We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Not Bad Value, but lots of noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Plaza Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2010 E. Ocean Blvd., Long Beach, CA 90803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Not Bad Value, but lots of noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I booked this online for my first couple of nights in Long Beach, my room was at the front opposite reception and the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however there was a lot of noise at night and early in the morning. There was no air con in the room. I moved to a nicer hotel with air con that was cheaper after my first 2 days.

Overall, it was not a bad experience except for the noise, that may not have affected other rooms.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are noisy. No air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    9
    13
    29
See reviews for
17
19
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LongBeach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

was here for conference, was within walking distance Long Beach Convention Center however, bathroom and kitchen floor dirty and had some slippery filth on them so was afraid to walk barefoot. Toilet seat dirty, toilet tank cover not right size, tank square, cover round and smaller than tank (see photo), toilet handle had to hold to flush, shower was height of little person (see image) and I'm petite plus dripped continuously after shutoff. kitchen equipped with micro, fridge and stove but no utensils, pans (except teapot) no dishes etc., staff personable and friendly but accomodation not as described or as expected, bedroom television remote missing, 3 doors to this room but only one usable, and that one tricky (my experience and that of management), gaps between doors and floor, windows won't open, doors stick, won't close or open (same for kitchen cupboards/cabinets). distance to food (restaurant and grocery) quite a walk. Served the purpose for 4 days but had I known, would have paid more to stay elsewhere. Ocean view was actually parking lot but beach beyond. Only window that opens is right next to pool hence noisy, no AC, heater is small wall unit in main entry room

Room Tip: stay away from room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Beach Plaza is actually a motel. It is not elegant or smart but it is clean and basic and has a small pool.
Having said that, it enjoys a great position right above the beach; is only a stroll from downtown or a short ride on the bus that stops right outside. Bixby Park is right across the street where many families picnic and socialise. The beach is just down a private staircase where you can stroll, jog, or cycle on dedicated pathways.
I don't know where Debbie1153 stayed but it does not describe any of the rooms I have stayed in on my many stops there. I have been using this place for years when passing through Long Beach. It has way more character than the cookie cutter hotels down town. If you want everything shiny and new, go stay somewhere else, down town maybe, and pay a LOT more.
As far as I am concerned if the bed is clean and comfortable and there's plenty of hot water in a clean shower - I'm happy. (Actually, the carpets are clean as you can expect when the rooms open to open air rather than a corridor.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to avoid the street noise if that bothers you. It will cost a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I don't know who is sending in glowing reviews of this place. People who are friends of the staff or owner? It is a horrible, dirty place to stay. Cigarette burns in the bedspread, holes in the walls, Filthy carpet, rickety beds, lots of mold in the shower and bathroom. Gaps around the entry door. Dirty and dingy. Really disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It's filthy and run-down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Made my family feel as if we were at home. Has a full kitchen, and is ran great. It was offered daily maid service and fresh linens and towels. Had a danish in office daily and they even provide coffee and a coffee maker. They provided dishes and cooking utensils if you like to cook. Pool was great and easy access to beach. Manager is great. I love this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguzco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

First things first. The staff were great. I arrived well ahead of the normal check-in time but they were glad to accomodate me. When I found that my room was actually an apartment and asked for a smaller room, they were happy to help (although a bit bewildered by the request).

The rooms leave something to be desired. How much, it seems, depends upon which room you get. My first room was huge and in the back, away from traffic, but frankly felt a bit dingy. The television was located in the living room, with a single couch that's seen much better days. (I like to watch from bed before going to sleep, so didn't care for that arrangement.) My second room was much cleaner and better looking, with the standard def TV located where I could watch from bed. This room was very bright and very clean. Lots of windows - maybe too many for some, since it's right on the sidewalk fronting E. Ocean Blvd. As one would expect from its location, there was quite a bit of noise all day and well into the night. Street noise doesn't bother me much, so it wasn't a problem for me. My wife, a light and fitful sleeper to begin with, likely would not have slept throught the night.

Location? Hard to question if you like a view of the ocean from Long Beach. (If you've been there, you know what I mean. If you haven't, Google map the area.)

Breakfast? Nothing to get excited about, unless you like pre-packaged Danish and coffee from an airpot. (Count me in!) If all you want is a bite to start the day, it will do. If you want more, plan on eating elsewhere.

Didn't try the pool.

Wireless internet access was fine. I'm told there are three routers, though only one was accessible from my room. Speed and connection strength were both adequate to my needs (email, Facebook, etc.)

It's convenient to downtown, on a bus route and there are plenty of restaurants in the area if you go a bit to the north to Broadway, 4th St. and 7th St., whether you're looking for a coffee shop, Latin American or American food.

You can do better in terms of condition, cleanliness and food for the same or just a little bit more money. But if you're looking for an old-school motel-on-the-beach experience and are going to be doing business in the area, it's worth considering.

Room Tip: Call and ask about room locations. Room 107, for example, is right on a busy street. Room 119, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved stayin @beach plaza hotel. Im plannin on goin back in a few months.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 2010 E. Ocean Blvd., Long Beach, CA 90803
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Long
Hotel Beach Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.