We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4111 East Willow Street, Long Beach, CA 90815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My family was treated very poorly, i will never stay in a marriiott in any state, city or town.
The staff was unqualifiied to handlle a customer service situation.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    20
    11
    15
See reviews for
46
15
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years. We stay weeks at a time and love the kitchenette in the rooms. Now, we would never stay there again. They completely failed to communicate that there HALF the parking lot would be roped off for three nights because of repaving. We were still placed in a room on that side of the lot. They ended up repaving hot wet tar around our car just minutes before we had to leave even though we were parked outside of the roped off area. The staff assured us the next night that there would be a place to park but of course there wasn't. There were even 3 cars deliberately parked to take up two spots each. We were told to park in a wheelchair spot but got a $340 parking ticket the next day. They told us the front desk said "park at your own risk". All the General Manager, Lucas, granted was 2 nights comped - which was just over half the cost of ticket. He would not negotatiate with us and told us it was our fault. All they had to do was inform their guests appropriately, be honest and respectful to their guests, and monitor the parking in their lot during the time of repaving half of it. This was our one week a year of vacation and 3 days of it we were totally aggravated thanks to the Marriott Residence Inn in Long Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Positives:
Full Kitchen
Sports Courts
fireplace in room (a fee for fire logs though)
Free Internet (not WiFi)

Negatives:
RUDE staff- everyone from the check in clerk, to the breakfast attendant, to the security guard.
Very small rooms, lack of windows and low ceielings (room seemed like a dungeon under the stairs)
Very small, tight parking spots (difficult to park my Suburban)
Free Breakfast not worth the fight to get it, and the tables were always filthy
No ice machines on the property
No towels by the pool
Rooms VERY close to the parking lot, and many "patio" doors are practically a step away from the parking lot.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Where is the blasted Wi-Fi??
We stayed here a few years ago, as we have family about 2 miles East AND 3 miles north of here, so the location was ideal. We also make a habit of sticking to Marriott hotels as often as possible for a couple of reasons.
1): We always, ALWAYS know we're staying somewhere that customer satisfaction is #1. PERIOD. If you have a problem (We NEVER do), someone over that persons head will have their head.
2): Marriott Rewards. We stayed at this hotel for about $75 because of our points, and we probably stay 1-5 nights a year in hotels, tops.
Anyway, the finishing touches. fixtures, etc have since been NICELY redone since our last stay. FULL SIZE refrigerator, stove, oven, microhood, and dishwasher. Not hotel standard size, home standard size, from a matching GE collection, and in stainless steel. Nice cabinetry for apartment or hotel. Not top shelf by luxury home standards, but definitely not hotel grade either. VERY nice by hotel standards.
Now after all this, I still have to ask: WHERE'S the Wi-Fi?? I can go sit in a McDonalds parking lot and get free Wi-Fi, but not in my room, in a Marriott?
The other thing was the mattress. it felt like the big air bag stunt men land on when they jump off of tall buildings, and I felt like I was going to roll off the edge if I got too close. ABSOLUTELY hotel grade, which is bottom shelf. They could have used cheaper kitchen appliances the same size and bought a better mattress. I also would have loved a balcony. There is a slider leading to an unfenced outside for downstairs rooms, and upstairs rooms the slider leads to a 4 INCH balcony. But there isn't much they can do about that now, I suppose. :-) Other reviewers have mentioned the free parking, but I consider this an absolute standard, and I never have, and never will vary from that standard. I'm the type that will pay $50 more a night before paying $5 for parking when I'm already paying for the room. Luckily, the parking here was free, excellent, and the layout made it very easy to park near your room.
So to re-cap an overly long review:
PROS:
Beautiful appliances
Clean rooms
Nice fixtures
Well maintained
Good parking
Marriott service
Reliably good.
CONS:
No balcony/patio.
Flimsy mattress.
NO WI-FI !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We were recommended for Residence Inns by a family member. We got into Long Beach after an exhausting day and found the room clean and useful. We had a king bed and a pull out couch that worked well for a mom and two teenagers. The kitchen had everything (fridge, microwave, oven, pots and pans, etc.). That, coupled with the extensive continental breakfast, really cut down on our food costs. There was a nice desk and the TV worked well. The downside was that the only internet in rooms is through a cable, but it worked well and there was wireless in the lobby. It was too cold for the pool but it looked very nice.

Location was nice - we had a rented car and most things were about 20-30 minutes away. Not much in Long Beach, but the area seems safe enough. The staff was very kind and helpful. The fireplace was nice.

Only other downside is that to get to the lobby you had to walk outside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Overall a nice and fairly comfortable 2 night stay. I had mistakenly booked for the Residence Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove and was worried that I would be penalized for the first night's stay. However, I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to cancel the room without being charged since I was still staying at another Residence Inn. It was a nice sized room with pretty comfortable king sized bed and pull out couch. Bathroom and tub were very clean (no mold or moldy smell whatsoever). The toilet/bath was separated from the sink area by a pocket door but no door to separate that area from the rest of the room. That made it hard to sleep if someone needed to use the sink. The kitchenette had a full sized fridge, electric stove with oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and plenty of cabinets filled with plates, pans, and utensils. Other positives- a huge flat screen LCD tv and even a fireplace (logs are available at front desk for a nominal fee).

Complementary breakfast was adequate and filling (served weekdays at 6AM and weekends at 7AM). They served Egg-beater-type scrambled eggs, sausage patties, pancakes, make-your-own waffle station, assortment of bagels/pastries and a variety of cold cereals. Coffee and tea were served all day.

Front desk staff was very cordial - check in and out were quick and easy. Security was present at the hotel's entrance during late evenings basically to screen out non-guests.

Overall the pros:
clean tub/bathroom
cordial front desk staff
free parking w/security at night
free (wired in room) internet
full kitchenette
proximity to Long Beach airport

cons:
bathroom/vanity layout
no in room wifi
local area

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010 via mobile

When you stay at a hotel, you expect great customer service. But this Residence Inn by Marriott lacks it. You would think that this brand hotel would have great front desk clerks and managers right? The hotel doesn't. I have stayed in non-brand hotels before and their service was excellent, from the front desk to the housekeepers. I would think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach

Address: 4111 East Willow Street, Long Beach, CA 90815
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.