We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Barn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Barn Lodge to your Saves list
Long Barn Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   25957 Long Barn Road, Long Barn, CA 95335   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definetly coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here and we had such an amazing time overall. We loved our studio cabin with full kitchen. It saves so much money being able to make your own meals and you can eat in your room or at the cute little picnic area outside. The barbecue area was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. And the scenery right outside our front door was beautiful. Very quiet place to stay. We went to Yosemite for a full day and to beautiful Pinecrest lake which is only 15 minutes away. There's a grocery store nearby and a bunch of different little restaurants. We even got to bring our little dog for very reasonable $25 fee. He had a great time as well because there's a huge lawn by the pool which is fenced in from the road. We love love love Longbarn Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've been vacationing at Long Barn for many years. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are large and clean, and the 'vibe' is just right. We love lounging by the pool, BBQing on the patio, and playing volleyball.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the BEST stay and the most hospitable hostesses. Our stay started with us sliding off the road about a quarter mile from the lodge and we needed together pulled out. My husband walked to find the hotel as it turned dark! When he arrived at the lodge they called the guy who plows their roads and he was just heading out and they sent him to pull us put (AAA refused!!!) and we were saved in no time!!!! We were also assisted bay regular at the lodge, Gabriel who is a ski instructor at dodge ridge. The only person who stopped to see if we were ok stuck on the side of the road (me and my 9 and1 year old). My husband and I aren't cash carriers, and the plow guy who pulled us out asked for $25 (which it was well worth it!!) my husband had to ask Debbie (the main lady at the cabin) to borrow the cash and she gladly took the $ out of the register and handed it right over with a smile!! Talk about excellent service!!!!!! When we got settled into the cabin we discovered there was no cable - we talked to the other lady at the desk and she tinkered with the tv with no luck and said shed call the cable guy. Sure enough. First thing in the morning the cable guy was outside and checked with us before he left to be sure our cable was working. Just before then, Shelly another cabin worker came to check if we needed any house keeping. Very friendly. The cabin was clean, well stocked kitchen (not food but cooking utensils) and the bed and couch were comfy. There was the perfect snowfall and we didn't have to go to the snow park because we were able to sled in the "grass" area that was covered in snow. The ice rink was perfect!! our daughter had never been before and they had stacked buckets for newbies to push to help keep their balance. The also had a club quality sound system that was jammin the whole time the rink was open!! We will be back fora summer trip to enjoy the pool and will be winter regulars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great service and location. Charming ice-rink in winter and fun swimming pool in summer. Family has stayed there several times in both seasons. Motel rooms good for keeping an eye on pool area, plus you can pull car directly to door so easy for unloading and easy for those avoiding steps. The studios and cabins are newer and more charming,but cost more. You might get lucky on certain stays and have pool to yourself! Other times there can be a lot of guests. No restaurants in town is a bummer, but 10 minutes either way on highway will get you a small market and restaurant. Overall, very peaceful location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We planned a 3-day snow trip and stayed in a studio cabin with full kitchen. I had called ahead and asked several specific questions about the cabin only to arrive and find that there was no table and chairs for eating. We were offered a plastic folding table from the office, after the manager rather rudely told me that she had given me this info over the phone (which she hadn't) and nearly implied that we had somehow broken the tiny TV tray in our cabin (within 5 minutes of arriving?). We made do with the borrowed table pushed up next to the daybed, and two plastic chairs we pulled in from the front porch. The bathroom was clean (although the towels were old and scratchy) and the heater efficient; however, the bed was horrible-old worn, sagging mattress with stained sheets and bedding. There was crud caked between the mattress and bed frame. The carpet was filthy and worn. The kitchen appeared to be equipped with garage sale finds-mismatched silverware; chipped cups; plastic bowls, and badly scratched teflon cookware. There were signs informing of a $25 fee for not washing your dishes; however, we had to wash nearly everything before it was usable. There was dish soap, but I was glad I brought my own sponge as the one on the sink looked disgusting, The gas stove smelled strongly of gas. The TV reception was bad and the TV was an ancient, tiny thing. We had to leave the 2nd day because we came down with a stomach virus. Despite the fact that there were several empty cabins, we were told "we have a lot of rules" and were not offered any compensation for the 3rd night fee. I would understand this policy if the cabins were all booked, and I wasn't really expecting a full refund. I guess I was hoping for a partial refund, or an offer of a discount the next visit-some little gesture. We plan to return to this area for another snow trip; however, we will find another place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Long Barn Lodge recently and it was pretty gross overall! The bathroom was horrendous and that's putting it nicely. Windows and mirrors filthy too. The sheets on the bed weren't changed either. There was also a rotten, old smell throughout the room so I had to spray perfume every hour to make it livable. The mattresses on the beds were also very old and thin. The staff were friendly but that place needs a deep cleaning ASAP! Definitely not worth $129 for a studio cabin.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The main rooms are so dated. Took over an hour to get room heated up. WORST part however was Every sheet, blanket and comforter was loaded with many different color and kinds of body hair. First night i picked over 70 hairs off what I was trying to slerp on until i could get new linens the next morning. Needless to say I made my kids sleep in their clothes.

I had new sheets and blankets sent up and they too had tons of hair every where. It was disgusting! Never putting my family thru that again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Barn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Barn Lodge

Address: 25957 Long Barn Road, Long Barn, CA 95335
Location: United States > California > Long Barn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Barn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Barn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Barn Lodge Ice Skating Arena & Event Center is conveniently located off of Highway 108, Sonora Pass Highway in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Our unique resort provides a wonderful family atmosphere for your family vacation, special occasion, group celebration or romantic getaway. Onsite, our boutique Ice Skating Arena is open to the public mid November until April, and also offers school skate field trips, fun fundraisers, birthday parties and private ice skating parties. Our one-of-a-kind facility includes 20 spacious motel rooms, 8 cozy cabins with kitchens, volleyball, horseshoes and a patio (with grill) overlooking the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Long Barn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Barn Hotel Long Barn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Barn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.