We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again - fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Once again - fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I travel for a living and this is one of the most unique hotels I've seen. I enjoy the resort like atmosphere while surrounded by views of the city and Queen Mary. The decor is unique and service commendable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    318
    124
    69
    35
See reviews for
229
292
40
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Maya for one night prior to leaving Long Beach pier for a Carnival cruise. We had two rooms (adjacent) for myself and my 4 kids (ages 17,15,12,12). The room rate included a week of free parking and complimentary shuttle to and from the pier pre/post cruise. The staff at the front desk was pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. Mini coffee maker, and the ear plugs were appreciated (I am a light sleeper). We had a late dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and found it overpriced. Wish there had been a more economical/kid friendly option. We signed up for a shuttle time and were able to get it moved up 30 min as we were ready to check out sooner than anticipated. I would definitely consider staying here again if we come to Long Beach and would highly recommend it before or after a cruise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thannk you for your comments. Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We did the cruise and park package at this Hotel. It was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very comfortable with beautiful views of the Queen Maryand Long Beach. The bed was great, the bathroom very nice. There was a safe , flat screen TV, plenty of space, wifi, and a desk. The Hotel had beautiful grounds with a walkway along the water to the Queen Mary and cruiseport.There was a very convenient shuttle to Long Beach which we used. Minor problems were our building #2 did require lugging suitcases from parking lot up a set of steps to the elevator. There did not appear to be any valets for luggage. There was a restaraunt on site but we ate at the cafe at Queen Mary which was great.
All in all, we would definitely stay at this Hotel again. We felt it was an excellent value and a delightful spot. That they let us park there for the week was an added plus!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great that you got to visit the Queen Mary next door as well. With all of their historic tours and their many restaurants, it is a great place to visit and spend some time. We are lucky to have them as our neighbor. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

What a spectacular view of the Long Beach skyline and the Queen Mary, especially at night. That alone was worth the stay. Other positives: our room was available at 10 a.m. when we checked in, fresh off a cruise, free Internet although a bit slow, lovely walkway along waterside by marina and to the Queen Mary and the Carnival cruise terminal, convenient and mostly free transport from the hotel to all the highlights of Long Beach. The staff at Fuego could not have been more attentive. We sat outside for dinner to escape the Xmas parties inside. I was a bit cool, even with all the heaters and the staff found a blanket for me to wrap up in. The guacamole and the view were worth a bit of discomfort. As well, we were entitled to complimentary continental breakfast but were allowed to chose from the entire buffet, which had excellent scrambled eggs (a rarity on a buffet). There is lots to see and do within walking/bus distance: Acquarium, Queen Mary, Catalina Island, downtown Long Beach. I do wish that there were more room in the bath for toiletries and we had a room on the top floor of building four. Extremely high ceilings and it was hard to keep the room warm enough, at least on our first day (I may have just been adjusting from the 90F degree temperatures of most of our cruise port stops). In closing, we started our cruise in Miami where we stayed at a full condo at the Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay. If we could have combined that suite with this location, it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: ask for water view #4504 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. It sounds like you really got a chance to enjoy our hotel and the surrounding areas. It's 80 degrees today so our heaters donn't get much use in Long Beach but we will check on the one in your room just to make sure it was the vaulted ceilings and not the heater itself. We hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We were looking for a hotel close to the cruise port in Long Beach and found a gem in the Hotel Maya. Our room looking at the retired Queen Mary and next to the port was wonderful. Large room, king bed, Large modern Bath. No microwave but we did have a refrigerator. Free Long Beach shuttle to town and restaurants made it very handy. This property was right on the water and well cared for. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for water view,beautiful sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Great to hear! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is an odd recently remodeled place. We booked it because of a special and the fact that it was new. It still felt like an average motel experience. The rooms were clean, but there was some noise from a wedding party. I wonder if party rentals are a common feature of this property. There is a restaurant on site with a nice outdoor patio and view. The service was amateurish and the standard Mexican fare food not very good. It is not an intimate boutique hotel like one might suppose. It is off the beaten path, but you can rapidly reach downtown across a bridge. However, the roadways around the port are a nightmare of confusion and poor signage. Not bad, but we will look for something better next visit.

Room Tip: Nicer to face the water (north) than the parking lot (south). Parking lot fills up and you might hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. I was dissapointed to read your reviews of Fuego's food and service as we win many awards and get great praise for our restaurant. I would love you to reach out and discuss your expereince with me if you have a moment so I can see what possible went wrong and address. The Hotel Maya is Long Beach's only waterfront resort style hotel and is very unique in style and furnishings. We are not for everybody however we won hotel design of the year when we opened 2 years ago. I am glad you at least enjoyed the views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I cruise out of Long Beach at least 1 time per year, we are in our mid thirties and typically stay in 4 star or better hotels when we travel and as a travel agent I tend to be pretty picky.
Last year we stayed at the Queen Mary and without going into a "Queen Mary Review" I'll just say that it was a disaster.
This year there were 5 of us traveling and staying in 2 rooms pre cruise, we decided on the Hotel Maya because of its proximity to the cruise terminal, there is a Long Beach red line stop on property for free rides to the mall, Shorline Village and the Aquarium and a free van ride to the cruise terminal.
We arrived on Thanksgiving evening to a very friendly and helpful front desk clerk, we got into our rooms and were very pleased with the view and cleanliness.
We ordered room service food for dinner that was very good and prompt then got a great nights sleep. In the morning all 5 of us went to breakfast at Fuego in the loby and had a great breakfast on the patio with an incredible view. Try the chorizo, it was great!
It was a great stay for about the same price as the Queen Mary with more going for it.
We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your very nice review and glad to hear you spent Thanksgiving with us and had a great stay. We certainly hope to see you back again soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.