We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, treated so nicely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Long Beach to your Saves list
The Westin Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Great time, treated so nicely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife, her mom, her sister, and I spent two nights here in May, and we had such an excellent experience. Our rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed beautiful views of Long Beach. We were in town to catch up with our son at CSULB, but we were also celebrating my wife's birthday. One of the highlights of our entire trip was an unexpected kindness from the guy who helped us at check-in -- Brian. We were road weary, having driven all day to arrive from Santa Cruz county. We were a little punchy, I guess, and we started telling Brian about ourselves and our trip as he checked us in. We mentioned what fun people we are, how we would love a room on the 14th floor, how it was my wife's birthday, how Brian would really like us if we had time to get know him, how we were sure we would all actually become best friends with Brian if we lived locally. It went on and on, and we were cracking up from Brian's deadpan reception of all this. Brian got us on one of the higher floors, got us connecting rooms, got us the great city views we were hoping for, got a queen bed for me and my wife and two beds for my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. Quite excellent. After returning from our dinner, we found that someone had sent up champagne! The card was addressed to "My very dearest friend." And it was from Brian. What a nice touch! It's a beautiful hotel, and they treated us great throughout our stay. Brian really gave us something fun to remember. We hope we can stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: We always like the higher floors and hope for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear about our associate Brian and how he exceeded your expectations. Here at the Westin Long Beach we strive not only to provide great service and amenities, but also to turn an ordinary stay into an extraordinary one! We hope to welcome you back to our great city of Long Beach and importantly make your next simple visit even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    260
    117
    44
    16
See reviews for
114
109
43
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at this property for one night while in the area.

Was given a top-floor room with beautiful high ceilings. The furnishings were modern and pleasant, the décor was very in line with what one would expect from a contemporary Westin hotel. Housekeeping, however, was very poor. We discovered a significant amount of trash (food wrappers, an empty can) behind the armoire. There was a considerable build-up of dust under the bed. So please do avoid this hotel if you’re a neat freak!

Reception took note of our comment about housekeeping but did not take action nor offered any solution – we were going to check out anyway, so they felt it was too late to correct the situation anyway. Very unprofessional!

Would not return to this hotel because of the trash found in the room and the completely lacklustre attitude of the front office staff.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have very high ceilings - absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your stay. Although we are happy you enjoyed our room décor and amenities, we are very disappointed to hear that our housekeeping team was not able to meet your expectations. Please know that we always strive to not only meet but exceed our guest expectations. We have shared your feedback to our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Front Office Operations and we will consider this as an opportunity to re-train our staff. It is our hope to have another opportunity to host you so that we may showcase what the Westin Long Beach service level truly means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice corner room on the 4th floor. We love the heavenly beds, so comfy. Just across the street from the convention center, five minute walk, if that. Excellent service from the staff. Friendly greating and nice to have a happy hour for drinks. Walking distance to some great resturants too! We will stay again in July!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the lower number rooms (north side) on the lower floors during the weekends if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are very proud of our guest room amenities and could not be thrilled to know you will be able to experience them again in July. We look forward to your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this Westin property. Bed was comfy. Shower was great. Rate was reasonable. Breakfast was good. $5 voucher for declining housekeeping services made the price more reasonable. Was traveling for business so the location was great, just a few blocks from the convention center. Lots of reasonably priced dining options and attractions nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our property and surrounding areas! We are always looking for new ways to enhance our guest satisfaction and really happy to know that our “Make the Green Choice” option made your stay much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on business. Gt a decent rate with internet and breakfast included.

The location of the Westin is right on E Ocean Blvd, close to good dining (both downtown and near the water), close to the tram and bus stops, and easy access to freeways to LA and SD.

Parking is great - secure parking underneath the hotel, i paid around $10 a day on a special deal for self parking.

Check in was very easy, nice staff. Lobby is big and inviting. Got a room on the SPG floor (top floor); very happy with the room (even though 2 double beds, not a king). Rooms very well equipped, excellent wifi, good TV with movies. Rooms very clean and the Heavenly Bed is just awesome!

Good bathroom and shower, nice amenity packs.

The included breakfast was a buffet which i did not find that appealing. Coffee, orange juice etc with fruit, yoghurt, pancakes and bacon and eggs. I mainly ate just fruit and left it at that. The eggs etc were not very good - quite watery and not appetising.

The bar only stays open until 11pm which was disappointing as i got back a few nights just after 11.

All in all a great stay - comfortable, great amenities, good staff. Plenty of areas to exercise and eat nearby.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and its location. We are also very thrilled that you were able to enjoy our signature amenities. We are sorry to hear that our current restaurant and bar hours did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are looking into other options to ensure our future guests have an enjoyable dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were hanging out in Long Beach with friends and decided to stay the night there as to avoid driving home late at night. On short notice called the 800 number to make a reservation and they found a great price on short notice. The Room was AWESOME, huge and so comfortable. Unfortunately we had to leave the next day but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future. We also encourage you to sign up for SPG to start collecting your points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you'll be spending most of your time in the Long Beach area or heading out or back from a Carnival cruise.
The hotel was rather quiet during our Sunday night stay in May. We were almost the only ones dining in the on property restaurant for dinner. Food was good, nothing terribly exciting.
The breakfast buffet was very nice. We did that Monday morning. Wish more hotels would start carrying greek yogurt though.
It's a quick walk to lots of shopping, dining and nightlife and the pier. And a quick 2 mile drive from the Carnival cruise port and the Queen Mary.

Beds are terrific, the Westin Heavenly beds are hard to beat.
The gym was small but it had enough cardio and weight training equipment to take care of what I needed to do. (Work off dinner and breakfast!)
I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.