We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Surf Package
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent one night here and we were very happy. The room was very nice, clean, the bed was very comfortable and all the ammendities provided were wonderful. The service was great too. We would definately stay here again! The only negative is that breakfast was not included but we did eat at there restaurant and the food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    161
    38
    12
    21
See reviews for
84
184
34
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying here at the moment (March 2014). I had to book in two days earlier than planned, hotel was very accommodating, friendly counter staff, clean good size rooms, breakfast burrito was a great filling start to the day. Nothing that I have observed so far would put me off recommending this hotel if you are in this area.

Walking distance to the conference centre, and close to many restaurants, parking available for a few dollars a day.

If I had one minor thing, the beds are too soft, but my colleague commented on how good the beds were, so horses for courses.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I came in primarily for the LA marathon, checked in after driving through LA traffic and had a minor fender bender, Megan was super nice and checked me in, Next thing I know, when I came back to room, she left a nice cheese plate and wine for me, It was super sweet and I didn't expect it, The whole time I was there, all of the staff were great, from printing my boarding pass, to providing local hiking directions to holding my luggage because I had a late flight, they even extended my check out time, best customer service I've experienced, thank you for everything! You all made my experience from stressful to memorable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hyatt Pike is a VERY NICE HOTEL conveniently located near the convention center and within walking distance of several restaurants. The two rooms we reserved were meticulously clean and upon our arrival, the front desk staff was helpful and check-in was an easy process. Every hotel employee we met was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was delicious, and we relaxed at the end of the day listening to the live entertainment in the lounge. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Hotel is more of a "Boutique Hotel". We were greeted with a very professional and kind front desk receptionist named Jason. He gave us a suite on the 7th floor - which is the top floor with a harbor view - beautiful! The two elevators are operated by recognizing your room key for security which is awesome! They greeted my son with a complimentary toy which he got to choose - he loved that!

The hallways and room are extremely modern and clean. The suite was perfect in every way. The living room gave our son an opportunity to play in his own space. The desk, refrigerator, coffee/tea machine and all amenities were provided. We called for a toothbrush kit, and it arrived in 2 minutes. Watch out with kids with the stocked fridge and bar because they have sensors. The bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, soap and bath wash which was of good quality (not Portico Hyatt usual brand). The bed was extremely soft so I did have a sore back. We use very firm mattresses so we did not like the bed at all. The bathroom was pristine and very modern with its rain shower and telephone option style shower, however since there is no door that closes the shower - if you step away from the warm water you will freeze!!! Water can also splash around onto the tiles outside the shower if you are not careful. Basically it is a walk in shoer that just has a half covered glass fixed wall from the faucet to the mid mark of the shower - not practical at all. But no big deal :)) There was only one sink which was OK with us. The flat screen TV swings around from the living room to the bedroom, so you cannot use the TV in both rooms at once of course - which was OK too for us. They had many kid friendly channels (Disney, Cartoon Network, PBS & another one - forgot!) There is a safe that will fit large size portable electronics and laptops no problem. There are not too many drawers for clothes, so pack light!

The pool is actually very nice and simple. It is located on the roof (8th floor) again only accessible via room key in the elevator. The pool water was warm. They had plenty of towels and cucumber infused water by the pool. There are two cabanas which can be used at no charge. The view from the pool is outstanding! We could see all of Long Beach all around us - 360 degree view. There was no staff to bother us up there - do not expect service there. The pool bathrooms are extremely clean and large. There is a very nice and clean gym by the lobby on the First Floor that provides water, towels, chilled towels in a refrigerator and green apples. The equipment is new and well kept. The lobby is clean. We never used the restaurants since we were walking distance to everything around!!! We walked to the Aquarium, Shoreline Village, the Beach and all Restaurants around! We ventured up Pine Street as well at night. We never had to pull our car out of the Pike parking lot! Parking is $7 for all day and one night which is just billed to your room. You just tell them about it and show your ticket from there. The internet is complimentary, but was extremely slow and spotty in our suite. So we tethered from my husband's cell phone.

We had a beautiful experience at the Hyatt at The Pike and would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Pike for 3 nights.
Hotel is clean and comfortable.
We booked two rooms.
One room had to be changed since it was across from the electrical room and
We were not able to sleep due to the noise coming out from there. Change was granted- no problem with that.

Last day when checking out my dad wasn't able to find the parking ticket.
We asked the front desk for some help to contact someone at the parking lot- one of the ladies there said that she needed to charge us again in order to give us a pass to get out. We explained we were checking out and needed the car.

After an hour trying to get in contract with someone at the parking lot and front desk hotel- we talked to Carla a front desk agent who could understand the situation and noticed that we had already paid for 3 nights parking and all we needed was a card to get the car out of there.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

As a business traveler, I spent 3 nights at this property. The room was exceptionally clean and the overall feel of the property was just as good. The front desk helped me get my rate adjusted back to per-diem rate which saved me out of pocket expenses which was VERY appreciated. They could have gouged me but did the right thing. Way to go HYATT! The property is steps from dining and other entertainment which made it nice after long work days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.