We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place except....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place except....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would have given it a higher rating except for the woman in charge of breakfast. She was dirty. I saw her wipe her runny nose with her bare hand and then wipe it on her pants and then handle food! Ugh. She needs to be fired! I would not eat there. They had one extremely old black banana that needed to be replaced with wholesome fresh ones. Come on people, we deserve better! More than one rotten banana in that bunch! Bad bad bad! Shame on you! Get rid of that woman or retrain her and you would get all high marks from me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTP93545, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry you had this experience at our establishment. Unfortunately I am unable to offer any recourse to you such as a refund, or description of punitive action taken so that you may have an update, because as often is the problem with tripadvisor there is no way to find out who posted something they were upset about. If this matter had been brought before us at the property it would have been handled promptly, instead it is put here ambiguously with no chance to right an obvious wrong on our parts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    348
    132
    25
    18
See reviews for
241
382
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Victoria Rico went out of her way to get my last couple stays at Best Western put on my new enrollment. She didn't want me to loose any of the points I have already earned. Thank you Victoria!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The rooms are all one story with drive up to the door.
Asked for a quiet room, and was next to a remodel job, with hammers banging at 8am..
It was clean and appeared to be newly remodeled.
Bathroom fan rattled with the wind all night.
Hotels in Lone Pine are all lower end types, and you get a hot breakfast, so at $89 a night, was the best of what was available.
Cons is that it is right on the highway where there is a lot of 18 Wheelers, so noisy..
BUT
the view of Mt Whitney is out the door!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the highway, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, the wireless was fast, the fridge worked great, nice hot showers, and a pretty view of the snow covered mountains just outside the door. Breakfast was also good. Super nice people working here. Our initial room was very smokey & unpleasant, but they quickly moved us to a nice smoke-free room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first glance the property looks like any other motel of a certain age in a small town. Turn your head and gaze over at Mt. Whitney, highest mountain in the lower 48, and you will be glad you chose this place. While the outside of the building is somewhat dated, the interior of the room is pleasant, clean, and quite large. The beds are firm and comfortable and the flat screen TV is huge. The free breakfast is ample with a large selection and is a good way to get the day started. You will be glad you stayed here. Take lots of pictures of Mt. Whitney as it is truly an awesome sight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

All things considered - location, price, cleanliness, service - this hotel is great. And the restaurant food is excellent, which is a huge plus when you're tired after skiing and don't want to go out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

What a great place.
Staff is very nice and helpful. Check
Rooms are nicely appointed. Check
Clean. Check.
View of Mount Whitney incredible. Check
Continental breakfast was truly best I have had anywhere. Not sure if they will keep it but the push button on demand pancake machine was fun and good. Check
Price was great. Check
Fast wifi for free without a cumbersome password to log on with. Double Check

If I ever come back from North Carolina I will stay here. I could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.