We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Boat and Bed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dockside Boat and Bed
Save
You added Dockside Boat and Bed to your Saves list
316 E. Shoreline Drive, Dock 5, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off your stay !
Ranked #1 of 10 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very cool and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Stayed the night on the yacht the “Perfect Landing” it was a total blast. We arrived early and the friendlily staff were there to greet us and show us around our yacht.

The location in Long Beach Harbor is perfect and you can walk to everything. It was so much fun sitting on the back deck of the boat having cocktails and watching the other boats and seabirds. When it gets dark the colors of the lights in the harbor are unbelievable. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Try a little adventure it will be well worth the effort

  • Liked — Great view and in the middle of all the fun
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed in a 40' yacht (The Saoirse). It had 2 bedrooms (one with queen bed and one very small room with bunk beds that would be suitable for small children) and one bathroom. The location was beautiful - we had an absolutely amazing view of the Queen Mary and the Lighthouse. So many great restaurants and bars - not to mention the aquarium - are within walking distance. We stocked up on wine, cheese and snacks for the refrigerator. The breakfast was perfect for two people - but got there a little late if you were planning an early morning. I would suggest letting the innkeepers know if you need an earlier breakfast and they will probably provide you a basket the night before. The one caution I would have for anyone who has never spent the night on a boat. It's a boat. So don't expect the bathrooms to have your normal creature comforts. The shower had very little pressure and was difficult to adjust the temperature (think - campground type shower without the pressure) and the toilet didn't flush very well and tended to smell up the whole boat when flushed. Again - to be expected in a bathroom on a small boat - just be prepared! We would consider staying here again on a larger boat.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach,ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

This is a great romantic getaway. Its in walking distance to so many bars and restraunts. The service was great, the boat was perfect. I would strongly suggest you stay there! Its unlike any hotel or bed and breakfast. Worth the money!

  • Liked — It was in walking distance to so many restraunts and bars
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We heard about Dockside from friends who frequently stay there, so I had no hesitations about booking a weekend getaway. We booked the Perfect Landing, a VERY spacious motoryacht with more than enough room for my husband and I and our 12 yr. old son. We loved the huge back deck with amazing views of the harbor, boats and the occasional sea lion !! Had fun exploring the local restaurants and shops. Note: the restaurants are busy, so book earlier in the afternoon to ensure a table ! The dock could not be more centrally located to everything. One tip: bring wine, snacks or goodies with you, as the nearest grocery store is about the only thing that is not within walking distance !! But the boat was stocked with all the glasses, plates, etc. that we needed, even loved the complimentary snacks and water onboard. Breakfast each morning was plus too ! We had a blast, and found the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay again.

  • Liked — So unique- on a boat
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early- they book up quickly.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

I really like to stay right on the Harbor (I don't like sand but I like the beach). You can't get closer to the harbor then on it. This Botel is right on the water, clean, the bed was comfortable, and the waves rock you to sleep. You have great views and are within walking distance to lots of night life activity. There are also free purple buses that run to the local aquarium, shops, and restaurants. You do have to park kind of far from the botel but they have a cart to move your things. Really enjoyed myself, my husband and I stayed 4 nights. Continetal breakfast delivered to your door. I hate to be up for those early breakfasts so that worked out great. Definately will stay again. I stayed at lots of high end motels and hotels but this was unique.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

We stumbleld across this place on the internet and decided to give it a try. I admitt, i wasn't expecting too much. We were very surprised when we were checked in to the Nauti Girl for the night. The boat was spacious, warm and cozy. The beautiful wood interior was immaculate. It had all the same appliances as a hotel suite (plasma TV, DVD, full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, etc.). The gal who checked us in was warm and friendly (i think she is one of the owners ??) Our boat was just a stones throw from Gladstone's restaurant, the only downside of our stay is that the back deck of our beautiful yacht literally overlooked Gladstone's patio ! But from the front of the boat we had great views of the Queen Mary and a near by light house. In the morning we were greeted with a small basket of pastries, juice and fruit, just perfect to get the morning going. I have since recommended Dockside to many others and would definately stay there again in the future.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

For a quick reunion with my daughter en route overseas, the Dockside Boat and Bed was a perfect alternative to the usual hotel. We stayed on the Archangel, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath fully appointed yacht and found the location convenient for a day trip to Catalina and a wide array of restaurant options for dinner. We enjoyed a drink at sunset, walked to a delicious dinner nearby and awoke to the gentle tidal motion in the morning. We were provided a delightful breakfast basket and decided to linger in the pleasant atmosphere rather than pursue any further sightseeing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Boat and Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Boat and Bed

Address: 316 E. Shoreline Drive, Dock 5, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed & breakfast on private,dockside yachts. Located in the beautiful Rainbow Harbor, steps from dining & entertainment. A perfect, unique getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dockside Boat Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Boat and Bed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.