We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, location and value. Can't go wrong with this hotel. There is plenty to do in the area and the staff go out of their way to make it a gpleasant stay for you. The price was very reasonable and it is a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    178
    47
    12
    23
See reviews for
96
199
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night. It was a bit slow to check in but after that, it was a good experience.

The rooms were quiet and exceptionally clean. Parking is adjacent to the hotel for $7.

Long Beach has improved greatly and this hotel is a good addition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I am not gonna lie.... I always look for the best deals but the highest rated hotels and the best locations for my trips. This hotel checks all these boxes and than some. Very nice atmosphere, nice employees, clean, modern, quiet. Can park right in front for registration, cucumber water at front desk, card activated elevator, huge bathroom with double sink, spacious room with crazy comfy bed, free wifi, next door parking garage ($7). We loved it! We'll be back here for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff was great, happy, and friendly. Room was tastefully appointed and laid out bathroom was small but elegant. Shower and no tub was a great idea. Made room have more usable space.

Parking is high as is the food and beverage. Food was good, but not great. About 20% higher priced than I thought it should be.

All in all a very nice stay and a delightful staff and hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days for business at the nearby Convention Center. It was very quiet and relaxing, much smaller than your typical Hyatt. The rooms are very modern and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. It was set back a couple of blocks from the main street, so there was very little traffic nearby, but it was a short 2 block walk to the Convention Center, the Harbor, and numerous restaurants. The area was not very busy while I was there, but maybe it is busier on the weekends. Great place to walk around. I would definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a charming hotel near some Long Beach attractions. It's smaller than the other Hyatt's I've stayed at and it felt welcoming. The corridors on the room floors are winding, it breaks up the monotony of straight halls.

The room was comfortable with the TV on a swivel that separated the bedroom from the living room. The highlight of the room was definitely the bathroom with its walk in shower. 2 different shower water choices and plenty of room to move around, it was luxurious.

I only had the evenings to explore the area and felt perfectly safe walking around alone. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well as a few entertainment venues. If I ever find myself in Long Beach again this is the only hotel I'd consider staying in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Hyatt Pike Long Beach was a pleasant surprise. Modern, clean, and comfortable. Staff was helpful, friendly and personable. Initially I was put in a room over the air conditioning units on the third floor and due to my breathing problems asked to be moved. They cheerfully complied and I was put in a wonderful spot. Breakfast was good too. Only there for one quick night, would stay there again. My stay was mid-week. Many restaurants closed. The Pike area appears very depressed by the economy. Empty retail and commercial over 60%. Sad really.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms floor 3 and up are right over about 10 air conditioning units, go for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.