We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience at The Varden--A Boutique Hotel in Long Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Varden Hotel to your Saves list
The Varden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anacortes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience at The Varden--A Boutique Hotel in Long Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, offering personal assistance. My room was trendy, elegant and very clean. I chose the hotel based on cost and proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center--it was definitely the best choice! Wine tasting and appetizers were offered every evening. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    145
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
37
234
131
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at this boutique hotel immensely. Traveling with a group of colleagues can be trying especially if someone is not having a good experience. The owners and staff at The Varden went out of their way to make all 25 of us feel right at home. Everyone had a good experience. The rooms, although small, are well designed and have all the amenities needed for a short or longer stay. I especially enjoyed the common room in the lobby where we could all gather for breakfast or an evening drink before dinner. I can honestly say all my needs were anticipated and met by a group of individuals who treat you like a valued friend who happen to be houseguest. Although this was my first time with The Varden, other guests I met were long time customers who seem to come back again and again. The location was great, just a couple of blocks from shopping and dining, but not too close for noise to be a factor. I slept with my windows open and enjoyed it. I will be back to take advantage of the excellent rates and service provided. What a great find!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

What a wonderful surprise from the everyday chain hotels. While the room/bathroom was slightly smaller than what I may be used to....I usually pack a lot and like to spread out, but the cleanliness, the superior customer service including a wondeful staff, the handson management team and most importantly Larry and Charls, co-owner, of this fantastic boutique hotel, made our stay fabulous, phenomenal and unforgettable. What other hotel would remember you by your name and make sure that all your needs are met to make your stay special !! Not only will I come back, I am recommending this hotel to everyone.
The afternoon wine and the morning coffee and pastry selection is pretty good as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Yes, we stayed at The Varden again this year, my friends and I. There is a reason this is the #1 hotel in Long Beach, actually two reasons, in the names of Larry and Charles! We feel like we are staying with friends when we are there. Larry even reminded me to take our tickets to the conference with us (which I had left in the room, silly me). The rooms are still clean, crisp, comfortable and just the right size. Instead of sharing a room elsewhere, we each get our own room. Larry, Larry, Larry....Charles, Charles, Charles....you guys are the best!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

A crew of 25 of my collegues swept in and took over The Varden for the 3 day California Womens Conference. The owner and staff of the Varden were very professional and extremey helpful with all of the extra requests and needs that 25 women can bring with them. They friendly and personal service offered at The Varden truely set it apart from any other hotel. Rooms are typical of the European boutique style and are very clean. The bed was even better than any of the ones I have slept in at the Ritz Carlton too!! I plan on returning for a leisure vacation soon, as I didnt have enough time to do everything I wanted to do.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Varden is a beautifully redone historical building. It has all the modern amenities anyone would want. Its location is perfect for an evening stroll to dinner to the pier or to any local hang outs. The shopping near by is wonderful too. Every dinning suggestion the staff or owner Larry made was perfect! It was as if they knew my taste. The air conditioning units in each room are so quiet it gives for a very peaceful sleep. The shower has great pressure, I wish the shower head was a bit lower so I could adjust it. That's the only bad thing i can say, well take it from someone who's 5'2.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Exceptionally wonderful staff. Excellent service.. Very comfortable beds.. ..Very clean...Nice continental breakfast every morning, and wine tasting in the evening!! I had a wonderful 4 night stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Address: 335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Varden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.