We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Brunch Stop Over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery

Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery
111 West Post Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
760-876-4675
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Lone Pine
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Brunch Stop Over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This cafe which is just off the main road was a convenient place for us to stop from Death Valley to Yosemite. It is obviously popular with locals and hikers. There is an extensive menu with an impressive range of eggs done in all manners of styles and they also have huge good looking loaves of bread and cookies for sale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    59
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Little More Than Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Returning home from a recent road trip my wife and I found ourselves passing through Lone Pine, CA. around lunch time and decided to stop for a bite to eat. We were looking for some place to park and after turning of the main road onto to a side street we found ourselves at the Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery. Upon entering we were pleasantly surprised to find a small, comfortable cafe and we were able to be seated immediately even though the room was near capacity (just lucky I guess). We didn't have to wait long before we were approached by a waitress who took our drink order. It took a little longer for the waitress to come back and take our food order but considering the number of customers it wasn't to bad. My wife ordered a turkey panini with fries and I ordered a ruben sandwich with macaroni salad. After a short wait our food arrived and to our surprise the sandwiches were ENORMOUS. Unfortunately my wife did not enjoy her sandwich but mine was very tasty but a little messy. My macaroni salad was pretty bland even after applying some salt and pepper. Overall the experience was OK and we might consider returning if in the area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A road trip stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped here for a late breakfast our trip from Death Valley to Yosemite. This was a good choice. The place was busy but we got a seat immediately. All the dishes were enjoyed (pancakes, eggs, sausages home fries, toast etc). The service was prompt if a little brusque. They close at 2pm. If staying or passing through it is worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast. Friendly, hardworking staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

10am on a Saturday morning. Packed with a mix of locals, Euros, and other assorted travelers. We both had the Sierra scramble. Hardworking, cheerful staff. Best b-fast I've had out in quite some time. We'll deserving of its top rating. I just wish they served dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfasts and lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Wonderful food, fast service, friendly vibe in this tiny place just off hwy 395 across from the Dow Villa. Best meals in town by a WIDE margin. Good value, large portions, super quality.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.