We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here on your way to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Save Saved
You added Dow Villa Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dow Villa Motel
310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stop here on your way to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're planning a backpacking trip to Yosemite a nice way to ease on into the park and your trek is to spend your first night here. Take a swim in the pool, walk around town, relax in your air conditioned room, then in the morning before you hit the road grab breakfast at the Alabama Hills Cafe. We stayed here before our 4 day backpack trip to Glen Aulin. The staff is great-we even got an upgraded room which was spacious, clean, and quiet. Three of us shared a double queen room and there was plenty of room for all of us plus our gear. I've stayed both in the Hotel portion and the Motel portion. Loved them both.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    187
    71
    20
    18
See reviews for
100
202
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I don't really understand the popularity of this property. It's nothing special at all. If I returned to the area I'd look into the chain places instead and get a free breakfast. I requested a quiet room, and instead got a room on the bottom floor, next to the stairs. Bikers were staying there, and there was a lot going on. They were nice, but the parking lot was crowded. My complaint about the non-quiet room was ignored by management.

We stayed in the "updated" section, and the room was okay. Just your standard hotel room, with a small bath and a tub that didn't drain well. The older section included a lobby that was like a living room, with the cowboy theme. It smelled old, so I don't think I would have been comfortable there.

I guess I was expecting something really charming. Didn't feel the charm.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip, as they didn't honor my request for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandyston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in the one story king bed section of the motel. The main hotel is under construction but it didn't interfere with our stay in any way. The decor in our room was first rate and seemed quite new. The pillow top bed was very comfortable and the shower was terrific! Everything was super clean. The hotel clerk (we think his name is Aaron) gave us a wonderful explanation of the local history and how to best get around the area. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A king room in the one story section is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms here are very comfortable, spacious and clean. We stayed in the motel section and the bikers were having a party at night so noise drifted in, but I use ear plugs and it did not bother me. I'm not sure how crazy it would get in the summer. The staff was polite and helpful. The access to Mt. Whitney and Alabama Hills is quick and easy. The rate at $97 seems a bit steep, but there aren't a lot of options in this stretch of 395.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in the historical/older section, due to the lower prices and the fact that we basically just needed a place to crash for a couple nights and weren't looking for any sort of upscale accomodations.

The room was a little worse for wear, but it was very clean, the towels were suprisingly fresh smelling and soft, and we had the standard shampoo, soap, etc. The setup of the rooms was a bit weird. We booked a room with private bathoom, but the bathroom was in a middle sort of hallway between the adjacent room, and the doors going to each bedroom had two-way locks on them. We weren't sure at first if the other room would be able to get into our bathroom, but it turned out we weren't sharing after all, as the door was always locked from our side. It was a little confusing.

The employees were nice, and the lobby was really neat with a big screen TV, furniture, games, and books. Lots of western memorabilia in the main area and hallways.

The only real complaint I have was with the climate control. There was a sign at the front desk saying that the A/C was centrally controlled and that rooms didn't have individual climate control. The vent in our room was blowing frigid air until close to midnight the first night, making the room almost unbearably cold, even though we opened the windows because it was warmer outside. I would have complained, but I didn't think any of the other rooms would be different. I would suggest to the hotel management that an easy and inexpensive fix to this problem would be to replace the fixed duct covers with adjustable vents so that hotel guests can lower the amount of cold air entering the room if they wish.

Awesome location. It's probably a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel to be just about anywhere you'd want to be in Lone Pine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine229, Owner at Dow Villa Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear that you were disappointed in our "Historic Dow Hotel" Last year we spent over $10000. per room to restore and refurbish all 50 rooms. Our precious original Coronado furniture was refinished to as close as we could restore it to the original finish. Many new accessories were hand painted to match the original design of the Coronado furniture. Hours were spent finding the historic pictures of the valley. We think the new Pendleton bedding is a wonderful addition. For many years we have tried to find adjustable vents to fit the cooler openings. Several different solutions have been tried, and we will keep trying.
We hope that our guest will realize the effort that we have put forth to restore the "DOW" to its "Historical" importance.
Sincerely, Lynne Bunn Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Baldy, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A centrally located setting. Easy access to everything you desire. Have stayed here many times, during the "Off Season." The Dow is packed all summer with many international travellers and hikers, and he movie company's can hog all the rooms at any time.

Summer rates begin April 1 and end Oct 31.... Ouch

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night while passing through town. The young man who checked us is (I believe his name was Aaron) was very helpful in finding us someplace to eat that night, and Summer was very nice and got us our extra blankets in a very timely matter. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dow Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.