We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Surf Package
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was back in Long Beach for a combo trip of work and personal. I chose this hotel as it's in a great location and had not been to the property. I loved it! My room was perfect. The size, cleanliness and condition was more than I expected. I loved the rooftop pool and enjoyed it twice during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    146
    34
    9
    20
See reviews for
78
177
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sour Lake, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is being redone but not a problem for us. The rooms were nice and very clean. Hotel is right by the pier which is convenient. We loved it! They upgraded us to a bay view room which was nice. Parking is $24 self or valet.

Room Tip: Bay view was an upgrade and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had done so much research online when I was looking around at where I was going to stay when we got to the states. When I came across Long Beach I thought may as well check it out then staying some where in the hustle and bustle! I was really happy with the reviews I was reading and did like the look of the place. When I actually arrived I was very impressed with the service and the hotel itself.

Breakfast was amazing and the beds were very comfortable!

One thing my partner learnt was when trying to dial out with the area code or the hotels ext number to make an out going call - be careful as he dialed 911 thinking we were calling up to confirm our pick up in the morning but clearly didn't. All was good which was a relief as we felt very silly but the staff handled the situation very well with us as management has to come up and make sure all is fine.

Great place to stay in Long Beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It feels almost like a boutique, European style hotel. We had the standard king room, which is a bit small, but the elegant, contemporary furnishings make up for the size. We had a great view of the Queen Mary in the Long Beach Harbor. We opted for the AAA rate, which included breakfast, our choice of room service or dining in the Bay Street Kitchen. We ate in the Bay Street Kitchen, which had excellent, healthy options and the staff was friendly and attentive. In fact, all staff members we helpful and friendly. Also loved the location. Easy walks to restaurants, movies, and waterfront activities, easy drive to other parts of Long Beach. The rooftop pool and bar have a great view, so don't miss those amenities. Parking is $7 a night with in/out privileges, much less than most hotels in the area. My husband and I would both highly recommend Hyatt The Pike.

Room Tip: Bay/Harbor View for a view of the Queen Mary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hotel, good location (unless you are a beach person - that's a pretty long walk), mostly nice, helpful staff. However, ready their website VERY carefully before booking a room here if part of the main reason you are interested is the rooftop pool and bar. I booked this hotel for our 22 year anniversary because when my husband saw the rooftop pool and bar, he was sold. HOWEVER, the rooftop bar is only open on Saturdays and Sundays, something I did not know when I reserved a room for Wednesday through Saturday morning. The woman at the front desk couldn't even find the hours of the rooftop bar when I talked to her about it - she was very nice and had champagne delivered to us on our anniversary. The bartender could have cared less. She just shrugged and said 'Oh well, you can buy your drink here and take it up with you.' Not the point, lady....and I was disappointed in her total lack of interest. I have contacted the hotel since then, and they did make a SMALL adjustment to our bill, and they said the times ARE on their website. I haven't looked because I have no plans to ever stay there again. Too much money, too far from the beach, and their website isn't super clear, at least not to me and the woman at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has undergone some renovations and the lobby is still under remodel. The rooms were great. New and updated. The pool area is nice. Would recommend! Get a great rate on Priceline. Garage is a bit of a hike so you may want to valet park. $23-$26. Great location and you can walk across the street to lots of great restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very convenient hotel, especially to the aquarium or the Catalina Express. The pier area is really fun. Great walking along the water. Lots of chain-type restaurants.

Hotel Pros:
- Convenient location
- New, clean
- Cheap overnight parking--only $7!!
- Nice bathrooms
- Quiet rooms
- Room service was good and on time
- Room design was good. Very functional.

Hotel Cons:
- Really stinky cleanser used in the room--we had to air it out when we arrived
- View from our room was basically another hotel room and the roof
- The dark decor in the hallways with the weird 1/2 lamps sticking out of mirrors reminded me of the haunted house ride at Disneyland, but it's an aesthetic thing--not functional

Room Tip: Room 527 had an ugly view, but it was quiet My guess is a lot of rooms have great ocean views--requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.