We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than anticipated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
800-437-2934
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 41 attractions in Long Beach
Type: Ships, History Museums, Museums, Religious Sites
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This elegant luxury liner, permanently docked on Long Beach since its last crossing in 1967, features a hotel, museum, restaurants, Art Deco salons for private parties, a wedding chapel and tours.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Much better than anticipated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited the Queen Mary and did the basic passport for $25. Whilst I found the audio tour a little confusing to follow, the information was very good and is was fabulous just to wander around the decks. We were slightly sceptical about the Ghosts and Legends Tour but it was very well done and worth seeing. The most interesting bit however has to seeing the remaining propeller by actually leaving the ship to see it in the water (hard to explain in writing!).
Very good attraction and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    318
    166
    83
    80
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The old lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was very easy to see and access and the buses were free to get there... but it was Very expensive even just to take a walking tour of the ship

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Watch out for the Parking Kiosks!! Bring Cash for Parking!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Pros-I enjoyed the Diana exhibit and wandering around the ship was great. I would love to see the ship fully restored - I believe if it was fully restored, it would have a much higher rating among all reviewers. When we showed up to the ticket booth, staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons-The drinks at the bar are pricey! The drink tasted good, but three cocktails (including tip) costs around $36.00. Also, leaving the parking lot is a nightmare. When leaving the parking lot, you are forced to pay at kiosks. The one on the far left is manned by a person and does not take credit cards. We went to a machine to pay with our credit card and the machine would not accept the ticket. This happened to a number of people in front of us. We had to put the car in reverse and back up to the manned kiosk. It took the car in front of us several minutes to find enough cash to pay the fee...while searching for cash the attendant was going to make 10 cars back up and have the person go to a credit card kiosk. Luckily, the person found cash and my group had cash on hand as well. Very confusing. (When we arrived at the ship, I overheard someone say to pay for parking before you get to your car, because the self service kiosks always act up. Wish I had remembered this before getting to my car). As a tip for other visitors, bring about $20 in cash for parking so you can get out of the lot much faster.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For Halloween, stay at the Queen Mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was a bit noisy with the haunted waterfront going on outside, we did not participate in that, but had dinner at Winstons and walked the deck. Then the next day did a tour of the ship, imagining that we were on a voyage to London. It was interesting to see the inside of the vessel. When I was but a child, I took a cruise on American President lines to Hongkong and Japan, that was a long trip but it was well worth it because I got to truly experience how those people Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr felt on their voyage from London on "An Affair to Remember". You have to cherish these experiences and keep them alive in your heart, because truly no one else has had them. YOu are fortunate if you are able to do this.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Philippines
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“welcome to a different world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There was a time where there was beautiful ships and high stadard and Oueen Mary is one of those. Second time to visit her, and fell bad when i leave and should go back my 4 years old big container vessel

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Mary also viewed

 

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list