirty compared to the gorgeous surroundings. Our room was filthy. My sons socks turned black after only a few minutes of being shoeless. The bathroom had visible stains on the wall paper. This "hotel" caters to a younger crowd so take a nap because you probably won't get much sleep due to all the loud partying that goes on all night. We were unable to call the front desk to complain because the phone was dead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the grounds, pool and Fuego restaurant. I am very concerned however about your phone not working as we check them everyday as part of our procedures. Please email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I can determine what room you were in and see if there is an issue with the phone and also with the carpet cleanliness. In regards to the buildings looking like a motel, the hotel was originally built in 1974 so it does have older architecture and is laid out more resort style with several buildings on 14 acres instead of a high rise . Our designers thought the original buildings looked like Mayan Pyramids and thus the $26 million dollar renovation to Hotel Maya. In 2009 we won several design awards for this hotel but everyone has their own style. If you are looking for a high rise, this may not be for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Recognize in advance that it's a Doubletree not the Ritz Carlton and you won't be disappointed. Our room was very large and on the fifth floor had a large vaulted ceiling. It was very spacious. Definitely a boutique hotel themed quite nicely. Beautiful grounds wonderful pool pool bar and service all the way around. Hallways are open air atriums in the center of the building. Located across the river from downtown Long Beach it's a nice healthy walk to the attractions and restaurants downtown or the city provides complimentary transportation about every 10 minutes. The restaurant is fantastic we ate breakfast lunch and dinner in the place and it was just terrific great service and great food in a Myan themed atmosphere.

Complimentary in room coffee great television service and connections for iPhones and other media players.

Bathroom floor and tub surround were marble and very clean.

If I really had to find something to complain about the carpet in the room was a little dirty and the through the wall air-conditioners are a little old and rattle but other than that I couldn't find much to complain about. I'd recommend this hotel highly when visiting Long Beach.

Very convenient to the Long Beach cruise terminal and the hotel provides complementary transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed and accurate review of our hotel. The AC ais an issueswe are working on. The AC units are wall units due to older design of hotel and though they all work, tend to be noisier than what most are used to. Changing these units require basically a total redesign of properrty amd rooms so still trying to figure a solution. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel, location and Fuego our signature restaurant. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this an interesting Hotel in a beautiful location as we were about to board a cruise ship.
Lovely views across the water to Long Beach and a short walk to the beautiful old Queen Mary now a hotel and restaurant. The rooms are large and comfortable although not lavish. I think you need to choose your room ...with view and balcony or what suits you.. and insist that will be the room you will get. AC is very noisy but works well. Staff and restaurant were excellent.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel has wonderful views and balconies. Be sure to choose and insist on the room you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review. we are so happy you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very modern but has a somewhat confusing layout. The hallways are open to the air, no ice machine on each level. If you check in at night, it is a bit of a hunt to find it. The rooms are very clean, the views wonderful, beds comfortable. The AC is very loud, but works well.
If you have a lot of toiletries, make sure to have them in a travel bag that hangs on a hook, there is no room around the sink for personal items, and the light in bathroom makes for interesting makeup. There are many wonderful areas off of the lobby to lounge. The bar is pretty, but on a week night the others there were primarily after hours employees, and the bartender not especially welcoming. We would definitely stay there again. Not your typical hotel. Check dates for events in the area, the parking lot the eve of the Long Beach Marathon was full, we circled for 20 minutes one night to find a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I am glad you still liked it despite being here on one of the busiest weekends of the year in Long beach, Marathon weekend. Our resort style properrty is a bit spread out and hidden on the South Waterfront in Long Beach, far away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to get there when you want. It is a bit difficult to find but once you do, worth the effort. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a great hotel. I highly recommend it. The only thing that was dissatisfied with was that the room was a little noisy. The room was very clean, I felt very comfortable with my childern playing on the floor etc. I would stay again! The beds were very comfortable. We had a harbour view which was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Happy to hear you loved the hotel! I am sure the kids loved the beach and pool. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Maya for a couple days after a cruise out of San Pedro and just loved the place. The grounds are just beautiful and it's not your typical cookie-cutter hotels rooms. The room we had faced the water and over looked their new "Beach area". Along with the amazing views our room was very spacious and wonderfully decorated. The only thing we noticed that may bother some people is that the air conditioning unit in the room was loud. They did provide disposable ear plugs in the beside drawer although it wasn't that bad that we needed to wear them. The free bus that came every 8 to 10 minutes was a great way to see the Long Beach area if you don't have a car. Even if you have a car the bus is so convenient and runs til late at night, you really don't need to use your car while you're there.. The staff at the front desk were always polite and helpful and the freshly baked cookie on check-in was an added bonus. I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the water-view balcony the views are amazing both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed it and got a chance to explore Long beach. the ac's can get loud if you arent used to these type of units but we are working on replacing them with quieter models. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#13 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Poo...
Show More
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.