We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Queen Still Quite Grand !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
800-437-2934
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 41 attractions in Long Beach
Type: Ships, History Museums, Museums, Religious Sites
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This elegant luxury liner, permanently docked on Long Beach since its last crossing in 1967, features a hotel, museum, restaurants, Art Deco salons for private parties, a wedding chapel and tours.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The Old Queen Still Quite Grand !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Take the Tour and check out this Legend, its so Grand even from a distance !
Leave at least 2-3 hours or more to visit, and it will bring you back to the good old days
of sea voyage. DO NOT Forget you camera, even if you do not board and take the tour,
you can park and take pictures up close.
you can also visit a Soviet era Sub next to the Queen, sub tickets extra.

The city of Long Beach is Beautiful, lots of places to eat in ALL Price range close by.
Plenty of things to do with in walking distance, starting on Ocean ave,
do not miss this area, 30 min to LAX, Close enough to drive to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and all so california Attractions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    318
    166
    83
    81
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If you like cruise ships it's worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Interesting to see how people cruised 50-plus years ago. It took me about an hour to go through the ship - but I'm fast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bringing History to Life: My Teen Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We didn't want to leave! We were drawn in by the beauty, magnitude, accessibility and, of course the ghosts. My 13 year old loved the ship. We spent the day on board poking all around the ship from stem to stern (uh, yeah, I don't think that's right). Anyway, from the top to the bottom and everything in between - and I'm sure some places we were supposed to go.

We did participate in the haunted tours - two of them - and they were great. One was for fun but the other had history and made the Queen Mary come alive. The shopping area is beautiful and the wood and glass and details are so amazing. We ended up staying for a light, late dinner and finally tore ourselves away.

I don't think I have ever climbed so many stairs - so plan accordingly - but it was so worth it. It's one of the best memories of our trip.

Tips: leave yourself plenty of time to just sit and take in the sites. Imagine being a passenger so many years ago. Look at some of the books they have on board to learn more about everything the Queen has been through. I spent a lot of time post-trip reading about her history. Now I want to go back - so a quick read before will likely make your visit even better.

Have fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Iconic Must-See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great attraction whether you're taking the self-guided tour or one of the many guided tours. The ghost and legends tour is a family friendly, short and quirky tour which is included in most admissions. Plenty of great photo ops as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Ship!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I wanted to visit the Queen Mary on our last visit to CA, but we ran out of time. This time I was determined to see this amazing ship. You can ask for a free audio tour (which we found about from another visitor) or you can explore the ship on your own. Be sure to visit the engine room way down below the deck. We did The Ghosts & Legends Tour, which is definitely hokey, but got us into seeing the supposedly haunted swimming pool, which was fun. Don't bring young kids on the tour, since it does have loud noises and scary effects. There's a Starbucks on board, and you're allowed to bring your beverage on The Ghosts & Legends Tour, and while touring the ship. This ship is a must see if you're in Long Beach!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Mary also viewed

 

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list