We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Long Beach to your Saves list
The Westin Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I are locals, and the Westin was our choice for a downtown staycation. We also got an excellent deal, which made this very nice hotel an even better choice.

Location - The Westin's location is excellent. Though not on the literal doorstep of most downtown Long Beach entertainment and dining, the Westin is only two blocks west of the Pine Ave district and the convention center, a block and a half from the awesome Promenade district, and a couple of blocks away from the Pike district. If you happen to be going to the Long Beach Performing Arts Center, the Westin is directly across the street. So, if you don't mind walking a block or two, the location is awesome. The fact that the nightlife is a short distance away probably tends to make the prices a little better as well.

Rooms - We got a basic room, and we were impressed by how spacious, comfortable, and clean they were. First off, they appeared to have been recently renovated. The furnishings were very nice, the bed was comfortable, and the floorplan was incredibly roomy. This was probably one of the largest basic rooms we've ever stayed in. The wall of windows was also a very nice touch. There are great views in every direction.

We didn't use any of the facilities like the restaurant, the pool, or the workout room, but from what we saw, they appeared to be pretty decent hotel standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    246
    113
    41
    15
See reviews for
111
101
43
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We decided to get out of the High Desert for a weekend and chose this property. We were surprised at how quiet it was since Long Beach is a pretty busy place, we do like the Starwood Properties and really like how clean and attentive the staff are.It's a convenient location and walking distance to all the restaurants and port. Im always amazed at how much all these properties charge for parking since its not a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I attended a conference there recently and found the hotel to meet my expectations without question. The room was very pleasant, the bed comfortable, the bathroom spacious and well equipped and the staff was consistently helpful and pleasant. What's not to like??

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had a remarkable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our hardworking associates and well-appointed guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback as it shows us what we are doing right and our associates definitely value your continued support. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The nice thing about Starwood properties is that they are all the same. The same beds, the same bathroom layouts, same pillows, the same staff trainings. What this means is that if you stay in one you are almost assured of getting a good nights sleep.

My wife and I stayed here for a night last weekend just to get out of our house in LA for a night. It was perfect. Good room service, silly movie, nice bed, nice view, thoughtful staff. I nice experience.

Room Tip: Gor for one of the high floors at the end of the runs, with the windows on 2 sides. You get a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was a very standard US Westin. Breakfast buffet was decent and a good value at $21 (as compared to overseas Westins that can charge 40 euros for breakfast). Heavenly beds/showers were as expected, but...

My colleague's iPad and charger were stolen out of his room. The hotel offered to provide a letter for the insurance company that they investigated it, but this is a major issue that the management seemed rather cavalier about. I have heard about vulnerabilities regarding the old style magnetic strip locks and I'm not sure if the locks at this hotel are to blame, but I probably wouldn't stay here again until this issue is resolved somehow.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a trip here because of Funeral nearby. The Hotel staff is top notch! Rooms were comfortable and nice. Easy check-in, access to all facilities, walk to numerous places to eat etc.. I would definitely stay here again. Great Staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Cal.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend with my daughter and her cheer team. The location was great. Right across the street from the convention center. This is a very nice property that is well maintained. We had a large double room, 743. The girls were tired from competing on Saturday so we order room service for dinner. Ricky was very helpful on the phone as one of the girls has a gluten allergy. He asked the chef if the chicken wings were breaded or if they had any gluten free bread. That was much appreciated. Oddly, there were only towels for 2 in a double room but when I called they delivered more within 5 minutes. We also order room service for breakfast. I would have ordered off the breakfast card but the prices were higher than just calling room service and the selections were also very limited. Breakfast was very good as well. They even made us chocolate chip pancakes which were not on the menu. My only slight complaint was the bathroom amenities. There was no shower cap, bath wash or sewing kit. We had all of them in our room at the Westin in Las Vegas the weekend before. Not sure why we would have them in one Westin and a week later not have them. Overall, I was very impressed with the level of service of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.