We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, the wireless was fast, the fridge worked great, nice hot showers, and a pretty view of the snow covered mountains just outside the door. Breakfast was also good. Super nice people working here. Our initial room was very smokey & unpleasant, but they quickly moved us to a nice smoke-free room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    345
    132
    25
    18
See reviews for
240
379
56
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first glance the property looks like any other motel of a certain age in a small town. Turn your head and gaze over at Mt. Whitney, highest mountain in the lower 48, and you will be glad you chose this place. While the outside of the building is somewhat dated, the interior of the room is pleasant, clean, and quite large. The beds are firm and comfortable and the flat screen TV is huge. The free breakfast is ample with a large selection and is a good way to get the day started. You will be glad you stayed here. Take lots of pictures of Mt. Whitney as it is truly an awesome sight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

All things considered - location, price, cleanliness, service - this hotel is great. And the restaurant food is excellent, which is a huge plus when you're tired after skiing and don't want to go out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

What a great place.
Staff is very nice and helpful. Check
Rooms are nicely appointed. Check
Clean. Check.
View of Mount Whitney incredible. Check
Continental breakfast was truly best I have had anywhere. Not sure if they will keep it but the push button on demand pancake machine was fun and good. Check
Price was great. Check
Fast wifi for free without a cumbersome password to log on with. Double Check

If I ever come back from North Carolina I will stay here. I could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way to Vegas and through Death Valley. Upon arriving at reception we had to walk through the smoking area which smelt but check in was easy. Room was clean and tidy but we were right beside the road, thinking that traffic would ease off at night instead trucks drove past constantly all night, making it very hard to sleep.Also the air con was under the window and we couldn't pull the curtains across properly as it covered the unit. Breakfast was good and they had a good selection, i had to ask for hot chocolate though but they brought some out from the kitchen for me.

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the road, further back in would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Best Western in Lone Pine for 4 nights. It is now the only place I will stay in the future. Large, clean rooms, reasonable rates and a very helpful staff. The FREE daily breakfast was way beyond the continental norm being served at most hotels... eggs, omlettes, sausage, pancakes, potatoes etc... can't beat it. Hotel is locally owned. I asked for recommendations on where to eat and other activities from one of the staff members - He took the time to brief me on the history of the town and offer suggestions on where to eat - Was later told he was the manager and owner. Highly recommend the Best Western in Lone Pine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Best Western just appears on the road to Death Valley in a sleepy ton called Lone Pine. Upon arrival it was pver 40 degrees so the comfortable clean room with its aircon was well needed. The room promised a whirlpool tub, we got a bath with a jet system, not quite expected but who needs a bath when you can have a pool and jacuzzi! Very close to local sites and a stones throw away from death valley!

Room Tip: family rooms are huge and really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.