We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased, beautiful hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Long Beach to your Saves list
The Westin Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleased, beautiful hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel while traveling to the area for business. I've been to this property before and am very happy with the location in proximity to the convention center, the extreme comfort of the room as well as the friendly and helpful staff. The only two things that I think could be worked on: Westin currently has this promotion with New Balance in which you can borrow new balance gear to work out. Great idea! Although, the gym was a little small and wasn't able to accommodate high traffic during the peak workout hours (morning and night) also, gym should have lockers in the locker room, right? Always wanted to shower after my workout but there was no place to lock up my things. Lastly, the wifi. I always have such an issue when hotels charge a per night fee for wifi, something that you can get for free in most places and hotels, down to a motel 6. Overall, very happy! Ate at the hotel restaurant 3 nights, the salmon is incredible.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    279
    119
    48
    16
See reviews for
116
116
43
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel itself is great. There's something about an Westin room that is just calming. Bath is well laid out with sufficient counter space though my wife might not agree, and plenty of towels. Beds are good with a choice of pillows on them. Power outlets are handy , and they aren't hidden. Good desk, carpets at least appear to be clean though the color is problematic; (by design i'm sure). ( unlike the Hiltons ive been staying in recently that appear to have needed steam cleaning a year ago if not more...)
Staff is friendly, location is great. Across the street from the performing arts center, a block from the marina, lots of restaurants within blocks.
My only complaint is the OneView internet service they have is extremely hard to log on to, and abysmally slow...... I was also unable to upload emails , a problem I havn't had in quite some time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The bed is most comfortable at this hotel and Breakfast has a good spread. Bathrooms and carpets are showing age though. It is very conveniently located at the centre and everything including beach is walking distance.

Staff is fine and rooms are not noisy. Very comfortable experience and value for money,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at the Westin because of a Name Your Own Price deal I got again on Priceline. Rooms are always lovely. However, the tv and movie service went out again. This is the second time that we have stayed that right in the middle of a paid for movie the screen freezes. On this particular occasion it was in the last 15 seconds or so of "Skyfall" James Bond movie. The picture froze and it was 11:30 p.m. When I phoned the front desk they offered to send a repair man to our room and comp the movie. I really didn't want a repair man in our room that late so we just went to sleep. Overall I think that this hotel is very pretty, the staff are always accomodating and friendly but the tv service really sucks. At least that has been the rule for us.
The hotel is conveniently located, if you self park the cost is $17 which is comparable to most downtown city parking fees. My one and only other complaint is that the hotel elevator from the parking garage to the hotel was really gross. The carpet is extremely worn and the elevator is really dirty. When you get off this elevator and enter this beautiful hotel its really a drastic difference. You would think that they would want a better first impression. After all most if not all of the guests would enter from the parking garage.

Room Tip: Either the city or ocean side is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for just one night for a trade show we attended. The hotel is classy & beautiful. Not only was the hotel very nice, but the staff was exceptional as well. The location is great! We were able to walk to The Pike in the evening and had a great meal and saw a movie. We were at the trade show in just a few minutes which is almost just across the street. We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here one night post cruise. It's in a great location. The hotel is tired in a few spots, but the accommodations are very good overall. The staff at the front desk and bellman's desk were amazing. So helpful and accommodating. The room was very nice, but the bed made the stay wonderful. What an incredible bed. We enjoyed our stay and will probably be back when needing another post cruise night in Long Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Actually Westin is one of the best hotels for business trip in Long Beach. Nice hotel, nice view from the room, close to everything - shopping, dining, jogging etc... Staff is very friendly, facility is very good (incl. sneaker rental service for jogger), and the Grill restaurant is just great - (but sometime awful empty)

The only thing bothered me was the high price I have to pay (actually my company has to pay). We pay at least 40$ more for the room (comparing to the price of the room next door).

I know it just because they put the final bill of the next room "wrongly" under my door!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor - room with port view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.