We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, comfortable and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Save Saved
You added Dow Villa Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dow Villa Motel
310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience, comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were traveling up 395 with our pet cockatiel which makes finding welcoming pet friendly accomodations difficult. Some places will take dogs but not caged small birds, which we can never understand, since our pet does not make noise, is not dirty and does no damage...but go figure. Anyway, we found this location in the AAA pet friendly guidebook and we were completely satisfied. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and efficient and the location provides spectacular views of the mountains. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting. Our bed was comfortable and free wifi was a plus. Very pleased and would definitely pick this location again should our travels take us there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    191
    72
    20
    18
See reviews for
104
206
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel staff were very pleasant and easy to deal with. Room was more than expected in quality. We stayed in the new section but the original section also looked great and was full of history and personality. Central location in town. Everything was walkable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the east side rooms and hear no noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are traveling through California this historic hotel and attached AAA motel is a treat. Close-up views of Mt. Whitney and the beauty of the area suggests this as a destination rather than a wide spot on Hwy. 395. It also serves as a "base camp" for excursions to Death Valley; one hotel provides access to both the highest and lowest elevations in the lower 48 states. Excellent and very personable staff and service. I've stayed here for close to 35 years as a backpacker and continue to be impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was hot when we rolled into town but the pool was sooooo refreshing. We had a room on the ground floor with 2 queens. Very comfortable beds, tv worked, ac cranked, and shower worked well. Everything in the town is within walking distance from here. Great view of the mts except for taking pics because of the phone wires. Staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to the Dow Villa with 40 other car friends. We were treated well and management was very accommodating with having a taco truck on their property. Most of the group stayed in the motel, but my husband wanted close to the internet and we were fortunate to stay in the Roy Rogers room. We were very comfortable, the room was clean and the internet good. We enjoyed the time here and no problems with any of the group.
This hotel is historic with many of the western film industry staying there. The movie museum and Whitney Portal is worth seeing. Also drive the up to the Bristlecone trees was worth the drive.
Manzanar is worth a couple of hours - very historical national park to tour.

Room Tip: any room is fine here - we enjoyed the older part - just no air conditioner in your room - central a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

There for two nights early in our trip and one night on the return at the end of the week. Comfortable, not expensive, stayed in hotel building, not motel section. There are two considerations for me, Coffee in early am, which they have and a beer/wine in evening. No bar in Dow, so went out for a beer/wine. Don't go to Jakes unless you like it really loud. All in all, Dow a nice retreat for a night or two... Lone Pine is funky but OK for short visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There are not many options in Lone Pine, California. Of the most convenient motels in town, the Dow Villa is probably the best; but that is not an endorsement. It appears to me that the management relies on the fact that the Dow Villa has little acceptable competition in town, because the Dow Villa is certainly not customer-service oriented. I also think it is over-priced for the relatively few amenities it offers. But, I guess it is what the market will bear. My room was uncomfortably warm, and the air-conditioning did little to cool it down. There was a cricket in my room, which kept me awake through the night. Maid service was not provided during my stay, and the TV reception was seriously flawed one of the nights of my stay. Management was relatively unconcerned about these issues and gave only a token discount (the room was still over-priced, even with the discount). I was exceedingly unhappy with the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dow Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.