We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but rude staff and no wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Lone Pine to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
NEPA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place but rude staff and no wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the nice room (looked recently redone) but annoyed about the lack of WiFi, which was supposed to be available. Didn't complain because we were too tired, but when we mentioned it at check out, the clerk was pretty rude. We said it didn't work, she said "Huh. Well why not? What did you do?" No "Oh, that's too bad, how frustrating." No "I'm sorry to hear that." Just a snide implication that we had done something wrong and were rude to mention it. Won't stay there again (not much room in the breakfast area either).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello there! I thank you for your review of our property! I am pleased that you liked the way our rooms looked. Thank you! As for your review of the WiFi, I would love to talk to you about the clerk that you spoke to. We handle each and every guest comment with understanding and care, and I would love to speak with you about that interaction. Our expectations are that every guest receives 100% Customer Service at every turn while with us!

Please accept our apologies! Thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    194
    96
    17
    10
See reviews for
89
200
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived late..Really did not have a choice
Changed rooms 2 times
Hoping it would be different
Both had an smell as though they had just been sprayed for bugs
and for 100.00 dollars to me this is unacceptable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us! We apologize for the inconvenience of changing rooms and not being 100% satisfied! Please know we are working on the issue you brought to light!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon tour of California. We used it as a stop off between Death Valley and Yosemite.

The hotel is in a great location on the edge of the picturesque small town of Lone Pine.

The service was excellent. We were kindly upgraded for free to a balcony room.

The room was a good size and had good amenities for the one night we were there. The free wifi was excellent. Very quick

If there was one minor downside it would be the lack of space during the breakfast service. Seating is very limited.

I'd happily recommend the comfort inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We are always so happy when a guest feels that they received 100% Satisfaction while they stayed with us!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ended up passing through lone pine on a busy weekend, when they have the film festival, so choices were limited. We paid $180 plus tax for our double room and it was terrible. The bed was the tiniest double and we didn't even have proper pillows, just these square thing, like couch cushions in normal sized pillow cases, it looked really sloppy and made or a very uncomfortable night sleep. also the noise from other people's showers and taps turning was so loud in our room. The staff were all very nice and friendly, but we paid way too much for a horrible nights sleep, glad we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We want to start off by saying thank you for staying with us! I am so very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our hotel. We continue to strive to be the best for each and every one of our guests, and am displeased when that doesn't happen! We will be updating our pillows due to a new program put forth by Choice Hotels due to many guests dissatisfaction with them! As for the noise concerns, I wish we would have been contacted so that we could have tried to accommodate you to the best of our ability!

Again, please accept our apology, and we sincerely hope you will consider giving us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I booked a touring holiday using a hire car from San Francisco. An American neighbour recommended staying in Lone Pine before driving through Death Valley to Las Vegas from Yusemite. We booked all our stops through "Trailfinders" except the Comfort Inn in Lone Pine which was not on their books it seems.

We booked on the Internet and did not check prices vis-a-vis other Lone Pine hotels which turned out to be a mistake.

On arrival, the counter staff were helpful and allocated us our (luxury) room overlooking the mountains at the back of the hotel. This room was reasonable.It had a small ,somewhat elderly ,wooden balcony with a small table and two chairs. The beds were clean,but we noticed a large very wet patch under the hand basin which was not overflow ,as it was still the same next day.We mentioned this on leaving as we had expected it to dry out overnight. The carpet itself was rather old ,as was the general decor of the hotel--a bit run-down. We had a swim in the pool which was clean and very welcome and the jacuzzi was very bubbly! It was a very hot afternoon so this was an ideal way to recover from the drive.

However,the "free" breakfast the next morning was a big let-down.The place was like a small cafeteria with a very basic menu--only reconstituted scrambled eggs as a hot alternative, with several backpackers loading themselves up for the day with flasks of coffee,food ,etc. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in --the Comfort Inn at Sequoia,The Best Westerns at Bartstow and Santa Barbara-it was by far inferior.Indeed, at 173$ for the night it was grossly excessively priced.Presumably, they take advantage of it being the last stop before Death Valley. It was ironical that the next night we stayed at the 5*Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas for 150$--the contrast couldn't have been greater!. In Santa Barbara for two nights, with a patio apartment in a garden setting with pool we paid 250$ for two nights!

We would not recommend staying in this hotel unless you are stuck for choice--check prices at the other Lone Pine hotels and read the other reviews. Without sounding disrespectful to backpackers who might understandably enjoy the comfort of a basic hotel after a gruelling day,this is not the kind of standard we expected for this price as we were on a budget too. .

I would not stay there again unless there was no alternative.

Mr and Mrs Booth,
Edinburgh,

Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here twice: on way to/from Yosemite. Both times the rooms had been fumigated with some aerosol (to mask smokers or pets?) and it was overpowering: had to open windows for hours before we felt we could breathe the air. Desk clerk was friendly and helpful first stay; a different staff member was aggressive and unfriendly the second. Bathroom had loose and peeling wallpaper; room carpets stained. Property needs serious overhaul and better routine cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I am very sorry to hear of your displeasure with our property. While we thank you for your stay, we also want to thank you for letting us know of your displeasure with our property at the time of your stay. We will continue to do our very best to improve for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Would have preferred to stay in town, but didn't make res soon enough. Staff was great, very clean, nice free breakfast with room, and downstairs rooms have back patio that is great when traveling with dogs -but choose the east side in summer months, otherwise it will be too hot to use it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are pleased to hear that our hotel made your stay in Lone Pine a pleasurable one! Thank you for your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Address: 1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.