We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk Burgers and More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Whitney Restaurant

Mt. Whitney Restaurant
227 Main St, Lone Pine, CA
760/876-5751
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Elk Burgers and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The service is great, the decor Americana and the homemade food yummy! I ordered the chili verde bean soup with pork and my hubby got the mouth watering Elk burger. The lighting could be better in the dining area. The folks are helpful and friendly. Neat place to meet the locals and talk shop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    69
    45
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cogliate, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tourist be carefull- OVERCHARGE!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've been in this restaurant with friends along a Trip around California, and we stayed in this town for 1 night and this restaurant was suggest by the Hotel Owner nearby.

The food is OK, the prices are a little bit expensive, but the very very very BAD EXPERIENCE was the bill!! We are toursit and we know the tip policy, but the owner include that in total without advising us, plus he ask to leave the tip for the service, it means a total overcharge about 50%.

When we realized that situation we paid just the food and the owner was uppset and also didn't apologized for their behaviour.

If you are overnight in this town choose another restaurant OR be carefull about theire strange policy!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Country hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Typical of a country restaurant, very pleasant staff, good service and the food was pretty good, well, there was nothing left on our plates. This place was also given several recommendations before we even entered the restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“overpriced and under delicious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lone Pine is a strange town for food. Although bad food can be expected in small country towns, even the more casual restaurants like this one price their burgers and sandwiches some what high, but their entrees are sky high at over $20! Not what you expect at a casual diner! Their special was $13 so I got it, unpleasant salad, inedible veggies, $1 extra for a roll, and mediocre ribs. At least it was under $20.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in Lone Pine at 9pm after a long day and although they close at 9.30 they were kind enough to serve me. I ate a beef burger with canadian bacon and american cheese. It was delicious. Also the french fries served were hot, big and very good in taste. Would definitely return if around the area

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Whitney Restaurant also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Mt. Whitney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Whitney Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.