We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, clean and quiet: excellent price point. Well worth considering” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Whitney Motel

Save Saved
You added Mt. Whitney Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. Whitney Motel
305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Solid, clean and quiet: excellent price point. Well worth considering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First Impression? That 70’s Show set meets hotel room. There is something to be said for old fashioned drive-in motels: cheapish rooms, good service, right on the highway. Not a chain. This place really measures up well in this reviewers opinion. Usual format for reviews: the room, the good, the bad, the conclusion: In the admittedly unlikely event I find myself in Lone Pine, California again, I would actually be back: cheap, very solid stay. That 70s look and service I actually didn’t mind. Further, it’s a 5 minute walk to ‘down town’ and its 60% cheaper than the Best Western at the very southern end of town (so 10~15 mins away from 'downtown'), apparently - based on Tripadvisor reviews - the best place to stay in Lone Pine, though how that came to be I have no idea.

The room? Dated. Not going to sugar coat that. 1970s, with a few appliances from the 1990s (I haven’t seen a microwave with a dial since 1993) though it did have a flat screen TV with 40 channels (several in Spanish). Linen was clean, tiger print that hasn't been seen in shops since 1979, the room was well made up and the fridge (with handy small freezer) was empty. Wifi is provided free of charge tho speeds weren’t great. Parking is, literally, in front of your room. Pool is (not) tactfully placed next to the highway, albeit with a high fence. Tip? Shell service station next door. Bottom line? As it says on the ticket. I left impressed relative to an outstanding price point.

The good?
1) Location: double edged sword as we’ll see. Close to Mt Whitney and its environs. Also the biggest town close to that National Park. Independence, 15 minutes up the road, is home to jail and Emergency Response (Fire, Police) center. Very little else is there.
2) Free wifi in a cheap motel raised left a positive impression.
3) Service: Subjective, and I note one reviewer had a bad experience, this reviewer’s experience was positive. Nothing outstanding – let me be clear – but functional and helpful.
4) Highway noise did not cause this reviewer any issues. To be fair though, I had the air conditioning so providing white noise.
5) Quite a few food options 5 minutes walk down the road. A decent supermarket there too. There is a gas station (two actually) around the corner.

Needs improvement?
1) Location. This reviewer used Lone Pine as a base to explore Death Valley. It’s a 75~90 minute one way drive into Stovepipe. And back. Up and down two 5,000 foot mountain ranges. It’s not the motel’s fault, but mine – and I’ll admit that, but for Death Valley, Beatty is closer (tho with precious little in it). Lone Pine has quite a bit to offer, which is why I chose it and put up with the 3 hour round trip. I didn’t want to spend (too) much on hotels, thus the two hotels in Death Valley (Stovepipe and Furnace Creek) were non starters; this was the lesser of two evils. I don’t regret my choice, but – as a tip – be aware of it.

Conclusion? Again, be aware of what you are getting: a solid, cheap, old school drive in motel very close to Mt Whitney, not very close to Death Valley in a town with quite a bit to offer. If I was hiking Mt Whitney or heading up to Mammoth, I’d consider it strongly. The town is small, but given the area it is in, it is the best around for 50 miles. And I looked. Well worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
12
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We travel a lot and this motel compares favorably with other small, family-owned motels across the country. I found this motel to be a great place to stop on our trip to the eastern Sierra Nevada area. My reservation was handled by one of the owners and was accurate and professional. The rate was lower than many comparable motels in town. The motel was neat, clean and quiet, the room clean and comfortable. On this warm summer day the sparkling pool was refreshing! We stayed in one of the original single-story rooms near the pool. They also offer rooms in a two-story building behind the main buildings. I will stay here again and would recommend the Mt. Whitney motel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

No problems at this budget motel....you get what you pay for...

Room Tip: the owner was prepared to do a deal even though we turned up without a room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed overnight. Nice little motel at a good price. Room was on the small side but importantly was clean & had all the bits you'd expect & in working order.
Lone Pine is a nice little town to stay over in, pleanty of places to eat & a couple of good bars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

impressed.
the best one for budget we had on our tour.
the pool is a little bit cold,
but fast internet, nice rooms, clean, good aircondition... late checkin (we checked in 11:30 pm)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were impressed with the size of the rooms and the clean, well-kept establishment. Polite staff, and ample parking too! The price was the best in town, and we were only a couple blocks from our favorite restoraunt in town (Seasons)! We will be sure to come back here again when we want to visit Death Valley or climb Mt Whitney!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The organizer of my Mt Whitney climb booked a room at Mt Whitney Motel in August 2011, so did I. The room was pretty comfortable and I had a good night sleep before my adventure. Unfortunately I overslept a bit, and as a result - I have forgotten a couple of things in the morning in a hurry, such as my little cooler, my set of hiking pols, and a few pieces of clothes. I thought it will be not a problem to claim my forgotten things when I come back from my climb, but it turned out to be impossible! When I tried to talk to a front desk on my return - I was treated very rude: I was told all "forgotten things" are usually locked in a special room and they currently do not have a key to that room. I asked if I can leave my phone and address and if I can come back next week when I will be backpacking in the area and have an opportunity to stop by.... Well, a week later when I returned to hotel - they said they do not have any of my things, not any at all. They did not even apologize. I was very, very disappointed, and definetely will never stay in the motel again. Please be aware of a bad indifferent customer service!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Whitney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Whitney Motel

Address: 305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mt. Whitney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Whitney Hotel Lone Pine
Mt Whitney Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Whitney Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.