We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk to Shoreline Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt The Pike Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Easy walk to Shoreline Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice location, excellent room, easy walk to the beach, near queen Mary. You can see Queen Mary from hotel. Room rate is reasonable. We stayed on 7th floor, room 707....$186 a night. We did not have any problem. We enjoyed every moment we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    178
    47
    12
    23
See reviews for
96
199
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel is very new & modern; my family really liked the color scheme of the hotel dark earth tone colors with modern silver accents that went well with the dark stained wood theme throughout the hotel.
- The hallways are a little dim due to low voltage lighting throughout the hotel, which we liked, it gave a feeling of ambiance/atmosphere as my wife referred to as a “spa like feel” (however you can’t really tell if things are clean due to the low light).
- Our room was quite large with a good sized desk & seating area to watch TV.
- The TV in the room occupies a portion of the dividing wall between the bed & seating area & rotates 360 degree, very cool!!!
- The door to the bathroom had a “ship board” feel to it as it slid closed on a track & had a porthole window to the bathroom. The Bathroom is very clean & inviting with a “spa type feel” to it with all the stone work, linens, & “rain shower”.
- There is a unique poem written on the wall dividing the bed from the seating area that can only be read by reading it through the mirror over the bed, also very cool & unique!!
- Our views of the harbor & Queen Mary was awesome.
- The restaurant down stairs was clean, inviting, convent & had very courteous staff that gave us a map and directions to surrounding sights.
- The Pool on the roof was great with priceless views, full bar & restaurant food available, the seating was comfy & well situated around the pool, wish they had a hot tub though.
- The hotel location was perfectly situated near the aquarium, harbor, restaurants, & easy parking.
- The only Con that I can think of is that some of the dark wood stain throughout the hotel needed a little touch up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was a beautiful room with wonderful sheets. There were just minor details like the sink counter had some coffee stains, but everything else was very well kept. I only stayed for one night to attend a wedding. The location is great for someone who wants to visit Longbeach. Some may not know but a parking pass is given upon check in, which ends up being $7 a night versus $20 something at the garage.

I think the main thing I didn't like is the drunk people loitering in the parking lot at night. It was kind of a drag driving out of there when they are in the middle of the parking lot or standing in a large group near the elevator and sometimes even near cars. LB isn't scary to me since I lived in LA, but I get worried when I see drunk people standing near my car at 2am.

It would be great if hotel personnel would make sure there aren't any loitering around the hotel area, even better if they could monitor the parking structure, but I could understand how that's out of their control.

Overall, I really liked the hotel. The showers and comfortable sheets were my pluses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights the room was immaculate. The hotel is located near restaurants, the acquarium and the movie theatre among other sites. We were upgraded upon check in with out requesting it. Would definitely come back.

My only complaint was when we were checking out I had to call the front desk twice to have our luggage picked up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great hotel.
Rooms were very comfortable, although the bed was a little soft for me. The rooftop pool area is great, superb views across Long Beach, also has a good gym. The bar did seem to close a little erly, last orders around 2245, but there are plenty of bars and resturants in easy walking distance around - plenty of choice, and may i now take the oppertunity to recomment the Yard House !! Go find out for yourself...
This is amongst the nicest hotels i have stayed in...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you prefer Kimpton style properties, the Hyatt The Pike is close. Week-long stay for conference. King suite was very comfortable with modern amenities, large walk in shower. Room on outside back corner (facing Seaside Way) was quiet. Not a full fridge, but electronic mini-bar with a small shelf for personal use. Ice on floors 3/5/7 and Coke machines just outside along Bay Street (including credit card reader). Easy in/out parking at Pike Garage ($7/day, get ticket from front desk). Wi-Fi easy to log on and very stable. AC easily adjustable and really works for those who like it cold.

Property is extremely convenient to Long Beach Convention Center, restaurants, and public transit. Friendly and helpful service from everyone. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Long Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Went down to Long Beach for a wedding and this hotel we stayed at because of the central location. I was a bit skeptical at first as I'm used to staying at very large hotels, but this one was a smaller boutique hotel. Anyway, the rooms were modern, clean and oh so spacious. For some reason we were upgraded to a Grand King and the room not only had the bedroom, but another area with a desk and couch and ample seating for people to congregate in our room. It was all very light and airy. The bathroom was large enough for 2 people to use it at the same time and not run into each other and the shower was enormous. The hotel is located right in the heart of the best areas in Long Beach, with ample restaurants within a short walking distance, the aquarium, the Queen Mary, etc. I would definitely go back there again. The only thing we did not like was the restaurant. The food was sort of below average and the prices were not. With all the other wonderful places to eat nearby, skip the restaurant and go to The Yard House or the Omlette Inn, both great!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a few people get a grand king room so that you have a nice sitting area f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt The Pike Long Beach

Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt The Pike Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.