We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation stay in a long time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best vacation stay in a long time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Recognize in advance that it's a Doubletree not the Ritz Carlton and you won't be disappointed. Our room was very large and on the fifth floor had a large vaulted ceiling. It was very spacious. Definitely a boutique hotel themed quite nicely. Beautiful grounds wonderful pool pool bar and service all the way around. Hallways are open air atriums in the center of the building. Located across the river from downtown Long Beach it's a nice healthy walk to the attractions and restaurants downtown or the city provides complimentary transportation about every 10 minutes. The restaurant is fantastic we ate breakfast lunch and dinner in the place and it was just terrific great service and great food in a Myan themed atmosphere.

Complimentary in room coffee great television service and connections for iPhones and other media players.

Bathroom floor and tub surround were marble and very clean.

If I really had to find something to complain about the carpet in the room was a little dirty and the through the wall air-conditioners are a little old and rattle but other than that I couldn't find much to complain about. I'd recommend this hotel highly when visiting Long Beach.

Very convenient to the Long Beach cruise terminal and the hotel provides complementary transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed and accurate review of our hotel. The AC ais an issueswe are working on. The AC units are wall units due to older design of hotel and though they all work, tend to be noisier than what most are used to. Changing these units require basically a total redesign of properrty amd rooms so still trying to figure a solution. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel, location and Fuego our signature restaurant. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    305
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
219
274
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this an interesting Hotel in a beautiful location as we were about to board a cruise ship.
Lovely views across the water to Long Beach and a short walk to the beautiful old Queen Mary now a hotel and restaurant. The rooms are large and comfortable although not lavish. I think you need to choose your room ...with view and balcony or what suits you.. and insist that will be the room you will get. AC is very noisy but works well. Staff and restaurant were excellent.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel has wonderful views and balconies. Be sure to choose and insist on the room you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review. we are so happy you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very modern but has a somewhat confusing layout. The hallways are open to the air, no ice machine on each level. If you check in at night, it is a bit of a hunt to find it. The rooms are very clean, the views wonderful, beds comfortable. The AC is very loud, but works well.
If you have a lot of toiletries, make sure to have them in a travel bag that hangs on a hook, there is no room around the sink for personal items, and the light in bathroom makes for interesting makeup. There are many wonderful areas off of the lobby to lounge. The bar is pretty, but on a week night the others there were primarily after hours employees, and the bartender not especially welcoming. We would definitely stay there again. Not your typical hotel. Check dates for events in the area, the parking lot the eve of the Long Beach Marathon was full, we circled for 20 minutes one night to find a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I am glad you still liked it despite being here on one of the busiest weekends of the year in Long beach, Marathon weekend. Our resort style properrty is a bit spread out and hidden on the South Waterfront in Long Beach, far away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to get there when you want. It is a bit difficult to find but once you do, worth the effort. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a great hotel. I highly recommend it. The only thing that was dissatisfied with was that the room was a little noisy. The room was very clean, I felt very comfortable with my childern playing on the floor etc. I would stay again! The beds were very comfortable. We had a harbour view which was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Happy to hear you loved the hotel! I am sure the kids loved the beach and pool. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Maya for a couple days after a cruise out of San Pedro and just loved the place. The grounds are just beautiful and it's not your typical cookie-cutter hotels rooms. The room we had faced the water and over looked their new "Beach area". Along with the amazing views our room was very spacious and wonderfully decorated. The only thing we noticed that may bother some people is that the air conditioning unit in the room was loud. They did provide disposable ear plugs in the beside drawer although it wasn't that bad that we needed to wear them. The free bus that came every 8 to 10 minutes was a great way to see the Long Beach area if you don't have a car. Even if you have a car the bus is so convenient and runs til late at night, you really don't need to use your car while you're there.. The staff at the front desk were always polite and helpful and the freshly baked cookie on check-in was an added bonus. I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the water-view balcony the views are amazing both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed it and got a chance to explore Long beach. the ac's can get loud if you arent used to these type of units but we are working on replacing them with quieter models. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was a very nice place to stay. We were only there for one night, as we went to an event at the Convention Center. But, the stay was great, except for some expected noise from several wedding parties happening at the same time. Other than that, the room was wonderful, the staff were very helpful and the grounds were relaxing. All-in-all a very nice place to stay. And the best thing is that you're still close to the downtown area and can catch the free shuttle back and forth from the hotel. And if you're inclined to walk, its only about a 15 min walk to the downtown/aquarium area. Very easy to get to. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the good comments and very happy you got to explore the many fun attractions around the hotel ike the aquarium and shoreline village. Hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I chose the Hotel Maya because of its proximity to the Long Beach Cruise Terminal. I had no idea what to expect. I soley relied on other peoples feedback.I booked 3 rooms for my self and family. I was pleasantly surprised. What a lovely spot. Next to the Queen Mary. The free RED bus will take to downtown Long Beach if you want to look around. The grandkids loved the pool while the adults loved the beach area with the pit fires which they light up at dusk. The rooms were clean and the beds comforable. We had a view of the harbour which made it all the more exciting when we woke in the morning and saw the Carnival Splendor docked. All in all I would stay there again in a heart beat. My only bad thing was I pre paid for the rooms and on checkout I used the ATM in the foyer and found the Maya had charged me for a second time. They were very good and transferred the money straight away. But the actual hold on the original sum did not lift for 2 weeks. I am just glad I did not need that money whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the great comments...we are perfect for kids and adults alike with all of our activities ranging from the pool, beach, tennis courts and firepits to the bocce ball and bike rentals. If you want to be active or if you want to lounge by the pool with a cocktail, the Maya fits the bill. I am happy to see your whole family enjoyed it as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.