We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium of the Pacific

Aquarium of the Pacific
100 Aquarium Way, Long Beach, CA 90802
562 590 3100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Ranked #4 of 34 Attractions in Long Beach
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a journey of discovery through the world’s largest ocean at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, California.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kings Lynn, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We hadn't expected much of this, but were really impressed. A lot of exhibits and very well laid out and informative. Definitely worth a visit. Buy a ticket to combine a harbour tour or whale watching in season - saves a few dollars!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    396
    99
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pass Holders No Longer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to have annual passes for the aquarium, but then after several trips it no longer held my children's attention and not much changed exhibit wise, so we decided to no longer buy the passes. Good for those who have never visited, but with Sea World so close, it's a better option, although more expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aquarium - Mesmerizing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Think if you have seen one fish, you have seen them all. Not true. The Magellanic Penquins at the Aquarium will keep you there all day if you allow yourself to come under their spell. This is an all encompassing acquarium with animal feedings, shows, and behind the scenes tours. Choose whatever your budget allows. But do go! I had a business meeting and my husband reluctantly agreed to go to the aquarium while I was gone. You should have seen the smile on his face when I returned. He was so happy he had gone. He liked it all but he loved the penguins. He was amazed with the aquarium.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lots of space and interactive exhibits for the kids--so many things to touch! Also a fun outdoor water play area. Interesting for all ages.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great aquarium. We took our 1 1/2 year old and newborn. My son was fascinated and loved every minute. He didn't have a problem skipping his nap he was so excited. It's just enough stuff to do to fill one day. There could have been more food available for lunch, but overall we had a great day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium of the Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.