We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin

Berlin
420 E 4th St, Long Beach, CA
(323) 549-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 986 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A must try! I had the salmon bagle with locks and it was so good! We are not from this area but the reviews were good so we gave it a try....coffee was excellent, food was amazing and atmosphere was tranquil!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stopped by for breakfast at the end of our long beach vacation. The food, coffee, and service was excellent. Super attentive and sweet staff.

Ordered the Denver omelette, donuts, Mexican mocha, and a speciality coffee. Everything tasted very good, the donuts literally melted in the mouth. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were in town for 2 nights and had breakfast here both mornings! The best coffee in town and the food was fresh and delicious. Finally a place that does not charge over $10 for scramble eggs with chorizo. We also had the breakfast burrito and the steel cut oat meal. Everything was so good and thank you to Jackie, the bartender from House of Hayden for recommending it to us!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was the first place we visited in Long Beach and the only place that we went back to a second time. Both occasions were for breakfast - the vegetarian breakfast croissant was fabulous but there was so much choice we probably needed to go several more times! We never got there for lunch or in the evening although we were tempted by the happy hour offer.
Coffee was great, service efficient and friendly, atmosphere and surroundings pleasant and prices reasonable. I would strongly recommend at least one visit to this lovely cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Treated me like a movie star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This has to be one of the friendlies cafes I have ever been in. Attached to a book store, they serve some inventive beers along with the not so typical coffees - probably the best mocha frap I've ever had - the food is AWESOME - try the "from the earth salad" with BACON in it YUMMMM - served up from the most considerate and friendly staff in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.