We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portal Motel

Portal Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lone Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portal Motel
Save
You added Portal Motel to your Saves list
U.S. 395, Lone Pine, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
PAHRUMP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“cheap and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room was very clean, reasonably priced, and remodled. Though not very big it was nice and on the highway through town and walking distance to all restrants. The staff was very nice and room had a reffer and microwave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

stayed overnite --good clean cheap motel right in town within walking distance to everything

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We were hiking thru on the Pacific Crest Trail we walked into town with blisters an complete exaustion. Knowing it was a holiday weekend we asked if they could accomadate us, they had told us that we could stay for 2 nights but not more becouse the room was reserved. The following morning they told me check out time was 11 And I was shocked to find out that the room was not available his explaination was that he misread his reservation book. His wife quickly interviened and said they did have a different room available for $50.00 more per night. It was clear that they were taking advantage of wiery travelers knowing that we could not drive to a different town and every place in town was full. On top of that the room had a bad odor and there were ants in the bathroom and around the sink as well as some small sort of beetle. They did not provide soap or shampoo and the towels were stained we paid 95.00 for this service. Never again will we stay here.



  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a small, out-of-chain motel. It is very moderately priced and conveniently located. You need to call in for reservations.
It was recently renovated and has everything a tired traveler needs: clean comfortable beds, nice hot showers, fridge, microwave and a wide-screen TV. Room was very clean.
Even if prices are lower than in other motels in the area, it does not feel "budget".
Staff is very friendly.
Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There area about ten room total in this motel, so it does not make a difference. At least one room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Arrived in Lone Pine I had a look at several motels and after inquiring a few about their rates I opted for the Portal Motel. I remembered it was related well enough on Tripadvisor. At the check in anything went fine, the room was spacious and it included a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The wireless connection was complimentary. Why then I rate my overall experience as terrible?Because when the moment arrived to pull down the bed linens and go to sleep I discovered several long dark hair and other marks witnessing that the sheets had not been changed after the previous guest's stay.I felt disgusted but since it was about midnight I couldn't change motel anymore. What I found even more upsetting was the arrogance and the lack of respect of an hotelkeeper who , for a little saving, fools and cheats those getting him his living, its guests.

Room Tip: Ask first the keeper if they have changed the bed linens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Can't go wrong with this place. It is clean and great location. Right next to MacDonald. Easy to walk over for breakfast in the morning. Service was great with strong wifi connection. Will stay again next time when we go to Death Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We check every place in town on prices by driving the short main street. This place was $49, clean inside and out, and had a nice couple checking us in and cleaning the rooms. Great place for an affordable and clean option prior to or after a Death Valley visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
20.6 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
2.2 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.8 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Motel

Address: U.S. 395, Lone Pine, CA
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.