We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Barn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Long Barn Lodge to your Saves list
Long Barn Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   25957 Long Barn Road, Long Barn, CA 95335   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the perfect place for a family reunion. The semi-enclosed lawn area, the pool, the plentiful tables and chairs all helped to create a fun and secure setting. Even our dogs had a great time Our room was quite dated with quilted bedspreads, tiny tv and and small stink and shower, however, it was clean and fairly spacious. One family in our group rented the large 2-story cottage and it served as our base for meals and such. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Next time I'd choose a cottage or second floor room to avoid listening to footsteps above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ths was a girlfriends getaway. Since it was during the week, the place was empty. There was only one other room rented besides ours. The room we stayed in was clean and the beds were very comfortable. There are front and back doors to the room that allow for cross ventilation. It has a couple of lawn chairs on the front patio that look onto a nice green lawn surrounding a swimming pool. Inside the room were a queen bed and two twins, and a sofa with a little old fashioned tv. We found an electric fan, which we did not need, and an old fashioned oil hurricane lamp in the closet. We used the oil lamp to enhance the ambience even more. We thoroughly enjoyed a quiet and relaxing stay. It's old but quaint. Bonus points for super water pressure in the shower. Debbie took the reservations and checked us in and is as friendly and nice as you could ask. Extra stars for her. She was great!

Room Tip: The hotel lists all their rooms and cabins online and make to easy to select what meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent 3 night at Long Barn Lodge a week ago and had a great time. The area is beautiful, and the cabins and lodge were very cute. Everything was clean and organized which is a plus to me.

We enjoyed our stay because the staff was very friendly, always on top of things and willing to help. They gave us very good recommendations on what we could do in the area or where to find what we needed (food, groceries, entertainment).

Because of all their help, we were able to relax and enjoy our time off.

Swimming in the pool was the best because the weather was pretty hot.

If you decide to go, make sure to visit Pinecrest Lake!. They recommended it to us and it was awesome! The lake is pretty warm, and you can swim, or rent kayaks, motor boats or whatever you are in the mood for. Such a beautiful place!

We will definitely be coming back in the winter!

Room Tip: The Studio cabin was perfect for 2 people; even though it had a sofa bed for 2 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I took my elderly mom on a high Sierra road-trip, and we used the Long Barn Lodge as our base camp. This is a truly homey, rustic and no-frills place! What it lacks in modern amenities, it more than makes up for with the super friendly and helpful staff, the beauty of the grounds and its proximity to many awesome sightseeing opportunities. Our cabin was cozy and clean, and very basic. There was an old TV with limited cable, no phone (pay phone on the property) and no AC. The lovely big pool, horse shoe pits and a wide lawn were great to hang out on. Mom and I will definitely go back to the Long Barn Lodge!

Room Tip: The cabins are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a getaway after a grueling semester of grad school, and we decided (with a little help from Groupon) that a secluded cabin in the woods was the perfect way to relax. We stayed for three nights in a studio cabin at Long Barn Lodge, and it was a wonderful vacation!

We hit the timing on the nose to avoid the crowds, as we were there mid-week immediately before Memorial Day, so I can't speak to when things get busy, but we pretty much had the place to ourselves and it was very relaxing, indeed! The staff hit the perfect balance of helpful but not intrusive, and had a lot of good recommendations for hikes and attractions.

After reading some reviews on here, I came optimistic but prepared -- we brought our own french press and dish soap, for instance. However, we found the cabin to be clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The kitchen had everything we needed and nothing was dirty or damaged, and the staff was even accommodating enough to find us a bbq grill so we could cook out in the patio garden out front of our cabin. There was a nice, big dining table to spread board games out on. The bed linens and towels were in good shape and comfortable, and the bathroom and shower were a nice size and not dingy at all. Some of the features were a little outdated, I guess, (there was a VCR!) but we came for the rustic scenery, not the latest in tech.

The cabins were not as "secluded" as we had originally hoped -- I thought we'd be out in the woods with only the trees for company, and instead we were in a cute little neighborhood of what seemed to be mostly other vacation and summer cabins -- but there were a couple of nice woods walks just outside our door, and hiking around Pinecrest Lake or into the National Forest was only a 10-15 minute drive away. We also had dinner in a cute little place in Strawberry one night, and there seemed to be markets in either direction if we had needed to pick anything up.

I would definitely recommend Long Barn Lodge's cabins to someone wanting a comfortable home-base for a vacation in Stanislaus National Forest.

Room Tip: We were in Cabin B and it did not have a fireplace, but did have a queen-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here and we had such an amazing time overall. We loved our studio cabin with full kitchen. It saves so much money being able to make your own meals and you can eat in your room or at the cute little picnic area outside. The barbecue area was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. And the scenery right outside our front door was beautiful. Very quiet place to stay. We went to Yosemite for a full day and to beautiful Pinecrest lake which is only 15 minutes away. There's a grocery store nearby and a bunch of different little restaurants. We even got to bring our little dog for very reasonable $25 fee. He had a great time as well because there's a huge lawn by the pool which is fenced in from the road. We love love love Longbarn Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've been vacationing at Long Barn for many years. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are large and clean, and the 'vibe' is just right. We love lounging by the pool, BBQing on the patio, and playing volleyball.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Barn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Barn Lodge

Address: 25957 Long Barn Road, Long Barn, CA 95335
Location: United States > California > Long Barn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Barn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Barn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Barn Lodge Ice Skating Arena & Event Center is conveniently located off of Highway 108, Sonora Pass Highway in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Our unique resort provides a wonderful family atmosphere for your family vacation, special occasion, group celebration or romantic getaway. Onsite, our boutique Ice Skating Arena is open to the public mid November until April, and also offers school skate field trips, fun fundraisers, birthday parties and private ice skating parties. Our one-of-a-kind facility includes 20 spacious motel rooms, 8 cozy cabins with kitchens, volleyball, horseshoes and a patio (with grill) overlooking the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Long Barn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Barn Hotel Long Barn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Barn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.