We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Save Saved
You added Dow Villa Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dow Villa Motel
310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent another night in Lone Pine. A great place to stop when driving up 395, one of the most beautiful drives in the country. The motel is spotless and reasonably priced. The view of the mountains wonderful. We have stayed here often and will return again. Our room had a jucuzzi tub and it's a pretty big step to get in for a shower so I think an extra bar to hold on to would be in order.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    174
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
91
184
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We revisited Dow Villa which is located in the eastern
Sierras near Alabama hills, location of many western
films and tv shows and Whitney portal.Nearby
restaurants include Alabama Hills cafe for a great
breakfast and Seasons for steak dinners . Some of the
Rooms have a great view!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel part, rather than the motel (as it was cheaper!). The rooms were fine, we opted for one with a bathroom. Bed was comfy and shower was good. Lack of plug sockets though - we could only find 1 usable one. Wifi was sketchy in the room but worked well by the pool. The room was really cold and the aircon really noisy overnight, I used earplugs but could still hear it. There was signs saying that you could ask reception to alter it (I think), but we didn't bother.

Overall it was a nice hotel, we'd stay there again if we're ever in the area. Lone Pine was a nice wee town and the surrounding Alabama Hills were good for a wander about. It was nice to have a pool as the weather was roasting.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to see where legendary motion pictures from Gunga Din to Iron Man were filmed. The Alabama Hills and the majestic Sierra Nevada with Mt. Whitney in the background, was also home for westerns in the Golden Era which featured Tom Mix, Buck Jones and Jack Hoxie, the 30s and 40s for Gene Autry, Roy Rogers and Hoppy and the A westerns with John Wayne, Gary Cooper and later Clint Eastwood. The most enjoyable and nostalgic Lone Pine Film Museum is just two blocks away. Lone Pine is also a great place to stay for those who are hikers, fishermen, horsemen and photographers. The hotel was built in 1923 and was home to Tom Mix, Hopalong Cassidy, Gary Cooper, John Wayne and most recently Robert Downey Jr. The modern motel enables you to wake up early and catch the morning sun on the Sierra Nevada range. The rooms in the hotel have been updated. Staff are very friendly and willing to provide whatever assistance you need. The rooms are clean and most affordable. There is a great place for breakfast and a first class restaurant a short walking distance away. I've stayed in both the hotel and motel. If you want more room to stretch out stay in the motel. If you only need a place to sleep as you'll be outdoors, you might want to stay in the historic, quaint hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the motel portion for a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were staying in Vegas for 14nights & wanted to come back to Lone Pine as we have been here twice before and always stayed in the Dow. We stayed in the old part first time & this time. Stayed in the new part last time. We liked both and rooms are clean and bed comfy. Nice pool although we didn't use it as only there for 1 night. We really drove up here to come up the mountains, the views are absolutely breathtaking. We drove up as far as the Waterfalls and the lake but well worth seeing. Also worth going to is the Film museum. Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge & coffee machine, stay in the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Most mid-range motels provide breakfast but this one doesn't. The W-Fi worked well. An interesting lobby area in the old hotel, which is adjacent to the motel; it has movie memorabilia about people who stayed in the hotel.
It is a large room with a large vanity-sink area. They provide an ironing board and iron in the room. Everything is clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were traveling up 395 with our pet cockatiel which makes finding welcoming pet friendly accomodations difficult. Some places will take dogs but not caged small birds, which we can never understand, since our pet does not make noise, is not dirty and does no damage...but go figure. Anyway, we found this location in the AAA pet friendly guidebook and we were completely satisfied. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and efficient and the location provides spectacular views of the mountains. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting. Our bed was comfortable and free wifi was a plus. Very pleased and would definitely pick this location again should our travels take us there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Villa Hotel
Dow Hotel Lone Pine
Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dow Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.