We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, all the necessary comfort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Save Saved
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Surf Package
Ranked #2 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, all the necessary comfort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been here a couple of times on business. The rooms are spacious and have "character" which is nice. The huge walk-in rainfall shower is a pretty nice touch also. The restaurant doesn't have a wide variety but the food is pretty nice and the staff are friendly and accommodating and they have a car service and other extra services when requested.
The only down-side I would say is a somewhat loud heater / air conditioner and sometimes you don't have a choice but to turn it on.
However, I would without a doubt stay here again!

Room Tip: The larger king rooms with the walk-in shower are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    136
    30
    9
    18
See reviews for
70
166
28
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights prior to our Princess Cruise. The hotel was fantastic the bed was so comfortable had a great sleep, with a large walk in shower. The staff were friendly and extra helpful, and soon knew what we liked to drink in the bar & breakfast restaurant.

The room was spacious, clean & had fabulous views. Some may find that there is not adequate storage space for clothing, for our 2 night stay it was fine. But we did struggle to hang things in the wardrobe due to items stored in there. We had to ask for extra cream for the coffee machine, but this was immediately put in our room. Although, we went up to the roof terrace we didn't stay, due to the bar not being open, suspect this is only open in summer months. But it had fabulous views, including the Queen Mary.

The hotel is well situated, although was surprised on walking to Walmarts, seeing curfew signs on our way. We didn't encounter any trouble though.

We walked along the shore front, and around shoreline village. My only complaint (not to do with the hotel) was that nothing opened until 11am. So we were given no option other than have breakfast at the hotel, which we found served a great breakfast. We found various venues to eat during the day & evening, including an Irish Bar, around the corner. The area in general does not appear to get busy until later in the day. The aquarium is opposite the hotel, and a free shuttle bus runs to the Queen Mary from there.

We enjoyed our stay here & cannot find any fault with this hotel. The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to San Pedro Cruise port on our last day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel a LOT for business and this was once of the most relaxing and comfortable hotels I have every stayed at! It had a boutique feel to it, huge rooms, amazing bed (wish I had it at home!), superb staff service, especially from Niesha who checked me in and was very welcoming. Very nice quaint bar, perfect to have a cocktail & relax in after a long work day. Location is great for many Long Beach activities and lots of reasonable restaurants in close proximity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel sits within walking distance to the rainbow harbor, the Aquarium of the pacific, many restaurants and not far from many of the other sites in Long Beach. The rooms are comfortable, with great beds, and large bathrooms. The staff was ho-hum except the front desk manager, Dan, who was excellent. The roof-top pool was nice, but the water was a bit chilly. a hot-tub would be a great addition. The lobby bar was pricey and bartender was awkward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I shall put off explaining the title for a moment because there are so many wonderful things about this hotel. First, our check in was extremely late as we got stuck in traffic, but the staff was wonderful! They checked us in, got us up to our room and WOW! This hotel room was like we were in the future! What wonderful decor! The room was spotless, great views, and awesome showers. I can say that the best feature of this hotel is why I titled it. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! It was like sleeping on a cloud! AMAZING! I wish I had time to explore the area as well as the hotel more, but my trip was a little off on times due to traffic. Please viewers, if you get a chance, stay here, you will not regret it! Did I mention the pricing was fabulous?? It was worth twice what I paid! Thank you Hyatt at the Pike! <3

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Over the past year I started staying here when attending conventions at the Long Beach Center (which I do three times a year) as a quite alternative to the larger and busier hotels in the areas. The location is fantastic, especially for a tourist, and the quality of the hotel is excellent. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, a bit modern but still with a warm touch. The bathroom we had was large and while it didn't have a bathtub, it did feature an over-sized rain fall shower that was great! As a Hyatt Diamond member this hotel has more limited facilities (no Regency Club) and services than most Hyatts I stay at. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a tourist, but less so for a business traveler as their business facilities are, in my opinion, lacking and substandard (can't even plug in anything) and it is located in an area that had a very cold draft. I always find the service in this hotel to be outstanding!

Room Tip: I always get a room in the back where I'm told it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for one night in February and was pleasently surprised. I have to admit that I'm not a big fan of the darkish design of the W Hotels but the Hyatt is decorated in a similar style and looks pretty good.
The room and all the other facilities are very well layed out and clean. The bar and the restaurant were quiet the night I stayed there but there are a number of restaurants right beside the hotel (including a busy Hooters with their irritating staff dress code). Breakfast was excellent.
The roof top pool and bar looked great on the foto but it was too cold to use this facility.
The staff were very friendly and the check out fast and efficient.
Overall the hotel offered great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.