We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very relaxing and contemporary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very relaxing and contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you like contemporary hotels, this is a very nice one. But at the same time it has not lost funcionality. Great pool, nice ocean view rooms, nice restaurant. As a diamond HHonors, I had free breakfast and of course because of it being a doubletree ample warm cookies :).

All in all i found it very relaxing although I was traveling for work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for the comments and for your loyalty as a HHonors guest. I hope you can come back and enjoy a leisure stay with us. As you probably saw, we are just about complete on our new playa at the maya beach area. The perfect place to relax...Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    328
    128
    70
    36
See reviews for
235
305
40
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great hotel from Doubletree/Hilton. I loved everything about it. Very modern and hip. Was able to check in early about 11am from a very friendly front desk associate. The warm chocolate chip cookie on check-in was awesome. The room was larger than most in the area and for its price. Plus every room has a large balcony. The decor is modern mexican/mayan. There's a Kurig coffee machine in the room! There's a free shuttle to downtown Long Beach just outside the hotel. Eventhough my spouse and I stayed one night, we were both very impress with the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for the comments. We love to surprise people. We are hoping you come back and spend more than one night with us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

+water view is nice (though equally as nice on opposite side)
-dingy old motel style corridor-setup; no interior connection
-loud dirty AC units
-away from convention center and all the other activities
-staff hit or miss. some nice, some not. definitely messed up billing.
-phone access to hotel not that great either.
-food quality. some of the staff.
-my room had absolutely no balcony of any kind

most of the photos about this hotel shows the main area with the exotic wide door and the designer front... the rest of the hotel isnt like that. its supposed to be a resort but you can barely see the pool. the general feel of the service isnt resort or upscale. very plain hotel. low water pressure. and i kept slipping in the tub.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I rarely disagree with a comment because they tend to be personal opinions however in this case I have to in regards to the view. We have hands down the most beautiful waterfront views in town. To say that the other side of the water has the same views would indicate that perhaps you have not stayed over there. The view from downtown long beach is over the port and the cranes and is a bit industrial while we look out at a beautiful waterfront skyline and out towards the Queen Mary and beyond. We would loove to discuss in details your other comments so we may address and correct if needed. Please contact us directly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you get the right room with a balcony over looking the water, especially in buildings one or two, then you are in great shape. Several of the rooms do not have balconies and the ground floor rooms have the security risk of having a public pathway at the foot of the lawn. The rooms facing North and East in buildings three and four look out over the motorway and container port which never sleeps so neither do you.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor water front rooms in buidlings one and two. Try to avoid building four which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments...it all goes back to everybody likes it their own way and it is not the same for all. Our most requested building is three because of the great views and the central location within the resort. The most requested room type is a ground floor because people love the patios and walking out on to the resort grounds To each his own as long as you all like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday for a couple of days recently and every thing little detail about Hotel Maya is beautiful (literally!!) You really feel like you're on vacation when you stay here. The staff was very accommodating and really made my birthday special. (A special thank you to Kristi Allen, the general manager, without her, this experience wouldn't have happened and I wouldn't have had the birthday I did without her generosity.) From now on, when I come to visit Southern California, I will be staying here. Great, Great, Great hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us/ Come back again. We just broke ground today on our new Beach area which should be beautiful and opens in mid-June. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Very cool looking but bit out of the way from downtown long beach, but there's a free bus that runs very regular, nice and chilled.the bar by the pool only opened twice for about an hour which meant that we had to technically leave the hotel to walk the the bar/ restaraunt. So we took our own wine to the pool and later that day were left a printed notice on our bed telling us it was a no no, erm yeah right when we did visit the bar we were over charged by $2 3 times until I see the prices on the menu and they made an excuse that it was out of date and needed updating so she gave us the beers at menu price once after that. The girl on reception was very rude upon check in, but other than that a great place oh and CSI MIAMI was filmed there because it's not filmed in Miami lol. If you want chilled in long beach then I highly recommend THE MAYA.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Glad you liked it...if you havent stayed since September as your review states, you must come back! We just opened our brand new fitness center and will be opening our new beach in Early June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My family had 4 rooms here and we stayed one night so we could get on the Carnival cruise the following Monday morning. The hotel is pretty difficult to find without GPS. One of my brothers got lost and went around in circles and had to call us for directions. Make sure you have good directions and a map if you don’t have GPS.

Check-in was quick. The front desk was friendly and courteous. The cookies were delicious and a great snack for my two young nephews who were super hungry since their dad had been driving around in circles lost.

We were in bldg 1. My dad and our room faced the volleyball court and had a partial view of the water. My one brother had an ocean view room and could see the cruise ship while the other brother had a view of some huge tree branches, so the room didn’t get any sun. My brother said it was no problem facing some trees because his boys wouldn’t lean out very far.

The hotel allows you to leave your vehicle there for $10 a day instead of parking it at the garage terminal area ($15 a day). Due to the number of people & luggage we would need to get on the shuttle, we opted to just drive our cars down.

I thought the breakfast buffet was overpriced at $20. It’s typical breakfast food with scrambled eggs, pancakes, French toast, toast, bagels, etc.. Nothing to write home about.

Overall, a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Happy to hear the whole crew stayed here and liked it. The way the hotel is laid out, every room has a different view so many prople fall in love with a certain view and start requesting it on their return trips. We hope to see you back with the whole family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.