We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi? Really??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Long Beach

Save Saved
You added The Westin Long Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No free wifi? Really??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

If you're giving me a room with a harbor view then I should be able to see the harbor right? $14.99 per day for wifi? $18 to park my car in your garage?? That's just wrong. Even cheaper crappy hotels/motels offer free wifi. Shame on you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    234
    106
    39
    15
See reviews for
106
98
42
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Long Beach Westin recently with several international guests while attending a conference. Although there was a serious check-in glitch that could not be solved (and which made for an awkward experience for the international guests), the Bell desk (express service) was very perceptive and worked hard to make the international guests feel welcome while the front desk staff worked to find a solution. Individuals, like Osmin and his colleagues, interacted warmly with distraught guests, offered bottles of waters, arranged for seats and carefully placed the luggage to one side of the lobby. This kind of personal attention was worth its weight in gold and made for good public relations. I commend the front desk and bell desk staff for their commitment to customer service. When we checked in the following day, we found well designed rooms that were comfortable and relaxing at the end of very long days. I loved the heavenly shower but very disappointed that amenities were not always replenished up to standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Your review has helped us identify stellar team members here at The Westin Long Beach. Please know that we have reminded our housekeeping team to make sure all amenities are stocked at all times so that future guests may enjoy their stay to its fullest. Thank you and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia for a great rate. I read that they allow dogs up to 40lbs which helped me pick this hotel. We brought our 6 month old pitbull puppy and had no problems. They even brought us a complimentary dog bed. I thought that since we had a dog we would get a room in the back of the hotel but when we got to our room it had ocean views, was right by the elevator and beautiful. All the staff were very sweet to our dog and great to us. I would recommend anyone who wants to travel with their dog to stay here! And there is Rosie's Dog Beach about 10min away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Long Beach for your travels. We are glad to know you and your furry friend were able to enjoy our signature amenity – the heavenly bed. Please do stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was in LA for a week for work and as my office is south of LAX, I thought Long Beach would be a great area to stay without an hour+ long commute each day. Overall I was happy with the choice and the Westin is always a safe bet. From the little I got to see of Long Beach, it is probably one of the nicer hotels in the area, although I had trouble easily finding where the beach actually was. That's definitely my fault as I spent more time sight-seeing then hunting down where the beach was (honestly probably wasn't too far, but didn't seem like walking distance). Nice rooms and great staff. Only complaint about the room is that the bathtub was definitely showing some signs of wear without being as clean as it could have been and the shower was very difficult to get going properly as the pull knob nearly yanked the tub spigot out of the wall.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms facing the ocean are available. I did not (didn't think about it) and wished I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Here at The Westin Long Beach we take pride in our surroundings and are glad to know you enjoyed our city. We have brought your review to the attention of our engineering department in hopes to identify rooms which need attention so that future guests may fully enjoy our heavenly showers. Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Check-in was easy and pleasant until we were told that they were going to charge us $18.00 a night for parking. This was never mentioned anywhere in the reservation clause or anywhere on the website. Parking was underground and there was a lot of it but I really don't think $18.00 a night for parking is reasonable... The rooms were very clean but the power of the air conditioning unit was poor it barely blew out any air and it actually took a long time to cool off the room... The double beds were more fitted for 1 adult instead of 2 adults but were comfortable. Shoreline Village was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, there was a 711 around the corner as well as a Wells Fargo Bank with an ATM 1 block from the hotel on the same side of the street...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed our location as it is close proximity to many of Long Beach’s main attractions. Although we have “daily parking fee mentioned” in our General Information webpage, we apologize for not clearly stating the price. We appreciate your stay with us and hope to welcome you back so that we may be able to meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Westin is my choice hotel. This one was just an okay one. Seemed dated, however the heavenly bed was heavenly as was the shower. Hallways dirty. Our room was far from elevators.. It's a flight crew type of hotel.

Room Tip: If you cannot walk far, ask for room near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your loyalty to the Westin brand is much appreciated. Although we are glad you stayed with us we are disappointed to hear about the condition of our common areas as we have undergone a recent renovation. We will take this review as an opportunity to review our current spaces as well as retrain our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGFIELD CENTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Westin was a lovely hotel however everything was extra. The Internet cost money, there was no breakfast included, we had to spend $8 for 2 eggs at breakfast and that didn't include coffee. The housekeeping service was poor. Dirty glasses left in the room, towels not replaced when removed, and just general sloppy housekeeping. The staff was pleasant and helpful but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are truly sorry for your stay. After extensive research on surrounding hotels, we feel that our internet and miscellaneous fees are priced accordingly. Also know that we have brought your review to the attention of our housekeeping director so that we may retrain our staff. We hope you will stay with us again so that we may be able to provide you with the hotel experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.