We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here on a Friday night. This was my fifth stay at this motel over the years. As usual, the check in and check out were fast. This is an older Best Western, but it has been upgraded with such amenities like LCD televisions. We had a quiet room in the back of the property. (Room 157.) The two queen beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and we had a quiet night's sleep. All staff encountered were polite, courteous, and friendly. The view of Mt. Whitney nearby was spectacular, and there was even some snow at the top of the mountain. There is a gym located at this Best Western, but I did not use it because we did a lot of hiking up on Mt. Whitney. In the morning, we arrived in the breakfast room at approximately 8:50 a.m. We began to eat, and decided we wanted some pancakes with our meal. My girlfriend stood in line behind four people at the pancake machine to get, of course, some pancakes. People were commenting that the pancake dispenser was empty. My girlfriend asked the breakfast hostess, who was sitting nearby, if she could get us a few more pancakes, or at least some pancake batter to put in the pancake machine. The hostess replied, "I'm not allowed to put out anymore food after 9:00 o'clock." I pulled out my i-Phone and saw that it was now exactly 9:00 a.m. If this is indeed the policy set by management, at least when the post office closes exactly at 5:00 p.m., it still will take care of the customers who are at the counter. And the Best Western Plus Frontier Motel is a private business, who should care even more about satisfying the customers' needs. In any case, the breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of food, even if we did not get to enjoy our pancakes! There were complimentary issues of the Los Angeles Times that guests could take with them in the morning. No doubt we will be staying here again when near the Lone Pine area.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are located away from U.S. Highway 395 near the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    455
    160
    27
    19
See reviews for
339
478
84
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Pine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We showed up at 4M after being nearly blown out of out campground in a windstorm. When we walked in, Victoria and Marguerite gave us a hot breakfast and made special arrangements to allow us to stay an extra hour so we could get some much needed sleep after what we went through earlier in the evening. Victoria also made sure we knew where the Lone Pine Visitor Center was so we could be prepared going into Death Valley the next day. The breakfast was good, the rooms were crisp and clean, and the bed was super comfortable. It really is the little things that make a difference. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had an oversized room. Very comfortable and clean. Beds were comfortable. Great Wifi. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast included plus fantastic view of Mt Whitney with all the color at sunrise!

Room Tip: Liked the oversized room. Very spacious for three or four people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great find in a great small town with fantastic views. This was our second visit to Lone Pine but first to Frontier. We stayed here as an overnight stay on a road trip to North California. Great welcome from the young girl at reception. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. We made use of the laundrette which had two washing machines and driers which were very reasonably priced. Breakfast was adequate but unfortunately served in plastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Clean simple hotel conveniently located to break up our long drive. Rooms were clean and laundry had many machines to use. Breakfast was great and staff were really nice. Only one little thing... the pool was freezing! But it didnt stop us from going in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I pulled into this motel after a long day on the road from Zion. The pool is what really called me and it was a wonderful and restful place to relax. The room had cosy touches like a wool wall hanging and nice art work that made it very homey. My only complaint I could apply to chain hotel/motels across North America and that is that the free breakfast is served with plastic everything! I will be addressing this concern to the executives when I get the chance (start a revolution anybody?) Ashley at the front desk was a dream to work with on check out and other matters and really capped off my stay. Would recommend easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, you cannot beat this glorious view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and Mt. Whitney. The morning sun glimmering on the mountains was breathtaking. We did not have a reservation, but breezed in about 8pm. The staff was warm and friendly, the room was clean with cute cowboy decor. Each room has it's own parking space right in front of the door which was really convenient. We used the fitness room on the morning which was great! The rooms have all the necessities: cable, wifi, phone, even stationary and a little lap desk for use while you lounge in the comfy bed. Additionally, we were travelling with a small dog and the hotel is pet friendly.Take the time to go explore the little town; it is adorable and has lots of cute restaurants (even a saloon!). The breakfast was typical but not great. We were back on the road early though and appreciated the convenience of a warm breakfast on site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTP93545, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're very pleased we were able to meet all of your traveling needs. We try to stay versatile and appreciate you noticing our many services. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
21.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.