We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected highlight of our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Save Saved
You added Dow Villa Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dow Villa Motel
310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An unexpected highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The USA government funding crisis had enforced a change of plan so we booked the Dow Motel in Lone Pine as our Death Valley reservation was cancelled. All I can say is thank you to the Tea Party because otherwise we would not have found Lone Pine and the Dow Villa Motel.
We arrived tired and cold (it had rained in Death Valley!) to find our room in the motel warm and welcoming. The Motel does not do food but had booked us in at the Seasons Restaurant (see review) so we retired to bed well fed and comfortable. The next morning we awoke to brilliant sunshine and a view to die for. Mount Whitney and the Alabama Hills glimmered in the morning sunshine. The history of Dow Villa and it's association with John Wayne was fascinating and we were advised to take a trip up into the hills and then visit the movie museum.
We did both in a couple of hours (we would like to have had longer) but it was enough to convince us that the whole place is a little gem for the unexpecting visitor from England who had, honestly, never heard of it! Thank you to the unassuming proprietors of the Motel who helped make our short stay entirely memorable. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    187
    72
    20
    18
See reviews for
102
202
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the motel-type rooms near the pool. The room has been renovated and is attractively furnished. The bed was comfortable. The hotel appeared to be full, and I expected it to be noisy, but we didn't hear other travelers. There is a small movie museum in the lobby, and photos of actors line the halls. Be sure to read the brass plaques on the columns in front, even if you don't stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

First time I found this place was nearly 30 years ago !! I have been bringing friends and family here ever since and just love this place. Hot tub and pool open 24 hours. So great to sit in the hot tub looking at the Eastern Sierra and Mt Whitney. Right in the center of town, just a few yards from the local restaurants and the great Jakes Saloon !! Rooms were very clean and everything worked perfectly. No complaints at all. Front desk staff very friendly and accommodating. We drove from LA to visit this place prior to the drive through Death Valley to Vegas. Would and have recommended to loads of people. They spoilt the town with a McD. God help us if they put a Wal-Mart there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent another night in Lone Pine. A great place to stop when driving up 395, one of the most beautiful drives in the country. The motel is spotless and reasonably priced. The view of the mountains wonderful. We have stayed here often and will return again. Our room had a jucuzzi tub and it's a pretty big step to get in for a shower so I think an extra bar to hold on to would be in order.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We revisited Dow Villa which is located in the eastern
Sierras near Alabama hills, location of many western
films and tv shows and Whitney portal.Nearby
restaurants include Alabama Hills cafe for a great
breakfast and Seasons for steak dinners . Some of the
Rooms have a great view!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel part, rather than the motel (as it was cheaper!). The rooms were fine, we opted for one with a bathroom. Bed was comfy and shower was good. Lack of plug sockets though - we could only find 1 usable one. Wifi was sketchy in the room but worked well by the pool. The room was really cold and the aircon really noisy overnight, I used earplugs but could still hear it. There was signs saying that you could ask reception to alter it (I think), but we didn't bother.

Overall it was a nice hotel, we'd stay there again if we're ever in the area. Lone Pine was a nice wee town and the surrounding Alabama Hills were good for a wander about. It was nice to have a pool as the weather was roasting.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to see where legendary motion pictures from Gunga Din to Iron Man were filmed. The Alabama Hills and the majestic Sierra Nevada with Mt. Whitney in the background, was also home for westerns in the Golden Era which featured Tom Mix, Buck Jones and Jack Hoxie, the 30s and 40s for Gene Autry, Roy Rogers and Hoppy and the A westerns with John Wayne, Gary Cooper and later Clint Eastwood. The most enjoyable and nostalgic Lone Pine Film Museum is just two blocks away. Lone Pine is also a great place to stay for those who are hikers, fishermen, horsemen and photographers. The hotel was built in 1923 and was home to Tom Mix, Hopalong Cassidy, Gary Cooper, John Wayne and most recently Robert Downey Jr. The modern motel enables you to wake up early and catch the morning sun on the Sierra Nevada range. The rooms in the hotel have been updated. Staff are very friendly and willing to provide whatever assistance you need. The rooms are clean and most affordable. There is a great place for breakfast and a first class restaurant a short walking distance away. I've stayed in both the hotel and motel. If you want more room to stretch out stay in the motel. If you only need a place to sleep as you'll be outdoors, you might want to stay in the historic, quaint hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the motel portion for a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dow Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.