We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaks on the Water

Kayaks on the Water
5411 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90803
(562) 434-0999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 35 activities in Long Beach
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
orange county, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun day on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Rented a 2 man kayak for son and myself. We had a great time. The water was calm, our first time kayaking.

The kayaks are easy to stear and they supply you with life jackets and ziplock back to keep your phone in etc. We were gone for abotu 2 hours, which was fine for our first trip. This included a stop at the Marina mall for a starbucks. You can just pull your kayak up on the dock and walk in. It was only $9 pp/ph if you pay cash - $10 for creidt/debit i would go again, fun afternoon, and not many teenage boys want to spend the time with mom - so that was a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun, but lacked in sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The price for kayaking is a $9 per hour, you need to leave your drivers license or an id for a deposit.There are not many sights only canals, but if you enjoy kayaking then this is your place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LOTS of fun for $9/hr (cash)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have gone kayaking before in the open ocean (rough) so we decided to try kayaking around Naples where the water is calm. We walked up and was immediately helped by the friendly staff. Life vests and paddles are provided. You can ask for a map if you need one. After watching a 2-minute video we were on our way navigating the canals of Naples and around Alamitos Bay. On our way back to our starting point, we saw 2 seals that were playing in the water in the bay. We had a great time for $9/hr cash ($10/hr for credit card). They pro-rate the hourly price so if you kayak for 1 hour and 6 minutes, you pay for 1 hour and 6 minutes - GREAT DEAL!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME experience for only $9!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had never gone kayaking before, but my wife had in Malibu. She didn't have the best time in Malibu when she went, but I really wanted to try. Our friends asked if we wanted to join them for Labor Day. I said YES and we did our research! Only $9 an hour, or $10 if you are using your Debit/Credit card, still not bad! You find the place, sign up, they make sure you know how to swim, you watch an educational video, get your life jacket, paddles, put your stuff in a plastic bag and you're off! It was SO much fun, we got to go around Naples, looking at all the houses.. Lots of kayakers, boaters, swimmers, etc.. Awesome experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stand-up paddle boarding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've used this company the last 3 times ive been in LA for SUP'ing around Naples. They are keen on safety but you cant blame them too much for that. Most excellent fun paddling up and down the canals of naples. Def give it a go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayaks on the Water also viewed

 

Been to Kayaks on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayaks on the Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kayaks on the Water to your Saves list