We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a waste of time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
800-437-2934
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 41 attractions in Long Beach
Type: Ships, History Museums, Museums, Religious Sites
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This elegant luxury liner, permanently docked on Long Beach since its last crossing in 1967, features a hotel, museum, restaurants, Art Deco salons for private parties, a wedding chapel and tours.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“a waste of time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overpriced at $25 a person. One basically just wandered around aimlessly on the ship until one got tired of wandering. At that price, at least a guided tour would have been appropriate.
It explained why there were only about 10-15 tourist on the whole ship while I was there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    318
    166
    83
    80
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's past it's time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the price, it just wasn't worth the effort. The location is okay and not bad if you are leaving or coming back from a cruise. For a "one time shot" it is probably worth it, but if you are a repeat visitor like I was then it's just not worth the second trip

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We traveled down to Long Beach to see the Queen Mary hoping to see some of that wonderful tradition of the golden age of travel. What a shame to find that this grand old lady of the oceans seems to be being neglected and slowly deteriorating to a point where i believe soon it will not be retrievable.

I found it shocking to see that shops selling tacky ornaments and generally rubbish items that I think everyone could live without had been allowed into the grand lobby.

The cafe's seemed unwholesome and the swarms of flies all over the boat is deeply concerning as to its cleanliness

We had hoped that we could have experienced seeing in some of the grand rooms but on the whole none of these were open for public view. Not even a glimpse in any cabins only some mock ups of cabins at the back of the boat.

I am afraid that the City of Long Beach is doing this attraction no favours at all.

I only hope that they can recover this wonderful piece of maritime history before it is too late.

To add insult to this then paying $15 to park the car for less than 3 hours did not help.

Generally felt ripped off and feel that the amount of money to visit this attraction is not being used to maintain the boat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
162 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Princess Diana Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I absolutely loved this exhibit on the Queen Mary! I have slept on and toured the ship twice, but went again for this very special exhibit. It's so much more than just the Princess Diana Exhibit since they have handwritten letters by Queen Mary, the Queen Mum, Queen Elizabeth, Princess Diana, and Charles, George VI (King's Speech), Philip. To list a few of the things on display, there are: many newspapers with stories beginning with Queen Mary and King George V, through Queen Elizabeth's parents, the bombing of Buckingham Palace, Elizabeth's reign, wedding of Diana and Chas, birth of the princes, their split, Wm and Kate's wedding. There are dishes from the Royal Yacht, a rare letter by Princess Margaret, many beautiful Royal Worchester porcelain figurines of the royal women (from Queen Victoria to the present), wedding and dinner invitations, a birthday party invitation in Diana's hand, Christmas cards signed by the royals, dolls and mannequins with copies of the royal dresses, and the backup wedding dress for the Duchess of York (Fergie), which I thoroughly enjoyed seeing. Also dress sketches, a copy of the spectacular black gown Diana wore and caused a stir. There's a garden bench from Highgrove, copies of Diana's diamond tiaras, lots of royal souvenirs from weddings, coronations, the palaces, etc. Three of Charles' watercolors are on display, also dinner menus, the shoes Helena wore in the King's Speech, the Queen Mum's handbag and beautiful letter opener with many photos of her from 1900-2002. A large doll is dressed in an exact replica of Diana's wedding dress and there's a full-size replica of her bridal bouquet. There are many more things to see, plus the beautiful dresses that Diana wore in a separate room, and a room with Kate's clothes, etc. I was really impressed with all of it and think most followers of the royals will enjoy it. I heard a group talking about the cost of the ticket ($35) and all of them were agreeing it was worth it. I only paid $25 through Goldstar and my ticket was for all day 10-6. One can tour the rest of the ship on the same day. Parking is a bit steep - $15. We went on a weekday at 10 a.m. and there were no crowds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dark Harbor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visit date: October 2011

Downed a couple of good drinks at Sir Winston's on the ship prior. Go to the Hotel entrance and take the elevator to the fourth floor.

Around 7pm we shot through the fastpass line - actually there was no line. The general admission line was already fairly long, but it seemed to move well. I would suggest fastpass if you are planning on attending any time after 8pm. This year they sold tickets for $20 if you arrived within the first hour, a pretty good deal, and FP for only $20 more per ticket.

The mazes offered some nice twists and turns as well as several good and unexpected scares. The Cage maze included some really loud music which was unbearable, and I got lost a couple of times. At one part I could not see at all and started pushing a mirror open and realized we were accidentally leaving the maze through a side wall. I turned around and everybody else was following me, too. There was a lot of smoke, so expect plenty of disorientation. Set designs were cool, although some areas in a couple of mazes smelled awkwardly wrong.

Grab a couple of welcoming stiff drinks at the Devil's bar, about $9/ea. The gentleman was not stingy in his pouring. Kettle Corn also available as well as other snacks (tacos I believe?) The band was good and I was impressed by the sound quality coming from the speakers. There is a fun little green screen photography souvenir booth, too. It looked cool, but I passed it without even inquiring about the price. They had one fellow standing in the walking area trying to convince everybody to try it out, over and over again - a little annoying because it is located within the main thoroughfare.

There are 5 mazes in all, and they aren't too short either, which gives it good value, in my opinion. Parking will most likely be $15-$20 (sorry folks!) But if you live in the downtown Long Beach area, take the red Passport bus for free!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Mary also viewed

 

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list