We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up to Mt. Whitney!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn - Lone Pine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Cerritos, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Waking up to Mt. Whitney!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just on the outskirts of town, this Comfort Inn proved to be an ideal location for visits to Alabama Hills and Manzanar. The lobby was welcoming, our room was comfortable, sleep quality good, and the complimentary breakfast was just about right. Basic amenities, but best the part, waking up to see Mt. Whitney from your window!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! All that we have is for our guests' enjoyment, and am so glad to hear that you did!

Have a wonderful summer and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    178
    88
    18
    9
See reviews for
75
177
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Cap
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose the Comfort Inn in Lone Pine for a couple of reasons, cost and free breakfast, however a littlle higher priced for the room than we have paid elsewhere, but it was Memorial Weekend... the room was clean,and comfy, however the clerk, who was very nice and informative, told us our room was one of the ones just remodeled,but the door to the outside at the back had no finished frame around it...however the rest of the room was clean, comfortable and standard for what they had to offer. The view from the patio is awsome of Mt Whitney, nice place to use as a base to explore Lone Pine and surrounding areas... Would be nice to have someone open a resturant adjacent... so you dont have to drive to town for dinner.

Room Tip: Some of the back rooms have a door that goes out on the grass on the lower level, if you have dogs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay! As a staff, we love to hear that you had a great experience while at our property!

We hope that you will come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a handy overnight stay south of Lone Pine. It was quiet especially being just off of the highway. There are a lot of people from out of the area who are working and stay here, so there is a bit of an early morning shuffle, so if you are a light sleeper that could factor in.

It is very near the turn off to Death Valley and a good route to Vegas. The view out the front windows is the Sierra and Mt. Whitney is right there. Ask at the desk and they will show you which Mt. is which. They day clerk actually took me out with a diagram to show me.

The breakfast was a normal, but full array. It was well attended to by the woman in charge, which is a downfall for many hotels.

Room Tip: If you have a big suitcase ask for a lower room, as you must haul it up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay! We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast room and all that we had to offer! We thank you for your review, and hope you will stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Quiet, the front desk was great, breakfast was fair, good sleep and you are near other restaurants and the downtown, , A Nice driving stop after the Death Valley trip and off the local road. There is wifi in the lobby and free parking also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer our guest!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located for a stopover between Death Valley and Yosemite Valley and also used by many hikers as a basis for climbing Mount Whitney. However, the rooms were not very clean (especially the carpeted floor was filthy). The breakfast was ok. Based on our experiences during our USA trip, the room rates are rather high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel! I apologize for the carpet issue in your room! As the season progresses, Maintenance will increase their cleaning routine of the carpets. However, I am very sorry that you encountered anything but satisfaction!

We hope you will consider returning to us again if you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had driven a great deal when we finally called it a night in Lone Pine. We called in to two hotels; Comfort Inn then Best Western. We got a better deal from Comfort Inn so we paid for a double Queen room with a roll in bed. It was later in the evening and all we wanted to do was rest.
The clerk at the front desk was the most friendly person I had encountered during the whole trip. He was eager to help and made us all feel like we had arrived at his personal house.

Our room was on the ground floor; nice queen beds. Spacious room, allowed us to put the roll in which was the size of a normal twin bed. The room had all the amenities one would hope for. Flat panel TV, refrigerator,microwave coffee maker, coffee, tea, sugar, ironing board, hangers, suitcase stand.
Again, I was appreciative of the fact that I could warm my baby's food as well as refrigerate any that was not consumed or unused. I'm the tea addict, so having a microwave allows me to make a really hot cup of tea after a long day.

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and had pretty decent towels in comparison to the ones we had at America's Best Value Inn.

A continental breakfast was included, which was great.
The room was kept cool at night with the AC. My only complaint is that the AC was rather loud.

I was thankful yet again that the clerk at the front desk afforded us a roll in bed at no extra charge. I must compliment the service, it was personal and exceptional. I use hotels a lot and I must say, if customer service is to be defined, this guy would be the epitome of it. My biggest regret is that I forgot his name, I meant to thank him in this review by putting his name in writing.

We paid $110 which was less than the $135 that Best Western offered us.

It is a family friendly, traveling with children, my concern is always hotels that are not family friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review of our property! Excelling our guests expectations is what we strive to do at every turn, and am so pleased to hear this was the case for you!

We hope to see you and your family next time you visit Lone Pine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Comfort Inn was minimal. It served a breakfast that included one of the waffle machines, hardboiled eggs, cereal and yogurt. The room was okay and beds were clean. Office staff was vary helpful and polite.The young lady knew the area well and was able to give helpful information. Because we were on a work related trip, we had several suitcases and needed an extra luggage holder in the room. It was immediately brought to our room. The view was marvelous of the East Sierras and Mt. Whitney. If you are staying in Lone Pine, this is a fine place to stop and stay, but it is strictly a place to stay. It did have a pool and hot tub, but we didn't have time to use it. Overall there was nothing wrong with the

Room Tip: Pick the left side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us! We are very happy to hear you were pleased with our property overall!

Have a great rest of your season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Address: 1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.