We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast at Andaz
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great times for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here two different times now and it is a top notch hotel. Seems a little pricer in the lounge now that it is run by the Hyatt though. $7 for a bottled beer was a bit out of my price range. Luckily there are a couple close restaurants nearby that have happy hours.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    203
    56
    14
    25
See reviews for
113
221
42
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel two weeks in a row for work. The first week, I had a very good room. Although the view was nothing to write home about (inner courtyard and AC units), the room had modern fixtures, all looking quite new. Though rather small, the room had a very comfortable king size bed, sofa, two armchairs and desk. I loved that there were outlets everywhere; it's a thoughtful touch that most hotels miss and much needed when you want to sit in bed and do some work on your laptop. The bathroom was most impressive, with a huge walk-in marble shower with both a rain head and a handheld showerhead, Plus a great double sink and vanity with plenty of room for toiletries. All, in all, it was quite good, as hotel rooms go.

That said, there were a few minor quibbles during the week. The biggest being the lack of staffing. I get it that the hotel was not terribly full and management probably wants to save money, but I think they'd gone too far. In particular, I went to the restaurant one night and there was one employee there. She was not only the hostess, she was the waitress and doing the room service orders, as well (for all I know, she may have been the cook, as well!). I waited a good ten minutes or more to be seated with absolutely no one in sight to even acknowledge my presence. After being seated (and I was the only patron in the restaurant) she would vanish for long periods while she ran orders up to the different floors. On another morning, when I wanted to order room service, there was no one to take the order so it rolled to the front desk, who transferred it back to the empty restaurant, where it promptly rolled back to the front desk again as no one was there. At that point, rather than take the order, which would have been easy enough, I was told someone would call me back to take my order, which took another 20 minutes. Housekeeping was also hit or miss. The room was clean enough, but one day the trash wasn't emptied, another the washcloths weren't replaced. One of my colleagues had her toiletries replaced each day, mine never were. You get the drift.

The other thing, which isn't really the hotel's fault, but an important thing to consider, is that the hotel is located in what appears to be a newer area of the downtown called The Pike, which has restaurants and a few shops. Perhaps if there's a convention in town, it's a lively area, but for the two weeks that I was there, it was eerily desolate pretty much all the time. I'm not sure how anything stays in business. If you're a woman alone, you don't want to be walking around here after dark. It's creepy.

The second week of my stay was not as good. Although I paid a higher rate than I had the previous week, the room could not begin to compare. Tiny doesn't begin to describe it; it was easily half the size of the room I'd had before (and that room wasn't all that big). It was one of those rooms that fit the bed and a small desk, without just enough room to walk around the bed and not a heck of a lot more. Even the bathroom was half the size. I might have understood if the hotel had been full and that's all that was available, but it was far from it. I barely passed another soul the entire time I was there. To be fair, the room was clean and the furnishings were fine and if I hadn't had a better room the previous week, I probably wouldn't have minded it as much. But when you know that much better accommodations are available (and that you'd had them at a lower rate), it suffers badly by comparison. That room should have cost much less than what I'd paid the previous week.

All in all, with better staffing and more attention paid to the quality of the rooms given to guests, I might have given the place four stars. I can't say that I would never stay here again, but I would definitely check out other options before making a decision.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the courtyard; they're tiny and the view is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

no complaints, the staff were friendly, check in was efficient. Parking charge was reasonable compared to some of the other hotels we stayed on this trip. The room was fine, clean and a good base for what we wanted to do in the area. Had some noise from next door with loud TV but it was dealt with quickly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was an excellent hotel. The Concierge Desk was extremely helpful and friendly. We found the hotel conveniently located with excellent directions provided for our excursions. The hotel was beautiful, clean and had VERY fast elevators! Although not on a sandy beach, it is close to the water. The Queen Mary, theaters, small shops, a marina, and many restaurants were close by also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I were once again very pleased with our stay here . . . if you are working at the Long Beach Convention Center and want to say at a hotel that has more of a boutique feel to it . . . this is for you! Exactly the kind of quality one would expect from an upper-end Hyatt hotel . . . plus the prices relative to other hotels in the area, including the Hyatt Regency, are very competitive.
The walks to many of the local attractions are very short and only minutes away, and there are a lot of good restaurants in the area. Cannot wait to come bank!

Room Tip: join the Hyatt gold program
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have never stayed in any hotel before where I thought the bed was better than mine! It was ridiculously comfortable! I never wanted to get out of it! I liked everything about tihis hotel. The location is fab. A couple of minutes walk over a pedestrian bridge to all the restauants and aquarium. Breakfast was extra but very nice - the berries with granola and yoghurt was huge - you won't need anything else. The roof top pool was nice with a smashing view over Long Beach. There is a convenient car park next door which was cheap by Californian standards. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel or staying there again.

Room Tip: Go for the 'stand by' upgrade for the extra $9. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Jenni was our server at Bay Street Kitchen She was so amazing! She took care of every us from the time we came in to the time we left. She made us feel so comfortable and recommended some delicious breakfast items! I would definitely go back to the pike and her again! My husband and I were so amazed by what a charming girl she is! We've been there a few times and this was definitely best experience at the pike and the Bay Street Kitchen! Can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#11 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.