We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Yes! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I feel so fortunate to have booked this through a discount website for an awesome rate. It's right across the street from the aquarium and a block from the convention center. It's small enough to feel quaint but modern and upscale like a top notch hotel should be.

The ample shower is beautifully done in striated marble. The bed is comfortable and the decor simple, with lots of clean lines and warm tones. There are some unique touches that make the decor curiously creative. I love the round mirror slightly tucked behind the headboard. It intentionally seems to remind me of watching the sunset descending over the water.

The sliding door to the bathroom is an efficient way to conserve space while giving the room an updated vibe. Although the room isn't much larger than most hotel rooms we've stayed in, the space is creatively arranged to give it the feeling of being a suite. There is a little sofa, the desk has its own little corner by the front door. The bed is around the corner from the front door of the room, designating its privacy. Someone thoughtfully designed this room and I like their thinking!

We were so thrilled, we booked an extra night. By the way, the wi-fi is included in the room price. Parking is only $7/day and everything you'd want to see is pretty much within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    178
    47
    12
    23
See reviews for
96
199
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As a Southern California local, I decided to book this hotel because I wanted to feel special and spend the evening at a reputable hotel with great reviews for the night before my graduation from law school (the ceremony was at the Long Beach Performing Arts Center). There were certainly other great hotel choices in the area that were less expensive -- but I figured, you only graduate from law school once, might as well splurge a little bit. HUGE MISTAKE.

First of all, you walk into the lobby and you are suddenly transported from sunny and beautiful Long Beach into a dark and seemingly desolate lobby. The rooms are TINY and the carpet is old and smells musky. Worst of all, I laid down in bed and looked at the nightstand and to my absolute HORROR, was an egregious amount of dirt and dust build up behind the nightstand and tangled up in the wires. I had never seen anything so gross at a hotel EVER (and I have stayed at a LOT of hotels, both luxury and budget). I have dust allergies so I immediately went down to the front desk to ask to be switched to a different room. However, allergies or no allergies NO PERSON SHOULD SLEEP WITH THEIR FACE SO CLOSE TO THAT MUCH DUST. It was disgusting and probably not in compliance with health and safety codes.

Unfortunately, one of the front desk staffers slipped up and told me "I know this probably won't make you feel any better, but we have been emailing with a professional cleaning company to have the problem cleaned up." NO, this does not make me feel any better because this means that you had knowledge of the problem, and are still renting these rooms out to patrons anyway despite the filth!!

The only saving grace for this hotel was the staff. The manager on duty was very polite and understanding and tried to accommodate us as best as he could and eventually put us in a suite with a king bed and pull out. Disappointing because two of us had to sleep on a sleeper sofa the night before law school graduation after paying a ton for this room. Even more disappointing because we opened the sleeper sofa only to find that the sheets had not been changed and it was full of MOLDY food. Disgusting. The only reason I did not complain even further was because at this point it was almost midnight and I needed to be awake at 6am the next morning to go to my commencement ceremony.

The Additionally, one of the maintenance staffers ( I wish I could remember his name), was SUPER helpful. He came up to our initial room in an attempt to vacuum the mess behind the nightstand (which we determined couldn't be done with a regular vacuum) and ALSO brought us clean sheets and extra pillows and blankets and was incredibly attentive and apologetic about the situation.

I think the Hotel Maya is a better value, cleaner and far more beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed early May before taking a cruise the next day. Long Beach itself is lovely and very clean. Hotel room spacious and had a comfy bed with excellent bathroom, no balcony. Breakfast was inclusive of the room rate which was lovely, great choice on the menu and all freshly cooked, no horrible buffet stuff. Waitress was very polite and efficient along with the check in desk staff. Nice swimming pool to have a relax. Not much else to report given that it was only an overnight stay. Would stay at this hotel again if cruising from LA or in area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Hyatt at The Pike offers good value. There are several restaurants just adjacent and the restaurant row on Pine Street is just 5-10 minutes walk away. It is a convenient hotel to stay at if you are attending an event at the Long Beach Convention Centre. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the free wifi is a bonus. Despite being in an entertainment spot, there was little street noise, even at the third floor.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. I had parcels delivered to the hotel and they were kept for me for my arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back to avoid street noise, unfortunately these rooms have no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

we chose this hotel on a recommendation and it didn't disappoint. Love the location to the shoreline and its closest to the restaurants and night life. the pool on the rooftop was a bonus, quiet as we were one of the few people using it.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the car park and wouldn't book that side of the hotel again, very noisy at...
See more room tips
Green Features: the front desk are friendly and helpful, with lots of recommendations .
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at Hyatt The Pike for 3 nights before traveling to Las Vegas. Each morning we had breakfast in the restaurant, and Megan was our server. Megan was personal and engaging, and helped us figure out fun things to do during our 3 days in town. The other employees I encountered were all polite and professional as well. The room was very clean and modern. I would suggest this hotel to anyone staying in Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is very sleek and modern and feels like a boutique property.
The rooms are well laid out and comfortable. The bed and linens are cozy.
The tv is in a swiveling cabinet, so you may watch tv whilst sitting in the sofa or in bed.
Room service was very good and staff are friendly.
The pool on the roof is my favorite part. On a sunny day you can enjoy the sun, order drinks, and relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.