We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lone Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lone Pine Campground
Save
You added Lone Pine Campground to your Saves list
Inyo National Forest, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel amenities
Grosse Ile, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My son, brother, and brothers girlfriend stayed here July 22 to 23 to climb Whitney. Host was very friendly and kept eye on grounds. Bad storms washed only road in/out of campground overnight. They did a fantastic job of rebuilding the washed out road I the morning so cars could get in and out. Bathrooms very clean and neat. They stayed at campsite number one which looked like the best one to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this particular campground for the past couple of years for the annual pilgrimage to Manzanar (WWII Japanese American Internment Camp). It's a great place to stay, plenty of parking and room for tents and gear. Bathrooms are very clean and taken care of every hour. The host here is very diligent with the upkeep of the camp and is there to make sure everything is running smoothly. There is a little creek running on the backside of the campground that is great for trout fishing. The campground itself is very easy to access, when you enter the city Lone Pine, you make a left at the only stop light in the city, which is Whitney Portal. You drive up roughly 7 miles and you're here. Great hiking all around the area and everyone is respectful making our trips very enjoyable. Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If it's hot in Owens Valley, you'll be hot here too. Most of the sites are very open and exposed and, well, hot. That being said, the host was very friendly, the sites were well groomed and appointed (picnic table, fire pit, parking) and the bathrooms were clean. The views, well, the cannot be beat! I was staying here as a base camp for a long day hike in the area so I didn't spend much time at the site. Note - the crickets were SO LOUD that you're one who needs white noise to sleep, you'll do great here! If you're road tripping it and need a clean, friendly campground, give this place a try. I'll return someday for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 254 cities Reviews in 254 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place defies logic and expectation. You drive up this dirt track destination Mt Whitney; apparently there's a campground here somewhere and just as you think things have gone seriously wrong with the GPS - there it is !! a little oasis in the desert... it's Lone Pine Campground ! Gosh what a setting and enough campsite comfort to make life civil. This was one of the most spectacular settings we encountered in a long RV trip around the western USA and remember it fondly. (I really don't think Seb O is talking about the same place here....)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lone Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Campground

Address: Inyo National Forest, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lone Pine
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.